We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Glorious Years!”
Review of Beera Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beera Farmhouse
Ranked #9 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2013

During our most recent stay at Beera last week, we realised that we have been coming here for ten years, usually a couple of times a year. We think that is a pretty good recommendation! What is more, Beera just keeps on getting better and better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just spent a wonderful 3 days with Hilary and Robert. Our beautiful room was big and comfy and had every little luxury, including a superb power shower and bath robes. The breakfasts were fantastic and as vegans we have never seen such a big selection for a cooked breakfast. Full marks to Hilary for that. Then she surpassed all expectations when she cooked a delightful evening meal too and we celebrated our wedding anniversary in style. . Hilary really does cater for all diets, and nobody goes short of anything. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav58Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Many thanks to Hilary, Rob and the boys for sharing their magically located farmhouse just outside Tavistock - we felt very spoilt, our room was wonderfully complete with a brilliant hot shower, super large bed and all the tea, coffee and tasty edible extras you could possibly ask for. Just felt as if we were staying with some lovely old friends - thank you for your warm welcome and care, we look forward to seeing you all again soonest. Ali & Michael Stubbs

Room Tip: We had the room with a gorgeous four poster bed, views were just stunning looking out across the fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie1Welcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were attending a surprise birthday party for a friend and Beera Farmhouse was recommended as being close by. We really didn't know what to expect not having stayed in a working farm before and coming from built-up South London (would I be mucking out the cows I wondered) !! It had been a long journey and going along the narrow country lanes we wondered what we had let ourselves in for. As we drove into the farm driveway the view literally blew us away - absolutely enchanting - a 'weak at the knees' moment - really! Hilary greeted us warmly and had cooked a meal just for the two of us! It was delicious and compared well with anything we have had in the smartest of hotels in London. Our room was delightful - extremely well-appointed with all the comforts you could imagine. It certainly wasn't what we had expected - far more like a 4* hotel!
The family are lovely and made us feel so very at home whilst respecting our privacy (and us theirs). Hilary gave us lots of useful tips about what to see in the area and we learnt about how a farm with over 1200 sheep operates - fascinating. We had breakfast overlooking the garden watching the pheasants, wood-peckers and squirrels eating theirs. We could have spent hours just appreciating the views from the garden but managed to fit in a long walk in Dartmoor and visits to Tavistock and Launceston.
I would like to keep the location a secret because once it has been visited everyone will certainly go back and it will be full. Who needs the Dordogne?? We are just so pleased that we have discovered Beera and the surrounding area..... As we left approx 200 sheep were trying their best to run down the lane via the nearest pub - and not go into their alloted field. It did make us smile!! We will certainly go back (if we can get in)!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the front - one has a four-poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Persis647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at Beera Farm B&B for two nights this weekend. It felt like a 4 star hotel, lovely bedrooms, well equipped, big bed, fluffy towels, nice bathroom and toiletries. Amazing setting and views. The breakfast was delicious, we had the full works but you could also order things like eggs benedict for the next day. We went to the pub down the road for dinner one night and walked there as it was a nice evening. We had just about started to contemplate the very dark walk back when Hilary called the pub to offer to pick us up. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay at Beera Farm following a few days fishing with three friends on the Tamar (just down the road). Not only is the farmhouse setting fabulous but the accommodation, food, welcome and attention to detail excellent. Hilary and Robert are outstanding hosts. We took advantage of their offer of daily picnics and dinner on three nights. Really good food, including their own bred lamb on one night - could not be faulted! We hope to return later this year and certainly next.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Lunglung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Hilary, her husband Robert and their three boys run a model farm B&B. It is no surprise to see they are so highly rated here, an opinion we share unreservedly. They seem to have fused highly professional business standards with the friendliness so vital to welcoming people into their home. Even the boys hit the right note when they meet strangers around the house and surroundings. I could go on at length applauding the pleasure of staying at Beera Farm, which incidentally is set amongst the most stunning Devon countryside, but I shall just say that we have already booked our return trip to Devon 2014 which will be including a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyholidaymaker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilary_tucker, Owner at Beera Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

It was lovely to have you stay here, so glad you enjoyed your time here at Beera and the surrounding area, we look forward to seeing you in June 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
4.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
346 reviews
3.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
675 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
180 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
228 reviews
7.7 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beera Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beera Farmhouse

Address: Beera Farm | Milton Abbot, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: £65 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beera Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beera farmhouse Bed and breakfast offers high quality accommodation on a working farm on the Devon/Cornwall border. Home made scones with jam and cream on arrival. Very peaceful location set amidst beautiful countryside. Ideal base for touring both counties, plus the Dartmoor national park, north and south coastline for walking, fishing, beach days. Numerous National trust houses and gardens nearby, along with The Garden house, The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. All rooms are en-suite with power showers. I offer dinner by prior arrangement- bring you own wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Beera Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beera Farmhouse Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing