We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally welcoming, great place, great food, great people!”
Review of The Royal Standard - CLOSED

The Royal Standard
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lovely village pub cooking locally produced fare. Beautiful views over Dartmoor. Children and dogs welcome.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally welcoming, great place, great food, great people!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent in all respects, food, hospitality and service. Both the Dartmoor IPA and Jail Ale were in great condition and hosts Dom and Julie could not have been more welcoming and helpful. They went out of their way in providing non menu items and everything was to the highest standard.

Stanley the labradoodle was delightfully friendly and gentle and great with our three small dogs.

Definitely going back and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeMJC111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
That's lovely. It was a pleasure to meet you both and your three little one's. We look forward to perhaps being of service to you again before your return home.

Kindest Regards
Julie, Dom & Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    19
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely people, lovely doggy, lovely food”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Royal Standard is a lovely pub with a friendly atmosphere. The landlord and landlady are super friendly and helpful and their one year old pup Stanley the Labradoodle is extremely friendly and very well behaved(I wish i could take him home with me).
The food at the royal standard is super good all freshly made with 100% the best onion rings i have ever tasted.
Overall a really nice place to go with friends, family on your own or with your partner as i do regularly.
I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PACE TO OTHERS.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you Amy. Stanley loves you to bits too but you're not taking him home....his all mine..lol

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Julie, Dom and Stanley. xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stopped here for lunch because they had Lobster & Crab salads advertised on the board outside What a lovely surprise we had when we walked in. Lovely decor and furniture and the Landlord and Landlady were equally as welcoming. We both ate Dressed Crab salads (very fresh) We asked for a Thermidor sauce on the top which they did willingly. The salad was exceptional, not your leaves and tomato offering but individually made salad dishes side by side with the crab. Compliments to the chef for a meal well presented and delicious. We will not hesitate to return on our next visit to Devon. Don't be put off by the rather delapidated exterior I am sure they will make the outside as good as the inside in time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
That is such a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time.

Kind Regards

Julie & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Really enjoyed the food here, stopped for lunch and the salads were divine, also the chocolate orange cheesecake for desert was one of the nicest cheesecakes I had ever had, lovely decor and friendly staff, shame we were the only ones in the pub. Definite improvement since the previous owners.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hi and thank you so much for your lovely review.

Our wonderful reviews confirm our confidence that the pub is now on the road to exceeding the expectation of both diners and drinkers. The Royal Standard is looking forward to a fantastic busy Summer.

Best Regards

Julie & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Much more than standard"”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We called in for lunch with our Canadian relatives who were visiting us and were immediately made welcome by the lovely hosts Julie and Dom. The meal we had was superb and cooked to a very high standard. Our compliments to the chef. Although this is an old pub the inside has been tastefully decorated with comfortable seating throughout. We shall definately be back on a regular basis!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank creamteasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and yes indeed it will be our pleasure to pass your compliments on to Steve our chef who works extremely hard at giving customers what they want on the menu with a few tweaks here and there to satisfy those with special dietary needs.

We look forward to seeing you back too.

Kindest Regards

Julie & Dom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Standard also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing