We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spice it up” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spice it up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice place with very nice views on the waterfront. Can't ask for anything better. Food was fantastic (could not fault it). Staff need to be more attentive and have interaction with customers. Seems like they are like robots. Come to table, take order, deliver food and that's it. This place seems to have so much potential. I would love to come and sit and just chill with some drinks. Very nice bench seats near bar. Bar itself is alright. Don't know what it is. Maybe someone of management interacting and socialising. Like I said great place with potential. Just need an uplift and buzz and bring it to life. This place could get packed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    211
    81
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
444
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Recently stayed three nights at this beautiful spot in Devon where despite BBC weather forecast of rain, we had three gloriously sunny days. If you have a room facing the water, you can't really fault the view. We had a lovely room and bathroom with free-standing bath, and Molton Brown toiletries. The thing is, paying £300+/night, you really expected something more. The room was comfy, not large. The decor pleasant if rather bland. The facilities clean and the staff friendly. Despite this, there was a distinct lack of wow factor. There was nothing particularly bad, but nothing particularly that was endearing me to the place either. Small wish list and (small) complaints: (1) Would like a sexy, adult bar where we can enjoy sundowners. The existing bar serves as a takeaway ordering point during the day and part of the restaurant at night. Perhaps something sexier. I really think they are missing a trick here. Bar sales would vastly improve if it was an inviting adult environment. (2) For the room charge, you'd think they would throw in the newspaper for free, but it was charged in addition. (3) We left our chargers and they want to charge extra for sending it back to London. (4) I complained about the cheese course, very dry and tastes, looks and smells like it had been sitting in the fridge for a long time - they took it off the bill but tried to convince me it was how it should be (in the friendliest way). (5) Perhaps some surprise extras that add that something special to a place, eg magazines in the room, lavender bags in the cupboards, a freebie after dinner drink and chat from the maitre'd. After all, we had had breakfast there 3x, lunch x1 and dinner there 2 nights out of the three. By the way, the dinners were perfectly fine both times and the food was familiar comforting food executed with skill. However, the place is just like this review. There isn't a stupendously memorable thing about it except to say that it was all just fine, nothing more I'm afraid.

Room Tip: only water facing rooms as otherwise you miss the point of being in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NapoleonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
664 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Of course these are subjective - other people may find my negatives to be a positive -

Good points:
Beautiful view over a little sandy beach
Lovely scenery nearby
Nice decor throughout
Ideal for people who like sailing or walking
Excellent buffet breakfast (although it would have been good to see more emphasis on locally provided food and staff)
Reasonably good wifi

Bad Points:
TIny claustrophic room (1 and 2). We were told that one of the rooms would take 3 people but both rooms were a real squash. Extra bed was uncomfortable for 3rd adult
Terrible access down narrow lanes - had to reverse several times up hair bin bends to allow cars to get by
A long drive from anywhere down the same narrow lanes for quite a while
Not for those who don't like sailing or walking
Very little hotel space - small bar and then the restaurant - if you go for a small room you will have nowhere else to go to relax if the weather is bad
Some confusion over the initial booking process
Hotel restaurant is excessively expensive

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles123Downhall, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing South Sands for your recent break. I value your feedback and take your comments on board and will be sharing it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Firstly the good thing about this hotel is the staff they are all very friendly and knew your name very quickly
Food was good but not whow
The bar spirits selection was poor and not what you would expect in a hotel charging a room charge in excess of £300
The actual room was poorly maintained with stains on the carpets and furniture and lack of toiletries
The communal areas of the hotel need a good refurb like the rooms and this needs to be acted on quickly as the hotel that is opening within next two years will take the business away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles123Downhall, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us at South Sands Hotel and thank you for your positive feedback regarding the team. We have make a difference reward program in place and I will be sharing your feedback with the team.

I take your feedback on board and thank you for talking your time in giving us this feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just a quick review but we stayed last night in Room 2 at The South Sands Hotel and it was such a disappointment. Have stayed before in this room but this time there was no dressing gowns, no moulton brown, one small conditioner and one shampoo, shower gel - not enough for two to use for evening and then morning. No water, milk in squeezable sachets, no little extras. Floor dirty with sand, noisy feet above us and the bottles (40/50) from the bar were cleared away in a barrel at 12.33am in the morning down our corridor which were dropped and some swearing and then clearing up followed!!! Very tired! Was looking forward to it but left disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FieldH0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles123Downhall, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We have 6 room types and 4 only include the additional amenities of bath robes and slippers. Your room an Optimist does not I am afraid, however you will be please to know we do provide these additional amenities on request. The same applies to our bathroom amenities this should be replenished daily. I am sorry if your amenities was not replaced and I have highlighted your feedback to the housekeeping team.

Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening at the South Sands restaurant. Service was good in spite of how busy it was and we got a lovely table by the balcony over looking the water.

The meal was delicious. I had the selection of appetisers to start. My partner had monk fish and I had lemon sole with Samphire; all washed down with lashings of pink prosecco. We were surprised when the waiter didn't know what real ales they served.

Desert was frozen berries with a white chocolate sauce - which was delicious, but a little over priced. He had a delicious cheese selection.

A wonderful evening - although fractionally over priced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raddish_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We come here for lunch every year during our holiday in Salcombe.
Usually good, but this year it was disappointing.
Slate table mats were dirty.
Finger marks on the wall mirror.
Very slow and poor service. Had to wait for over half an hour before drinks arrived and that after having asked twice!
Sirloin steak ciabatta was grisly.
Maybe a one off, but overall I think it maybe a case of falling standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JWM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles123Downhall, General Manager at South Sands Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for coming back to South Sands Hotel. I value your feedback and I am sorry for the disappointment. Now that we have the new glass table tops we have since removed the slates from the tables. I will be sharing your feedback with the team, so thank you for taking your time in giving us your feedback.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Property: South Sands Hotel
Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing