We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas stay”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at the South sands hotel although we have eaten there many times
The Christmas package was perfect the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent enjoyed every aspect of our stay

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room as the views are excellent worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred_stearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We had an Amazing stay .... Our room was perfect... We had. Suite with the bath in the middle of the room .... We almost touching the sea! The only draw back was a noisy fan outside ... But this was soon forgotten .... The food was beautiful ...
Wished we stayed longer !!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Prentice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

After a quick run around on the beach we popped in for a wine, a beer and a couple of hot chocolates for the children before heading home for our Christmas lunch. The atmosphere was relaxed, the service professional and the quality good. We whiled away an hour or so playing board games, warming ouselves by the log fire and making a fuss of a fellow customers dog.

Staff were setting up for Christmas lunch in the restaurant. There seemed to be plenty of them, and all were friendly and attentive. Next year we're going to ditch the pots and pans and let the South Sands take the strain. This is despite some of the previous reviews, centering around the staff, which suggested things werent quite up to scratch, we saw little evidence of this - perhaps there has been a change of management and an emphasis placed on training and service. Its said that 'Great service isnt a mystery - just employ nice people' South Sands seem to be doing this

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Spoursy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Had a few drinks here in the evening - sadly the expected Doom Bar was not available this year. The terrace is very comfortable and a great place to meet up with friends - looking forward to trying the restaurant menu again next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

7th visit to south sands hotel since refurb in 2010. As always fantastic welcome great detail to attention. Stayed in Dragon room with good sea view.Room still felt as though newly refurbed. Winter menu in restaurant fantastic good choice. New restaurant manager had time for everybody.made everyone welcome and made sure everyone happy .overall brilliant stay.special thanks to Sarah assistant manager _ couldn't fault her. Becky and Candice in restaurant so pleasant and nothing too much trouble.xmas decorations made a very warm Xmas feeling. Thanks to Yvonne who obviously worked hard on them.good start to our Xmas.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Recently stayed at the South Sands hotel and came home feeling very rejuvinated. The staff were very helpful, food in the restaurant was of a high standard and the views from our room were great.

We will definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 11 has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09spire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a great stay. The room was lovely (an anniversary treat). We booked the j-class which is superb and luxurious. Bed massive. Views great. Food was intersting and a bit fancy but would eat there again. All staff were friendly and helpful. Flowers in the room as requested were lovely.
We stayed there in a wet October and loved looking out at the stormy sea from our room.
Lots of varied reviews on trip advisor but we both loved our stay. Our friends were staying at the same time and could find no fault either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
814 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
430 reviews
12.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £93 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing