We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed at the South Sands hotel recently on a much needed break. The staff are so helpful, when they found out we had just got engaged they brought us glasses of bubbly!!

The hotel itself is in a stunning spot we had a view of the beach from our room (11) and a lovely freestanding bath in the room.

Highly recommend this hotel (nothing else in walking distance so you need your car) the restaurant was great and amazing breakfast too.

All round a big fat 5 stars!

Room Tip: Worth paying for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imlivid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely meal for our first wedding anniversary. Great views over the bay, staff excellent and food very good

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have just returned home from a two night stay in a beach suite at south sands. This was our fourth visit and we weren't disappointed. The evening we arrived we were running late so I rang the restaurant to see what time they stopped serving, it was 9pm but was told if we could get there by 9.15pm they would serve us, which they did. The food is excellent but the menu is limited, we ate in the restaurant both nights and ended up eating the same things. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We love the beach suite, looking over the beach and relaxing to the sound of waves was just what we needed. However one point I must make is that the mattress is very hard and neither my husband or I slept well, it gave him a bad back. I also felt this time that things need a bit of a spring clean and lick of paint. It didn't detract from us having a wonderful time and I do hope we'll go again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foundwanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent a couple of nights here and the whole experience was excellent. We were in a Dragon room which looked onto the beach and had the view you can see on the webcam. The room was a good size with 2 armchairs arranged in the window. The bed was large with good linen and very comfortable. Wifi worked well and the radio/iPod dock functioned well. We dind't use the TV. The bathroom was large with a huge shower and a beautiful bath. The only minor complaint was that the mirror wasn't brightly lit so that making up in there was difficult.

The restaurant was very good. A good range of dishes with some excellent fish dishes and a sensible wine list with some unusual wines. The only problem we found was that the dish-washer didn't seem as effective as it might have been.

Staff were excellent throughout - friendly and welcoming.

I wish more hotels were like this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regular_Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just got back from a 3 night break at South Sands Hotel & we were very impressed.
Our bedroom (20) Dragon category was superb. It was on the 2nd floor & 2 french windows gave fabulous views of the beach & bay and at night you could hear the sea too.Very relaxing, and bed was huge with a fantastic mattress.
Room was a generous size with both free standing bath & shower cubicle in bathroom.
Everything very tastefully decorated.
The staff were excellent with Yvonne & Steve deserving a special mention.
Highly recommended, but as no pool, spa etc, can only give 4 * rating.

Room Tip: Try & pay extra for the sea view...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The menu at South Sands Hotel promised much and delivered more. So often these days a menu promises all and delivers mediocre food.

We were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary on Leap Year's Day, so these occasions do not come along very often! We stayed self-catering nearby and only had to walk 10 metres to the restaurant.

I set out in this review with the idea of describing every delicious mouthful but, aware that most travellers like a little less than that, will just say that all food was of the highest standard, the gentle melodic music was an addition rather than, as so often the case, an intrusion, the informed waiter, Peter, was knowledgeable and friendly and we experienced overall the best meal we have eaten in a long time. The menu is, naturally for a beachside location, mainly seafood but with two steak alternatives and a delicious vegetarian option; even if you don't usually eat fish, give it a try, because it is expertly cooked.

The only addition I would like is for South Sands to investigate the use of Imporient peppermint and other herbal/fruity teas. That would be the icing on the cake.

Thank you South Sands from Clanville Manor!

Room Tip: We didn't stay but suggest a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Clanville_Manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was our first time at South Sands and we loved it. We stayed in one of the 'enterprise' rooms which was very clean, beautifully decorated, spotless and had Molton brown products in the bathroom.........everything a girl could ask for! The restaurant was also fantastic, great atmosphere, great steaks and a wide range of whiskeys.......everything a man could ask for! 10/10 all round and when we win the lottery we will be upgrading to the 'J class suite!'

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKWinklechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
815 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
678 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
430 reviews
12.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £93 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing