We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in every way”
Review of dickandwills

dickandwills
Ranked #14 of 44 Restaurants in Salcombe
Price range: US$14 - US$62
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, View details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Waterside brasserie serving Local Fish, Shellfish and West Country Beef with a fusion twist! Large outside decking area directly overlooking the beautiful Salcombe Estuary.
Reviewed 11 November 2019 via mobile

Stopped in on the off chance not expecting a table, from the first moment the service was first class. Waitress was very friendly and helpful, owner more than happy to mix drinks not on the menu, considering there were five of us (men enjoying a few drinks) I thought they might not welcome us, but they were so nice we stayed for a meal too, food was unreal, aloo gobi has to be tried!
Great value great service great food, a real treat!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank mikedI1281ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2019

Enjoyed this place a little different from the eat of Salcombe, a proper meal out for two and a first class rump steak.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank simoncockayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

The menu on the face of it reads really well, and looks quite inspiring.
However the reality is very different - over-priced dishes for what you actually get: We did complaint about certain dishes but was merely told "oh sorry I will tell the chef" !
We paid £72 per head for a really average meal - food overcooked and served lukewarm, small portions considering the cost, and really poor Customer Value.
For the first time ever we did not leave a gratuity - says it all really,
We will not return here.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019 via mobile

We ate here with friends and had a great table with an estuary view and good service.
The food was tasty and plentiful. Highly recommend

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Jencheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2019

Booked a table for eight for 7-30. Start with the positives: nice venue, good ambience, very much looks the part. Good and friendly service too so no complaints on that front. Good wine selection and all reasonably priced. Food was a bit of a let down. Prawn cocktail starter was a mere handful of prawns with some lettuce in a glass - bit underwhelming but OK - main course of the fish, however, was very poor, with lumps of rock salt to the extent that two of our party pretty much left it all. Plates were cleared away, however, while I was still eating and then we are told if we didn't order pudding immediately the kitchen will close. That was at 8.55!! We all, therefore, declined. Had I been the owner I would be doing my nut - they effectively lost eight puddings, eight coffees and probably another bottle of wine all for rushing us out of the door. This is not the depths of winter either, but early evening on a saturday just a couple of weeks ago. So a shame really. We were all disappointed; it could have been so much better.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed dickandwills also viewed

 

Been to dickandwills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.