We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal on the beach”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious meal on the beach”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening at the South Sands restaurant. Service was good in spite of how busy it was and we got a lovely table by the balcony over looking the water.

The meal was delicious. I had the selection of appetisers to start. My partner had monk fish and I had lemon sole with Samphire; all washed down with lashings of pink prosecco. We were surprised when the waiter didn't know what real ales they served.

Desert was frozen berries with a white chocolate sauce - which was delicious, but a little over priced. He had a delicious cheese selection.

A wonderful evening - although fractionally over priced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raddish_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    214
    89
    63
    22
See reviews for
189
456
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We come here for lunch every year during our holiday in Salcombe.
Usually good, but this year it was disappointing.
Slate table mats were dirty.
Finger marks on the wall mirror.
Very slow and poor service. Had to wait for over half an hour before drinks arrived and that after having asked twice!
Sirloin steak ciabatta was grisly.
Maybe a one off, but overall I think it maybe a case of falling standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JWM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles123Downhall, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for coming back to South Sands Hotel. I value your feedback and I am sorry for the disappointment. Now that we have the new glass table tops we have since removed the slates from the tables. I will be sharing your feedback with the team, so thank you for taking your time in giving us your feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Where do I start.... The location is superb, on a high spring tide your window is no more than 50ft from the waters edge but when the tide is out you have a lovely safe family beach ( no life guard though).
The view from our room was stunning and we slept with the French doors open all night and woke to the sun rising over East Portlemouth on the opposite side of the estuary.
Resturant food was good and the fish of the day was lovely. One minor criticism, the menu could be varied more from night to night, more specials would help.
We were there for 6 nights and if we had eat every night at the hotel the selection would have got boring, instead 3 nights in the resturant was about the limit.
In the height of summer the restaurant does attract non residents and some are small and noisy! Some parents don't know how to control their children and they climb on chairs and make a lot of noise. Avoid this by getting a later meal reservation as they mainly eat early.
The bar was well stocked and we spent evenings after dinner sitting outside or in playing cards. There is a good selection of board games etc if the weather gets wet and you want to stay inside for some of the day.
Breakfast was buffet style cooked, with some special order items like smoked haddock.
Our bedroom (17) was large with a lovely walk in shower. Only one down side, it was above the kitchen so there was the odd cooking smell and there was a slight noise from the extractors which went on around 06:15 but I was always up watching the sunrise anyway so it wasn't a problem.
The Children shared room 23 which was a lot smaller and only had a velux window looking onto the car park behind the hotel. Avoid this room if you can.
Th staff were courteous and Artur was off note as more helpful and friendlier, he always greeted politely and remembered surnames. Don't get me wrong, the others were also polite and courteous but he stood out.
Ok a couple of down sides. The car park is gravel, so don't bring wheel along heavy bags, they are hard to drag!!! The hotel would have carried them up to the room but I chose to do it myself. There is no lift either so if you struggle with stairs ask for an accessible room when you book.
There are some great walks along the coastal path if you are into that. We did a walk to Soar Mil Cove and back, a 6 mile walk over the cliffs past Bolt Head.
If you want to take a boat they do have swinging moorings but book early! Tenders are left on the beach in front of the hotel. I would recommend launching a boat at Salcombe, don't try and trailer a boat to the hotel, even though there is a slipway next door! The lanes are narrow... Be warned!
I will return out of high season for a long weekend without the children.
Thanks South Sands for a great few days ( helped by glorious weather!!!)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank beechcrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed in room 10 - best room in the hotel and it was stunning. huge bed and 2 slipper baths in the bedroom. staff very friendly and helpful. big disappointment was the food. dinner was expensive and no better than average. nothing really bad but nothing very good about the food - just average.

Room Tip: room 10 is stunning for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a wonderful mix of up to date and modern, comfortable accommodations, great staff, amazing location, family friendly, fantastic food (and coffee!) and picturesque British outings. We loved our stay here-however brief. My children loved it as well - including the food!

We don't get to England often, but this is a place worth visiting again for a break in our travels, just for the knowledge that it offers everything we are looking for in a beach holiday. I might even venture there in the off-season for some great walking without kids in tow!

Room Tip: We stayed in the only rooms available at the last minute - the accessible rooms. That meant huge was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rugby
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Well, it's been an absolute pleasure to be in the vicinity of south sands as well as staying at ss for the last 3 weeks. Think the hotel goes from strength to strength - such a warm welcome, staff go above and beyond to help. Absolutely love the balcony entertainment on tuesdays - have attended all of the last 3 tapas Tuesdays - a real treat. Sat here right now with slide guitarist playing, drinking a fine wine, munching on my 3rd batch of extra bread the friendly waiter got me to accompany the tapas board. Love it. Love the takeaway options. We can't fault this place and hope to return for many years to come. Without doubt our favourite spot to eat, relax, drink wine, listen to music in salcombe!!!

First class.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nina171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a boutique hotel and a perfect place for a holiday. Now the place is in disarray, and a "pack 'em in" ethos is quickly destroying the boutique hotel idea.
Outside the hotel a large board invites trippers to come in for children's food, fish and chips and more or less anything else they want. In the bar is a large freezer selling ice creams for £2 a tub. Nothing wrong per se, it's the style of how it is done that cheapens up the hotel. On the terrace a huge sign proclaiming "Take Away Food" enforces the hotel as a tourist trap. A pianist rewarded for playing the key board with a pot for tips prominently placed in front of himself continues with the more Butlins than boutique theme. With the masses all sitting on the terrace the place is getting dirty, and the crumbs are constantly brushed onto the decking which is very dirty. The General Manager is not in evidence, and the restaurant manager seems to take his cue from the GM and was rarely seen. Certain staff have a label on their shirt of "Supervisor" which must be demotivating as a title and continues with the butlins type theme. No Head Waiter or Assistant Manager titles here! Despite being in a great location worthy of a boutique hotel,this is fast becoming the hotel version of "Toys R Us ". Hopefully the owner will see the light and reverse the tacky decisions recently enforced.

Room Tip: Road side rooms are noisy. Sea view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Impossible2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles e, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the unique offering that South Sands has to offer in such a beautiful location. Our lunch caterer to both tourists and locals alike, from affordable light meals to exclusive fruit de mer and lobster. We have children’s menus and activity packs and even a take away offering provided to guests on the beach that has been launched this year. Through the months of July to August we are hosting 6 local musicians that play every Tuesday evening to great review and tapas boards are served alongside this. You will know that our dinner offering is of a more formal nature with over 90 wines to choose from, however we encourage all our guests to experience both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Property: South Sands Hotel
Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing