We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a wonderful place to stay, just returned from a two night mid week break. Could not fault anything about Hotel, food - excellent ate evening meal and breakfast, good choice, fish terrific.
The whole atmosphere is cosy-log fires-great décor. Staff were friendly and very helpful, we were shown to our room and everything was explained to us-under-floor heating, safe, fridge, window shutters. We had a sea view, huge bed and roll top bath and huge walk in shower. The attention to detail is first class, even before we arrived, we were phoned and emailed directions to Hotel because one of the roads to Hotel was closed due to road works. Reception ring you in your room to make sure all with room is okay. The position of hotel is right on the beach and it is so quite as there is nothing else there except holiday homes and private houses. Easy walking distance into Salcombe -35mins - bit hilly but worth it, great views. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHotels344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    219
    91
    64
    26
See reviews for
195
466
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We returned to South Sands for a five day break over Christmas and had a wonderfully relaxing break. From the moment we arrived until we checked out, we were really well looked after - even a Christmas stocking each from Father Christmas! The food, wine and atmosphere were terrific - well done to Marta and the whole South Sands team for making it so special.

We hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both sea view and non-sea view rooms. Would definitely recommend the former, as r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFPANDDWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night for a special occasion a couple of years ago, dined in the evening and it was fine. Fabulous position right on the beach and dog friendly. However we recently decided as a treat to go for lunch. The staff were very friendly and accommodating but.. OK... it was off season and we were the only ones in the restaurant. The food was very average and expensive for what it was. Inedible cheap catering frozen chips passed off as skinny fries.. How hard is it to peel, chip and fry a real potato??? Especially when there were no other diners? So disappointed. Not worth the drive there. Could have had a much better meal nearer to home.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluehousebysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles e, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and highlighted comments. We are introducing a spring menu and I do wish that you shall return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely hotel, fantastic sea views, friendly and welcoming staff, nothing was too much trouble. We had the most beautiful weather which always helps but irrespective, it would have been lovely.

A suggestion for female guests, please put some tissues on the dressing table, they are so helpful when we are applying our make-up!!!

Under floor heating...great but oh so warm :( we had to sleep with our French doors open which we loved as it was so refreshing to hear the waves but for lots of people, it was just too warm!!!

Overall, the most amazing weekend, we will be back!

Thank you all

Xxx

Room Tip: Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannydaniels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Slightly confusing on line booking
Hotel ambiance is lovely, smart but friendly, casual bar area had great atmosphere
Rom with sea view was spacious and spotless
Generally friendly staff
The negative: Ordered a fish pie at dinner whcih contained a frozen prawn. It was replaced quickly but without much in the way of apology and no gesture to make for the unpleasant experience.
Otherwise food was good

Room Tip: beware sloping ceiling on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olddad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles e, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I have been made aware of your unfortunate incident regarding your fish pie and I will most certainly be sharing your feedback with the team. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel was only half occupied but reception staff and managers wouldn't consider an upgrade because we booked through late rooms.
The bedroom and bathroom were exceptionally hot and couldn't be turned down. Some pieces were ok, and most staff were helpful. Not rushing back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

An immaculately clean, smart and well presented hotel. We had two fantastic nights stay at South Sands. We planned to only eat in the hotel on the first night but ended up dining the two nights because of the excellent food and very smart surroundings. The bar area is very tasteful and comfortable. The room we had overlooked the beach, and what a lovely view. The bedrooms are of an excellent standard and decorated well and very comfortable. Breakfast is faultless and of great quality. The staff are friendly and make you feel welcome, they are a credit to the hotel. Would we stay again? Most definitely, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take a walk from South Sands to Salcombe, it takes about 40 mins along the coast road, but well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
755 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Property: South Sands Hotel
Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing