We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I visited Salcombe as part of a tour of the South West.

We booked ‘South Sands’ after reading a number of excellent reviews.

Initial contact with the hotel was first class and very easy.

We stayed two nights in room 21.

In summary this is a fantastic hotel! Excellent service and great quality. Free/secure parking. All staff made us feel very welcome.

We wouldn’t stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    219
    91
    64
    26
See reviews for
195
466
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel location, overlooking the sea just a short (& quirky!) boat trip to Salcombe.
Great rooms with sea views, luxury bathrooms (complete with Molton Brown smellies!), super food, especially breakfast & their cream tea.
We visited August Bank Holiday which meant South Sands was packed & the hotel full. On reflection, I would recommend staying at a less busy period in order to get the best service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the pictures to the beds to the cushions and covers, a lot of thought has made this a really lovely place. Service is friendly. Location is so quiet and peaceful and wake to gentle lapping waves and hopefully sun shining... Only thing is upgrading the food.. Evening meal is ok, not special but for breakfast, overcooked scrambled (mines) and poached eggs (wife's) is not good. Coffee also a bit so so.. Just a bit more attention and this is a terrific place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a two day break at the South Sands Hotel where we stayed one of the lovely beach suites. We were very well looked after by all the staff but Yvonne on Reception deserves a special mention for her excellent local knowledge and ideas for days out (we had a lovely morning in Totnes and wonderful afternoon at Overbecks). Also Candi in the restaurant made breakfast a pleasure and was always happy for us to take a 'take away' for our teenage son .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have been staying at this hotel, in it's original form and at the old hotel, for many years. After our last very disappointing visit over a year ago, we decided to find an alternative. However, as we do love the location etc. we decided to give it another go. So glad that we did, the staff were so kind and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The restaurant was wonderful and the service was excellent. We had beach suite 33, which I would definitely recommend. We travelled with my sister and her husband and there was plenty of room with the bonus of a balcony. Well done South Sands Hotel we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranborne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I have now stayed several times at the hotel and this was the best stay yet. Staff and food better than ever. Always good but it now feels like this hotel has grown up and really comfortably delivering excellence. Will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane - The Inn ... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay. Took my mum for her 75th birthday. The staff could not have done more to make my mum feel special. Room 9 has the most wonderful full sea view, any closer we would have been in the sea! Food, service and location 100%! THANKYOU to all the lovely staff for helping us to make a fantastic memory!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justflojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
755 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Property: South Sands Hotel
Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing