We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beera doesn't rest on its laurels!”
Review of Beera Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beera Farmhouse
Ranked #9 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beera doesn't rest on its laurels!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Beera has deservedly gained excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We have been visiting for over a decade and couldn't agree more. It would be easy for such an establishment to rest on its laurels - but Hilary Tucker hasn't done that. She has worked hard to continually upgrade an already excellent farmhouse, with re-decoration and innovation. Staying with her and her lovely husband and sons is a special experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
45
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

When I arrived with my family, everyone expressed the same phrase as indicated in the title. Hilary greeted us with cream tea and scones! The rooms are wonderful, clean and unimaginable views. On Easter Sunday the Tuckers even cooked a roasted lamb for us which made our visit complete. Whilst there we had the chance to visit loads of places around - Plymouth, St Ives, The Lizard, Widecombe-in the moor, horse riding, Tavistock etc.and in the eve wind down at the Royal Inn....would definitely love to go there again

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Each with a different character
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baninMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

You can't imagine how excited we were to be returning to Beera Farm and the Tuckers...Hilary, husband Robert, their three boys- Edward, William, and Charlie. The lush fields filled with grazing sheep, birds chirping and flying all around, chickens freely foraging everywhere for food, the stately stone house, were all as we remembered from last year. Hilary welcomed us warmly with tea and her brilliant home-made scones topped with jam and clotted cream. Beera has three guest rooms, and ours was the same as last year (#3), very spacious, airy, bright, cheerful, with a view of the fields as far as the eye could see. A big bed, generous storage space, plenty of room lighting, floor to ceiling windows facing the fields, two plush cotton robes.... so comfortable and warm that I bought one last year to take home with me....and a tray filled with provisions to make tea, coffee, and hot chocolate, were just a few of our room's amenities. The bathrooms are extremely modern with powerful showers, heated towel bars, ceiling heat fans for extra warmth, adequate shelf space, hair blowers, and lovely toiletries. The breakfast dining room is spacious yet cozy as well. There are individual tables rather than the one large table that many other B&Bs use... possibly because of space issues. Individual tables provide the privacy that many guests, including myself, prefer, yet everyone is close enough to one another to engage in conversation easily. The breakfast, beautifully presented, had more than enough choices to suit anyone's taste, but the REAL treat were the dinners that Hilary prepared for us. It seems Hilary went to school for two years to become a Chef, and everything she cooked or baked was brilliant. My husband, who was raised in Wisconsin farm country, was thrilled when Robert invited him to participate in some of the farm chores...Beera is truly a working farm..... such as helping in the shearing and weighing of sheep, gathering eggs, mending fences, and more. I picked blackberries along the road, which Hilary used to make desert. Of course we went into near-by Tavistock, a wonderful town to walk around in, have lunch, and go shopping like the locals do; no tourists in sight! When it was time to be on our way, it really felt as if we were leaving old friends. To be on the "safe side", we've already booked our return for next September...visit number three... and the countdown has begun once again. I'll end by repeating what I said at the top of my review: Beera Farm is definitely in a class by itself!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

During our most recent stay at Beera last week, we realised that we have been coming here for ten years, usually a couple of times a year. We think that is a pretty good recommendation! What is more, Beera just keeps on getting better and better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just spent a wonderful 3 days with Hilary and Robert. Our beautiful room was big and comfy and had every little luxury, including a superb power shower and bath robes. The breakfasts were fantastic and as vegans we have never seen such a big selection for a cooked breakfast. Full marks to Hilary for that. Then she surpassed all expectations when she cooked a delightful evening meal too and we celebrated our wedding anniversary in style. . Hilary really does cater for all diets, and nobody goes short of anything. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav58Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcombe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Many thanks to Hilary, Rob and the boys for sharing their magically located farmhouse just outside Tavistock - we felt very spoilt, our room was wonderfully complete with a brilliant hot shower, super large bed and all the tea, coffee and tasty edible extras you could possibly ask for. Just felt as if we were staying with some lovely old friends - thank you for your warm welcome and care, we look forward to seeing you all again soonest. Ali & Michael Stubbs

Room Tip: We had the room with a gorgeous four poster bed, views were just stunning looking out across the fie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie1Welcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We were attending a surprise birthday party for a friend and Beera Farmhouse was recommended as being close by. We really didn't know what to expect not having stayed in a working farm before and coming from built-up South London (would I be mucking out the cows I wondered) !! It had been a long journey and going along the narrow country lanes we wondered what we had let ourselves in for. As we drove into the farm driveway the view literally blew us away - absolutely enchanting - a 'weak at the knees' moment - really! Hilary greeted us warmly and had cooked a meal just for the two of us! It was delicious and compared well with anything we have had in the smartest of hotels in London. Our room was delightful - extremely well-appointed with all the comforts you could imagine. It certainly wasn't what we had expected - far more like a 4* hotel!
The family are lovely and made us feel so very at home whilst respecting our privacy (and us theirs). Hilary gave us lots of useful tips about what to see in the area and we learnt about how a farm with over 1200 sheep operates - fascinating. We had breakfast overlooking the garden watching the pheasants, wood-peckers and squirrels eating theirs. We could have spent hours just appreciating the views from the garden but managed to fit in a long walk in Dartmoor and visits to Tavistock and Launceston.
I would like to keep the location a secret because once it has been visited everyone will certainly go back and it will be full. Who needs the Dordogne?? We are just so pleased that we have discovered Beera and the surrounding area..... As we left approx 200 sheep were trying their best to run down the lane via the nearest pub - and not go into their alloted field. It did make us smile!! We will certainly go back (if we can get in)!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the front - one has a four-poster!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Persis647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavistock
3.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
639 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
488 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
312 reviews
21.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,269 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beera Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beera Farmhouse

Property: Beera Farmhouse
Address: Beera Farm | Milton Abbot, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beera Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beera farmhouse Bed and breakfast offers high quality accommodation on a working farm on the Devon/Cornwall border. Home made scones with jam and cream on arrival. Very peaceful location set amidst beautiful countryside. Ideal base for touring both counties, plus the Dartmoor national park, north and south coastline for walking, fishing, beach days. Numerous National trust houses and gardens nearby, along with The Garden house, The Eden Project and The Lost Gardens of Heligan. All rooms are en-suite with power showers. I offer dinner by prior arrangement- bring you own wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Beera Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beera Farmhouse Tavistock, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing