We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What a find this place is, from start to finish we couldn't have been more thrilled with the Sunnycliff. Sunny natured and friendly staff and the most outstanding view in Salcombe.
We have been holidaying in Salcombe for 12 years and this is simply the best spot we've found. Plenty of extra's that we liked as well - pool at the waterside, garden and terrace, easy and short walk to town and we loved the walks around the hotel.
Next year we'll bring the rib and moor it here as well, like I said, Super.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisons2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    12
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bishops stortford
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arranged to stay at sunny cliff for a couple of nights in high season. We were told the room would be ready at two thirty but when we arrived at 2.20pm it seemed they were nowhere near ready for us. We told Ollie we would nip for lunch and come back. We were back at 3.30pm when we could find nobody to help us. We were left waiting for half an hour with no help at all. At about 4pm Ollie did turn up with no apologies for our long wait. He took us to our room which was still being cleaned. It then turned out that despite booking our rooms for two adults and four children the room had only been prepared for two children. We asked Ollie to sort this out and eventually at 6.30pm the hotel brought two foldaway beds for the other children. The hotel never brought extra towels however and we had to make do with four. Not a great start.
The hotel itself is in a great location with fabulous views. The accommodation is basic and not quite as high quality as it appears on the website. The rooms in our apartment were quite small although the bed was comfortable and had lovely linen. The bathrooms were small and the shampoo/soaps rather mean. The pool is great and no one else used it when we were there.there was building work going on nearby which was noisy at times.
Overall it was ok but it felt like it could be so much better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank squoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was a really nice surprise. Attending a wedding at the Cliff House near the centre of Salcombe we were delighted to find Sunny Cliff within walking distance and at a much lower price than the other hotels in the area. So we were not expecting too much. But in the event it was excellent. Once you accept the limitations ( it is basically a series of self catering apartments let out as hotel rooms when not busy- hence we could not get breakfast as we had not booked; and there are no staff other than to greet arrivals) it is perfect. The whole place seemed very recently redecorated in pleasing blues and whites; everything was spotless, the parking was easy ( and valuable) and our very large double room had the most wonderful view of the estuary.

Salcombe itself is , of course, an absolute delight and I cant imagine anywhere better to stay when there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nristol, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July in an en suite hotel room (not a self-catering unit). First the plus points:
1. Superb position with fantastic views of the estuary.
2. Room well appointed with very comfortable bed and excellent quality bedlinen.
3. Adjacent car parking space available (Salcombe is a nightmare for parking).

There were however a few minus points which we felt were not really acceptable for the price of room we paid (£105 per night mid season without breakfast).
1. The room was advertised as a hotel room, but with breakfast available for extra payment.
However, there was no servicing of the room included. Therefore for 3 days we had no means of cleaning the bathroom etc. This is not a problem when self-catering but we had no access to cleaning materials or equipment. We have never come across this arrangement before and it should be made clear on booking.
2. The garden was rather scruffy and not particularly well-maintained, eg the plants in the hanging baskets were old and had not been renewed for the summer. The path down to the swimming pool was overgrown.
3. Quite a bit of do it yourself maintenance was being carried and tools etc were left around the place, including in the area where breakfast would be served and in the entry area.
4. One of the overhead lights over the bed did not work and in any event was in the wrong place.
5. The shaving light in the shower room did not work, nor did the extractor fan.
6. The only toiletries provided was one small bottle of shower gel, (for three days).
7. There was little or no soundproofing between the rooms.

Overall, could be excellent with a little more attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacksgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend in an Ensuite 'Beach' Hotel room and our friends stayed in the nearby Seaside Suite (these are basically fully equipped one bed apartments with balcony etc). The rooms are all decorated in a fitting yet stylish nautical theme with excellent room facilities, however it is the view that really makes this hotel stand out from the others. Wow!

Outside, the hotel boast lovely gardens, a heated pool (right by the waters' edge), and a lovely terrace area; all with outstanding panoramic views over the estuary, the beaches and the sea. The terrace also has a BBQ for guests to use (real suntrap), and we sat here in the afternoon watching the boats go by.

We met a couple of families there who were staying in the larger apartments and they all said how much the hotel had dramatically improved in the last year or two both in terms of quality, services and appearance. By the sounds of it, the larger apartments are of a very high standard also.

We will definitely be returning, perhaps we will stay in one of the Seaside Suites next time as they have plenty of space and considerably more self-catering facilities (which suits us), and of course the balcony. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ensuite rooms and Seaside Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Salcombe then you could not find a better place than this. We stayed 3 nights and cannot wait to go back. The apartment was lovely, just sitting on the window seat or the balcony and watching the activity on the water the views were amazing and it was a short walk into town. Friendly staff and nice little extras like tea, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid and other house bits supplied. We all had a great time and had plenty of room in Puffin's Place. Our little dog enjoyed herself as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDAmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel over a bank holiday weekend, Ollie so kindly gave us a room for just one night when no other hotels would offer us that in Salcombe due to high volumes over the weekend. Ollie's hospitality was homely and inviting, he suggested great places to eat and provided excellent service throughout our stay. The view from our room was one of a kind! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay.. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamba28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
0.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments

Property: The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments
Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff overlooking the Salcombe Harbour, this hotel with apartments is a 9-minute walk from the Salcombe North Sands beach and a 10-minute walk from the East Portlemouth ferry. Bright rooms with harbour views have complimentary WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee making equipment. Suites add balconies, DVD players and lounge areas. Apartments offer balconies and up to 3 bedrooms, plus kitchens or kitchenettes. There's a 2-night minimum booking for all accommodations. Organic cooked breakfast is available in a restaurant. Other amenities include free parking, patio seating, BBQs and a heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing