We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wonwood Barton B and B
Ranked #4 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The welcome was very good and the owners could not have been more helpful the room twin bed sofa bathroom all in a self contained small cottage with a full wood burning stove roaring up the chimney was just what was needed after a long drive.Then there was the small touches from fresh fruit tea coffee all in large jars and fresh cookies and milk in a china jug from the owners. Flowers chocolates and water all in the room and fresh thick towels and some shower Jel in case you forget to bring yours this accommodation offers all the little touches that many forget.The area is so quaint and quiet silence falls over the area and its hard to sleep as its so quiet and relaxing. The beds are very large im 6ft4 and my feel never touched the bottom of the bed and a quilt cover thats better than mine at home. Breakfast is very good and sets you up for the day ahead. Would i return like a shot and i would request the small barn in the courtyard. The negative erm well trust your sat nav and turn down that dirt road leading to nowhere as their are no signs to guide you to the cottages,

Room Tip: only 2 rooms smaller in courtyard with owners and the chickens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Highly recommend Wonwood Barton. The rooms are centered around a courtyard giving you a sense of space and privacy. We are house hunting in Devon and over the past year have stayed in several Bed and breakfast this far surpasses all of them, The decor, the location the little extras the lovely breakfast and the friendly hosts all make it just perfect. Definitely going back for a longer stay in the spring/summer and we were also able to bring the dog which was a real bonus as usually when places are as nicely finished as this is dogs are often not welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb33Buckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My other half and I booked a stay in Swallow Barn as a valentines treat-and this was absolutely perfect! We arrived late in the afternoon on an incredibly wet & windy day - to be greeted by the log burner already lit by Bill and Claudine. How perfect! The cottage itself was so cosy, so comfortable and so beautifully designed and decorated! The massive bed was perhaps the most comfortable I have ever slept in - I found once I was in it I just didn't want to get out of it! Bill & Claudine provided tea and a teapot (I always think tea tastes better from a teapot!), real coffee and a cafetiere, biscuits, fruit and a bowl of chocolates. We were provided with plenty of wood to keep our lovely log burner topped up and blankets and cushions were everywhere to keep us cosy & comfy. It was so lovely to relax inside our fabulous cottage being warmed by the log burner whilst the rain was lashing down outside!
The next day we woke up to a stunning view of the countryside from our window, complete with birds chirping - followed by an absolutely delicious breakfast in the Roundhouse. There were freshly cut loaves, cereal, croissants, fruit and yogurt followed by a fab cooked breakfast complete with eggs from their own hens and bacon and sausages from the local village. Perfect!
At breakfast Claudine then lent us their Dartmoor map so that we could go exploring. It only took us about 20 minutes to get right into Dartmoor to park the car and get out in the countryside.
Wonwood Barton is only a 10 minute drive from Tavistock, and you can even walk to Lamerton from your cottage.
So overall, Bill & Claudine are lovely people, they were perfect hosts, their cottages were fabulous in every way - and we cannot wait to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaHeike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully converted barn and would highly recommend it. We visited in November and the roaring fire and warm hospitality of Bill & Claudine made it the ideal winter getaway. Wonderful scenery and a delicious breakfast topped off a perfect stay and we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RZHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Desperately wanting an escape from the city with my fiance, we booked this beautiful country retreat, which turned out to be the perfect getaway. Although we arrived late at night as we were travelling from London, Claudine made sure the log fire was lit which was nice to arrive to. We enjoyed the lovely walks on Dartmoor and waking up to a fully cooked breakfast in the middle barn. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I'd definitely recommend a stay in one of these beautifully decorated appartments. The log burner was a really nice touch and made it an excellent place to relax. Bill and Claudine were very friendly and looked after us throughout our stay including providing breakfast in their fantastic middle barn. Nearby is the lovely town of Tavistock and numerous places to explore on Dartmoor.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the barns as part of our first wedding anniversary celebrations. What a beautiful place!! Definitely something we will remember. The barns have been beautifully converted and offer a tranquil break with everything you would need. The owners have thoughtfully put some treats in the room ( biscuits, fruit and proper coffee!) and were very welcoming. All linen and towels were spotlessly clean as was the barn itself. We can't wait to stay again !!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
3.8 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
196 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
2.7 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
429 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonwood Barton B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonwood Barton B and B

Property: Wonwood Barton B and B
Address: Wonwood Barton | Lamerton, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8SE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five miles from Tavistock and Dartmoor National park, Wonwood Barton offers a unique and stylish retreat in idyllic surroundings. Each with their own private entrance, (all on the ground floor)sitting room and wood burning stove the suites converted from stone barns are centred around a charming roundhouse where breakfast is served in front of a roaring fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wonwood Barton B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wonwood Barton B And B Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing