We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palmers Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavistock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmers Barn B&B
Ranked #14 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had been looking around Travistock and wanted to stay local but everything was very expensive. We found this B & B at a very cheap rate and they ended up upgrading us to a lovely suite. The room was just lovely, loads of character and well looked after. Not very large but was a great setting! The views out the window where great. The owners recommended a pub just around the corner for dinner and again it was perfect. What a great place to stay and so close to Travisock. Full breakfast was provided which was great. Free wi-fi also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C3travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leics
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Went to visit family for Christmas and stayed at this B & B.

We couldn't meet friendlier people for the welcome we received and all that little extras given during our stay.

Breakfast fantastiic.

Everything was clean and attention to detail was spot on.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
191 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I didnt get to stay there this time,. although I hope to soon
just wanted to say how charming and helpful they were when I cancelled and didnt charge me, even though they could have done.
unusual to find such generosity in these grasping times!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank doomdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Palmers barn for a night in November. We had a lovely room which was beautifully done up and well-stocked and were very comfortable. Made to feel extremely welcome. Breakfast brilliant too! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Prefect little place to get away for a weekend in the countryside, clean, comfortable and warm (essential close to Dartmoor in December). It's more like turning up at a friends house than going to a hotel... high praise indeed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_maddocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudenbosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A great converted barn where we were warmly welcomed by it's owners. It's situated just off the road from Tavistock to Gunnislake, very remote and with great views over Tamar valley. Warm decorated room and perfectly cooked breakfast in the morning. Perfect place from where to explore Dartmoor NP and Tamar Valley.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Marjan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was the third visit to Palmers Barn this year, always a great reception and made very welcome. Spotlessly clean and lovely to visit. Once you have visited you want to return.
On arrival you are met by David and Anne and made very welcome. Lovely rural setting with great hosts.

Room Tip: Just out of Tavistock with easy access to the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claybusterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
621 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
467 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#5 of 25 in Tavistock
193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodovis Park
Woodovis Park
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Barn B&B

Property: Palmers Barn B&B
Address: West Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened B&B,set in an area of outstanding natural beauty within a world heritage site with stunning views over the Tamar Valley into Cornwall.Situated 3 miles west of Tavistock it is within easy reach of all the amenities of the southwest.All rooms are beautifully furnished with character features including beams.Each room has a flat screen TV,tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI,the suite also has a fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palmers Barn B&B Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing