We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended - welcoming hosts, comfortable room, fantastic views, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beera Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beera Farmhouse
Ranked #9 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - welcoming hosts, comfortable room, fantastic views, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed at Beera for 5 nights and were not dissapointed. The room was comfortable, and clean with everything you would expect from a 4 star B&B plus a bit more - fluffy bathrobes and complementary fudge. The cream tea on arrival was delicious and most welcome after the long journey. Hilary is an excellent cook and i would thoroughly recommend booking an evening meal during your stay at Beera. There was a good selection of food for breakfast - from home made fresh fruit salad to the full english. The guest lounge has a wide selection of maps and books covering Devon and Cornwall, which came in very handy !
If you are looking for a peacefully setting (apart from the occasional bleating of the sheep), comfortable accommodation, good food and friendly hosts then look no further than Beera.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozarue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
43
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

A lovely location, friendly owners, comfortable and clean and great breakfasts.
During our 3 night stay the owners where friendly and helpful with advise on where to visit and places to eat. A full evening menu is available on selected evenings. The location is suitable for country walks and being close to the moors is ideal for walking on Dartmoor. We based ourselves here to visit the Eden project, Plymouth, Lynford Gorge and Dartmoor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Duff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
living in Surrey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a straightforward excellent farm-based B&B in west Devon, close to Dartmoor and off the road from Tavistock to Launceston, just east of the county boundary along the river Tamar. The breakfasts are superb, and being in a rural area Beera has the advantage of offering home-cooked evening meals on some nights by prior arrangement. Ideal for those not wanting to try their luck in country pubs, though some of these are very good (e.g. at Peter Tavy north of Tavistock). The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The welcome is warm, with the offer of a cream tea if desired. Water from Devon's only genuine spring source (as opposed to a borehole) at Hall Manor is available in the rooms and at evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltshireman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Of all the b & bs that my partner and I have stayed in, this is the one we keep going back to again and again, year after year!

A stay at Beera is a lovely, relaxing experience. The rooms are super, the food delicious, the scenery breathtaking, and the Tucker family are great hosts. What more could one ask for? If 10 stars were available I would award them!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

My fiance and some friends of ours stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time - everything was absolutely fantastic and we wanted for nothing. Hilary and her family made us feel really welcome and we were served a lovely cream tea in the living room with home made scones. The rooms were equipped up to a standard that you rarely find in a good London hotel, with bathrobes, lovely toiletries, fresh flowers and little chocolate sheep!
The B&B is on a working farm and we were able to see the lambs romping around in the fields outside our windows. The breakfasts were also superb, served in the very attractive dining room with lots of freshly brewed coffee.
Another bonus is the pub at the bottom of the hill, the Royal Inn which is an lovely old unspoilt pub with good food and beer.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareKEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
0.6 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beera Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beera Farmhouse

Property: Beera Farmhouse
Address: Beera Farm | Milton Abbot, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8PL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beera Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, HotelQuickly, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beera Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beera Farmhouse Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing