We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hospitality you could find anywhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brambles B&B

Brambles B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brambles B&B
Ranked #7 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
515 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“The best hospitality you could find anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Nothing is too much trouble for Ness and Phil. There was always a breakfast choice of food and time, alwaysa a chocolate at bed time, a new tea tray whenever you wanted it, complimentary wine, weekend newspaer and lifts into town if required. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast hearty and well cooked. There were only positives here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

The first thing to say is ignore the german review titled "Never Pay in Advance" and dated 18th June 2010, the writer has got the wrong "Brambles", apparently. Nessa and Phil Moyle, who own and run the Brambles B&B, near Salcombe are some of the nicest people you could wish to meet and you can trust them with your money and your holiday. They insisted on giving us a complimentary bottle of very nice sauvignon blanc as compensation for a bit of noise made by a builder whilst carrying out an essential repair on one morning of our stay. The setting for the Brambles is one of those deep Devon coombes with great green hills all around. It is a 10 minute walk from pretty little Baston Creek and a twenty minute stroll along the bank of the creek to gorgeous Salcombe. The accommodation is smart, traditional, spotlessly clean, comfortable and very convenient - king size bed, separate dressing room, en suite bathroom. TV is Sony Bravia, with all the usual freeview channels. There is WiFi Broadband and more than enough power sockets for all your travel paraphernalia - I counted 14, but I may have missed some! Nessa's breakfasts are superb - locally produced ingredients expertly prepared and presented and big enough to last you till supper time (well, they did us).
They can't do enough for you, but I'm not going to list all of the little things they did to make our stay so comfortable, in case I set a precedent which they might not want to continue. Sufficient to say that they really did go the extra mile for us. Price is probably upper end for a B&B, but quite right too! That is where they have piched their offering and as far as we were concerned it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank butchguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Our second stay at Brambles - we had forgotten just how special it is. An elegant and comfortable bedroom and adjacent dressing room. Wonderful pastoral views without having to get out of bed .... peace and comfort. Equally striking is the warmth and care of the hosts. Their attention to detail, gentle humour and genuine niceness makes for a perfect relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radioactive_kid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I have never felt more welcome or had a better stay at a B&B than at Brambles in Salcombe. Situated just outside the town centre and with stunning views of the countryside, Brambles has an enviable location and is wonderfully quiet yet still only moments walk into town.

We stayed in Vanessa and Phil's 'master suite' which was immaculately clean, light and airy. It even had a little dressing room and an ensuite bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable and with good quality cotton bed linen (very important in my view)- best night's sleep we'd had in ages! The room was full of thoughtful/ helpful details including local maps, taxi numbers, bottled water, sweets, complimentary toiletries, torches for evening walks and we even had a newspaper outside our door first thing in the morning.

Breakfast was to die for and our every whim was tended to. Vanessa appears to be something of a domestic goddess and laid out a fantastic breakfast spread consisting of homemade marmalade and jam, muesli (also homemade), cereal, cafetiere coffee, tea, a choice of toasts and a wonderful full English breakfast. All this while listening to Classic FM, looking out over the fields and reading our papers. It was utter bliss. We left feeling completely refreshed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeaBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notnum
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Brambles is tucked away in Upper Batson, a brisk 15 minute walk from the centre of Salcombe; the reason it's only got 4 stars for location is that it is a tricky walk for anyone who struggles uphill!
Vanessa and Phil the owners are superbly attentive hosts and the breakfast is as good as you will get anywhere in England - local bacon, eggs and sausages, luxury yoghurt, homemade jam and maramlade; I could go on...
The room(s) is lovely, bright and airy, comfy as your own, good telly and fresh milk (not those dreadful little cartons) and lovely bed.
You can come and go as you please (as late as you please), sit on the terrace with a bottle of wine, chill, whatever...
My ONLY gripe is that there isn't a pub at the end of Batson Creek!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erichalfbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Brambes is a great B&B. Vanessa and Phil are extremely friendly hosts and are happy to spend time making sure you know the area / best places to go etc ( even offering to give us a lift into town ).

The room is very nice and you get a complimentary paper with a good, unhurried breakfast in the morning.

The B&B is about 20 mins walk from town ( although you can obviously get a taxi ) so this may not be suitable for some people.

One of the best B&Bs I have stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_pickford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CONGLETON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2008

We highly recomend this Bed and Breakfast the accomodation is excellent ,a great house in a lovely location.with fantastic catering. Vanessa and Phil were extremely kind towards us during our stay, the perfect hosts.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
0.4 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.2 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brambles B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brambles B&B

Property: Brambles B&B
Address: Brambles Brambles | Higher Batson, Salcombe TQ8 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Brambles Bed And Breakfast
Brambles Hotel Salcombe
Brambles B&B Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing