We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel wonderful staff”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay. Took my mum for her 75th birthday. The staff could not have done more to make my mum feel special. Room 9 has the most wonderful full sea view, any closer we would have been in the sea! Food, service and location 100%! THANKYOU to all the lovely staff for helping us to make a fantastic memory!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyBantry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our 2nd choice for our first night in Devon and while it was far from inexpensive it has to be said we had a fantastic visit. The hotel delivers in so many ways it deserves a visit.
We had a beach front room and while the weather was bad the location was awesome. From the minute we checked in the staff were friendly, extremely helpful and service standards throughout were faultless from the charming Assistant manager who greeted us on arrival, arranged a bottle of wine to our room and assisted at every opportunity to the evening barman who couldn't have been more pleasant. We were able to road test the service at both dinner and breakfast and since one is virtually a captive audience given the location it was delightful to find both te food and service of exceptional standards. The breakfast waitress was also welcoming, helpful and friendly. We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel especially out of season when better rates can be found.
Definitely would return.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are a premium as expected but worth it! Dining at the hotel well worth it, they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was booked for my husband during a business stay and I came along, and so glad I did! This is a gorgeous location for a hotel, it's hidden deep past the town right on the beach with beautiful surroundings. We fell in love as soon as we saw it. The staff was very friendly and welcoming as soon as we got in and showed us into our room and made sure all was ok and they booked us in for dinner later that evening.

We had the Optimist room facing the valley (front of building) - not facing the sea. Still very quiet and nice. The room was a good size being that it was one of the smallest of the rooms on the first floor. It had a walk in closet and huge bathroom with both a separate bath and shower area. Great wi-fi service and comfy big bed. The alarm clock had a space for my ipod also which was nice.

Dinner and breakfast were both delicious. Locally fresh food, all made deliciously with a gorgeous view of the sea. Wow!

We were happy to have found this spot and can see ourselves returning for a short mini getaway in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SilleBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just stayed for 2 nights in a suite. We have found all staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Our rooms were excellent. The lounge area looked out onto a balcony with views of the beach and sea. We dined at the hotel both nights. The menu is limited to fish and steak but the food is excellent. If it wasn't a 4 hr journey I would love to dine here regularly! Breakfasts catered for all . A great start to the day looking out to sea watching the waves, gannets diving and morning coffee. A relaxing short break with no need to use the car. Easy ferry to Salcombe, cliff top walks & enjoyable visit to gardens and house at Overbecks.

Room Tip: Suite 33 had good views of sea & would suit either famil or couples together. Excellent kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Have called on twice in the last 3 years for drinks and have walked out both times. Great location and nice decor.
A great opportunity you would think for the staff to make a good impression. But when you ask a waitress to take your order and she replies "i do have tables to set you know" and on the previous occasion treated as of your invisible then i a sorry you are not getting my cash.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles e, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Regular guests like yourselves are valuable to us and I will most defiantly be sharing your comments with the team.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited the hotel on 13th April for a 2 night break.
The hotel has a brilliant location right on the beach and as the sun was shining plenty time was spent on the terrace.
The hotel staff made us very welcome and our room was very nice as well.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was very good. I had steak and my Wife had fish..
The only criticism of the Restaurant was the menu. All the choices bar the steak were fish or seafood.
Brilliant if you like fish but you may tire of eating steak if you don't.

Having said that I would recommend this Hotel to anyone and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely hotel, right on a beautiful clean beach - and very handy for the tractor ferry over to Salcombe. Our room was fantastic, with sea views, a king sized bed - spacious room and a bathroom featuring a slipper bath with its own sea view! Staff were really friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them, and when we said we were disappointed with our first meal there, I truly felt that they were as disappointed as us - and they put it right straight away. This was followed up with a truly wonderful steak and hand cut chips the next night, with the steak cooked to perfection and light, crisp and fluffy proper chips - mouthwateringly good.

We were lucky with the weather staying fine (and sunny), and managed a few good walks - one of which was a hair-raising cliff-top walk which was challenging to say the least, but with spectacular views of the coastline. The slipper bath soon soothed our tired muscles, with molton brown toiletries complementing a perfect evening. Thanks to everyone there who made our holiday so special. Would recommend this to anyone, dog owners included.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but it is worth upgrading to one of the dragon rooms with a sea view just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
823 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
433 reviews
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
700 reviews
12.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £81 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing