We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavistock Inn

Tavistock Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tavistock Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed for one night, our extended family taking four rooms. We had the friendliest welcome and the most helpful hosts. The room was spotlessly clean, we slept peacefully and the full English breakfast was the best anywhere. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

From the moment we walked in the front door to the moment we checked out Derek and Lee were friendly and helpful. What a difference it makes to be greeted in such a way. So nice to have a genuine personal service instead of a 'robot mode' receptionist that you sometimes get. Derek even carried our bags for us (a rarity nowadays) as he showed us to our room. Our family room was bright, light and airy and very clean - the bathroom was almost sparkling! Tea and coffee making facilities in the room (with biscuits to the kids delight).
Breakfast in the morning was fab - limitless coffee / tea and toast and the best full English I've had all year. Courtesy of Lee - thank you :-) Derek even played Pool with the kids while we drank tea and appeased our appitites.
You guys definitely deserve 5 stars. I would not hesitate to come and stay again when next in the area. And I totally recommend to anyone looking - stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived at the Tavistock Inn for a 2 night stay and were greeted by Derek and his brother Lee. Both were incredibly helpful and really couldn't do anymore to help us. We were staying with the rest of our family who had booked other rooms in the hotel. We were shown our room which was spotless and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities in the room, TV, hairdryer and shower and WC. We spent the evening in the bar downstairs and felt really at home. Breakfast is wonderful. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a nice family run setting and a nice base to explore the surrounding area. Thanks for a fabulous stay Derek and Lee

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki789pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Waiting on behalf of a family member. On a arrival we where given our room and pointed in the right direction.... We booked a double room.... And we walked into a twin. Went to complain after having booked a room with a double bed... And was told it was a double as it sleeps 2 people. After a long journey i didn't have the engery to complain. So returned to the room to rearrange the furniture. After going out elsewhere for dinner we returned to find hoards of under aged youths sitting on the stairs to the rooms. After having to climb over the swearing and rowdy crowd we reached our room. Very noisy from all the swear from the youths. If it wasn't for our long day sleeping would have been difficult. The coffee and tea making is located in the hall way.... A system i have not come across before. And only available at certain times... Is it too difficult to buy kettles for the rooms? I was told not to.come down for and early breakfast as it was bank holiday and they wanted a lay in..... Charming..... Breakfast was ok... But only offered a full English.... No toast no.cereal. Everything seemed too much hassle ofnthe owner and that we were imposing on bank holiday weekend. I would have complained.... Rarely do.... When i came to pay but apparently they had already taken the money from my.account before i arrived.... A very long journey ahead we just wanted to leave. Other reviews say good things. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek S, Owner at Tavistock Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Madam
You state that you have written this review on behalf of a family member. I am sure you are aware that this contravenes Trip advisor's rules as reviews must be first hand, however notwithstanding this our response is as follows :
1. You have posted this review to the wrong property. Whilst you / your family member did not stay with us and we do not feel obliged to respond to the issues which you have raised as these were experienced whilst staying at another property we do wish to clarify and justify exactly why we are certain that you have posted this review to the wrong property by addressing each of the statements which you have made.
2. ‘You were given your room and pointed in the right direction’ - it is not possible to access our rooms without an access code. In addition to this we welcome ALL of our guests personally and take ALL of our guests to their rooms. ALL guests are taken through our property and room facilities, evacuation procedures and general services.
3. You stated that you ‘booked a double room and walked into a twin’ - we do not have twin rooms at this property.
4. your statement ‘ we returned to find hoards of under aged youths sitting on the stairs to the rooms ‘ – please refer to response number two. Only residents have access to our rooms and nobody is permitted to sit on the stairs. This constitutes a fire risk and we do not tolerate this kind of behaviour or swearing at this property.
5. ‘The coffee and tea making is located in the hall way’ Our rooms are all en suite and self contained i.e : Tea and coffee making facilities, TV, etc. are all situated within the rooms.
6. ‘I was told not to.come down for and early breakfast as it was bank holiday and they wanted a lay in’ – we serve breakfasts from 7AM until 9 AM and often later if required, regardless of what day of the year it is. We offer a full English breakfast but will gladly provide cereals, fruit juices etc. and cater for dietary requirements on request – all of this is communicated in our confirmation e mails.

We are a four star rated Inn and my brother and I have approximately 35 years hotel management experience between us. I have been a member of the Hotel and Catering Management association since 1996 and we consider ourselves to be professionals. We pride ourselves on the levels of hospitality which we provide, our facilities and standards of service.
I have written to you several times already to request you to remove this review and I trust your mistake is clear from our responses above and that you will remove this review and assign it to whichever property that your family stayed at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

7 of us stayed for a night while cycling coast to Coast. Derek greeted us, helped stow our bikes and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and comfortable and he'd even gone to the trouble of buying a new camp bed to squeeze our 8 yr old in. Great location in middle of town centre. Would happily recommend and stay again. Rooms are above the pub but was a quiet night for them so no problems.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It was a wet cold Sunday when we decided to call in for lunch . We were warmly greeted by the owner and shown to a table near the cosy fireplace. We had a lovely roast lunch with no leftovers! Afterwards we were asked if we would like to sample some light salads they are soon to be putting on their menu. We did and these were very tasty! This place has a lovely friendly atmosphere and we shall be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creamteasrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We live in Plymouth and were attending a function in Tavistock so wanted to book overnight accommodation, so we looked at all the options. Hotels ranged from £100 -£150 a night B&B, which we thought was ridiculous so we opted for the Tavistock Inn at only £70. What a Bargain. The hosts, Lee and Derek were brilliant, a warm welcome and introduction to the Inn and facilities, booking taxi's, lending umbrella's, nothing was too much trouble. The room was cosy, well furnished, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was fit for a queen and the breakfast fit for a king, you couldn't fault the attention to detail and willingness to provide the best service possible. All in all a 5 star service. We have stayed at larger multi-national hotels around the world where you are inevitably just a number, here you are made to feel special, these guys are staking their reputation on the first class service they provide. Would we recommend this hotel, Hell yes.

Room Tip: Small number of rooms all equally well appointed, choose any one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
176 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#5 of 25 in Tavistock
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Number 5ifty 8ight Tavistock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavistock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavistock Inn

Property: Tavistock Inn
Address: 19 Brook Street, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavistock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tavistock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavistock Inn Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing