We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid-back Luxe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Laid-back Luxe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a little corner of paradise , it would be hard to find a more tranquil beach hotel in the UK, the sea literally laps up to the terrace and at night , all we could hear were waves rolling along the shore -bliss. Its worth paying more for an amazing Dragon room with breath taking sea views and the best bathroom ever, roll top luxe and power shower.
Interiors are pure Cape Cod, food has the unmistakable Mitch Tonks flair,fab fish, the best squid in batter we've ever tasted, a far cry from those chewy spare tyres you often get. The wine list is sophisticated and staff stylish, and atmosphere a bit clubby, very grown up preppy as it is quite expensive. But the most essential accessory seems to be a dog, we were just about the only couple without one! Think Ralph Lauren meets Martha Stewart, we LOVED it and can't wait to return. But be warned , the roads to approach are hairy. We parked up for three days and took the ferry into Salcombe(next door) or walked everywhere , UPHILL earning our delicious Devon cream tea. The steep roads are not for the fair hearted. If you love a quiet bolt hole, laid back luxe, fab fish and fresh sea air , you will love South Sands

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    211
    81
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
443
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Location is fantastic, right on the beach. Reception staff were lovely, very welcoming and helpful. We had help to our room with the luggage and a guide to all the facilities. We took our dogs with us; dog beds and bowls were provided. We had one of the entry rooms, we wanted a larger room but they were booked but we were pleasantly surprised with the room. King size bed, comfy linen and pillows, double wardrobe, fridge, coffee/tea facilities, hair dryer, laundry facility, roll top bath, double shower, Molton brown toiletries. Everything you'd expect. A really relaxing and comfortable stay.
The area the hotel has some work to do is in the bar and restaurant. Breakfast is buffet and really good quality ingredients where it lets itself down is the hot buffet, nothing seems to be cooked properly all a bit anaemic, for the price you pay for B&B it should be cooked to order.
Evening meal - we waited 20 mins for drinks, asked for menus twice, offered bread and table water which didn't arrive and had to ask twice for these, they finally arrived after the starters. The menu is a very simple, possibly too simple for the price. When you read about the head chef you expect something special, instead the chips are frozen and the salad is straight out of a bag. Wine list is impressive but again, expensive, you can experience just as nice wine and champagne for half the money in other restaurants. It's a shame really because all the ingredients are there for it to be amazing, but there are better, more tasty restaurant locally.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay, the location, the welcome, the rooms and the hospitality of most staff. It just needs to sort out the Achilles heel -the restaurant and it will be just perfect.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickie_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were excellent, room lovely and breakfast one of the best we have had. On a few things to improve the TV had only 5 channels BBC1 not being one of them. Sadly there was a leak in the restaurant so we couldn't sample the dinner but the cocktails were a great alternative! Possibly a personal taste things but the coffee at breakfast was very bitter. Generally great location and would recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IOWSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

On arrival was seen by a young girl who checked us in and showed us up to our room whitch was amazing with a luxury shower big enough for 2.. We had a reservation inside the restaurant @ 8pm.. We decided to go downstairs to the bar @ 7:30pm for a complimentary gls of prosecco, we was then greeted by the maitre'd who's name was Jonathan with menus in the bar for a pre glance before we went through to the dining room. We was then introduced to a polish waiter who sold us the recommended roasted monkfish for 2 whitch was mouth watering along with the Sancerre blanc..
Overall my dining experience at south sands was 10/10 and would pass this through family and friends..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussexdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Dining in this hotel is not a good experience. We booked for Sunday lunch and the first thing that hit us on entering the restaurant is the noise - this is a very very noisy place. The food is not wonderful - one of the meat portions was very tough and one of the fish portions was very dry and overcooked. The Yorkshire puddings were soggy. The prices are very high, the service very poor and the Staff seemed to be completely untrained. One of the waiters was extremely rude. We had waited a long time for our pudding orders to be taken and one of our party called him across. The waiter took exception to this and was rude. When the desserts eventually arrived the waitress dropped a glass sundae dish containing Eton mess onto my shoulder and the contents spilled down the back of my clothes. There was very little apology until I called for the manager. Eventually I was offered vouchers for a return visit. These I declined as I definitely won't be returning. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sukipuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A fantastic hotel. The staff were great on reception and in the restaurant. Our room was superb, very nicely appointed, excellent bedding towels etc., the bathroom was lovely and it was immaculately clean. The restaurant has a superb view, the staff were really nice, friendly and helpful and the food was great quality and a good portion size. we had 2 nights here, which was not enough, and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel was lovely but our whole weekend was spoiled by the most arrogant and patronising restaurant manger I have ever encountered. I visited this hotel when it first re-opened after it's refurbishment in 2010 and it was perfect. Generally nothing has changed except I think standards have dropped and I found the staff to be rushed on occasions and communication to be poor. The restaurant manager is obviously in the wrong profession as is manner was rude and patronising and he did not follow through on his promises when we complained. When I spoke to him about this, his response was 'Whatever' at which point h walked off! I have never experienced such rude and shocking service in my life and as a result we checked out the next morning, a day early as it spoilt the whole trip. In addition the food was OK but distinctly average for the money, it lacked any flare or imagination and was generally under seasoned. I ordered sirloin steak and whilst it was cooked well it was tough and chewy.

I asked for the general manager to call me yesterday after our poor experience and to date she has not bothered to call.

Overall very disappointing, especially after our first visit. Such a shame as the setting is wonderful and the hotel is lovely and well appointed :-(

Room Tip: Get a sea view, it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tadcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
12.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Property: South Sands Hotel
Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing