We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best host's ever”
Review of Palmers Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmers Barn B&B
Ranked #15 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best host's ever”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed at the Palmers Barn for one night so we could attend a wedding reception near by..from the moment we arrived the owners David&Anne were so welcoming and we felt like we had known them forever..The rooms are spotlessly clean spacious with a great en-suite and the personal touches ie tea&coffee sweets and candles are all part of their attention to detail..The breakfast was superb..We were even treated by the lovely David to a glass of wine, beer and pink floyd music before we went out..Overall an excellent b&b, great views,fabulous hosts, would love to stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Friendly, courteous and helpful owners/staff, Tranquil setting with a great view, nicely situated for exploring the surrounding area. Very clean, comfortable bed and a great breakfast.
The only downside is the approach driveway. It is a track with gravel on the sides, BUT the centre is now too high and there is a serious risk of scraping the underside of ones car.
I would stay there again, but would check the driveway first.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for only 1 night in this wonderful place with extremely warmhearted hosts! We cycled on our recumbent bikes from Exeter to Palmers Barn through the Dartmoor. Anne and David really did everything to make our stay as convenient for tired legs as possible! Nice and rich breakfast, wonderful view, stylish renovated. Just great!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed at palmers barn for four nights recently whilst on a trip down from Scotland to visit some family. From the moment I arrived I felt very welcome, my hosts David and Anne are a lovely couple who are very eager to please their guests. The accommodation is beautiful and the surrounding equally so. I had a lovely room with en suite it was very comfortable i slept "for scotland" ! breakfast was Very good indeed. I would really recommend a stay at palmers barn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in this refurbished pony barn for two days and found it to be a wonderful bed and breakfast and great value for money.
I would describe it as like staying in a house designed in the TV prog Grand Designs...very unique.
Our hosts were very accomodating and cooked us a wonderful vegetarian breakfast.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed with David and Anne for only one night as I was cycling Land's End to John O'Groats. What a memorable stay it was too. They are a delightfully warm couple, wonderful hosts and have an immaculately stylish, beautiful place that they obviously like to share with others. Everything from the room facilities to breakfast was over and above the standard I expected. I feel very lucky that I found and chose them on the internet. I will certainly stay with them again and recommend Palmer's Barn to my friends - nothing was too much trouble to them. This is the best B and B I have stayed in in my life!

Room Tip: No tips needed - you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. The accommodation was superb . Breakfast both mornings was a delight with plenty of choice but with the added bonus that we were asked what time we would like breakfast which allowed us a very enjoyable lie in. Our 2 little Scottie dogs had a courtyard all to themselves and enjoyed lots of treats from Dave the owner and his lovely wife Anne.What a beautiful place ,the room was spotless and we were frequently asked if we needed anything else in the room which we thought was a lovely touch. We will definatley be back .

Room Tip: Ask for the suite, its very roomy and has a courtyard which is great if you have a dog .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiesoot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
204 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
3.3 mi away
Beera Farmhouse
Beera Farmhouse
#9 of 25 in Tavistock
68 reviews
2.5 mi away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Barn B&B

Property: Palmers Barn B&B
Address: West Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened B&B,set in an area of outstanding natural beauty within a world heritage site with stunning views over the Tamar Valley into Cornwall.Situated 3 miles west of Tavistock it is within easy reach of all the amenities of the southwest.All rooms are beautifully furnished with character features including beams.Each room has a flat screen TV,tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI,the suite also has a fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmers Barn B&B Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing