We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating out in Salcombe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Galley Restaurant - CLOSED

The Galley Restaurant
Price range: US$32 - US$65
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Galley is Salcombe's longest established restaurant, having first opened in 1962, and has the most wonderful view from its dining room.Where possible we use traceable fresh local produce and have an extensive menu including Salcombe Lobster and Crab, and a great selection of fish which is all from day-boats landing in Plymouth and Brixham. We also serve Westcountry steaks and chicken, and 'Gressingham' duck, and we also serve a selection of vegetarian dishes.We look forward to welcoming you.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Eating out in Salcombe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My other half treated me to a 'special' meal in Salcombe last Friday and took me to The Galley Seafood Restaurant. Wow what a fabulous meal, everything was absolutely perfect. The staff are friendly and helpful, service was great, attentive but not 'in your face'. The food was beautiful, I had crab bisque as my starter, I thought I had died and gone to heaven, followed by lobster thermador, this couldn't have been bettered it was absolutely stunning, finishing with my favourite creme brullee, a real loud 'crack' on the sugar confirmed how good that was. This restaurant should be a must on the list when visiting Salcombe we can fully recommend it !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linnie1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    23
    18
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Words aren't enough !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although we've eaten here in the past some years ago our return visit this evening was certainly worth a few special words of thanks. Two lovely crab starters - bisque and linguini - we're swiftly followed by two absolutely delicious lobsters - Thermidorr. We were greeted in such a welcoming and friendly way and that was continued by the different ladies who served us perfectly in spite of also helping other diners including a party of 19 ! We wish we could return again soon but it's a bit of a journey from Gloucester ! Don't believe any of the criticism already posted. None of it rings true !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure where to go with this.
We went mid week but with a very busy town in peak holiday season you would still expect it to be much busier than it was.
First impression that decor wise it all looked a bit tired. I am guessing here,but I wouldn't mind betting that the restaurant has been in the same hands for a long time.
For starters my wife and I had a seafood platter for two. No wow factor here and at £18.00 I thought that the portions were quite small and not very well presented. A large chunk of delicious bread, no doubt from the excellent bakery next door, saved the day.
Our main course of a rib-eye stead and loin of lamb was much better. In fact I can honestly say the steak was one of the best I have had for a while, great meat, perfectly cooked. My wife's pork was also delicious.
I can't remember what I had for dessert so that says it all really.
Bill was not over the top and service was ok and the girls very pleasant.
Just not a restaurant that will stay in the memory bank for long but ok.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

we where advised to vist by a friend, we booked and asked for a window table which we got, we ordered starters and asked for the childrens food to be bought out with the starters. They bought out our starters and said the children's food was coming. They then proceeded to bring out food for a table of 8 people before bringing the childrens food. i complained to the waitress and she agreed it was bad. I had steak and it was overcooked, my husbands monkfish was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank twixbirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“1st Experience of the Galley in Salcombe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Superb meal, steak cooked to perfection....menu is excellent......surroundings .... Tables on top of each other you can hear the next tables conversation..,.., suggestion ...... Lovely waitresses ... Their dress could be better to suit the quality of the restaurant. And without a doubt the toilet needs to be of the same cleanliness and quality of the restaurant itself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Restaurant also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Malborough, Salcombe
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing