We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super Salcombe Family Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I took our family to this fabulous Hotel from the 21st to 24th of October, we were given two rooms 404 & 402 both with stunning views of the estuary. On arrival the staff were excellent, we were expected, our bags were whisked away to our room and a lovely lady called Jo (who was extremely popular with our children) showed us to our rooms and explained how all the techy equipment worked. Plus the valet parking was an excellent touch!

The hotel has just had a major refit and so as you would expect everything is new and fresh. The spa was not yet open but we knew that prior to booking and when it is the hotel will be even more fabulous (if that is possible) as our kids would spend most of their time in the pool!

There was nothing lacking in the rooms & everything you would expect from a 5* hotel check out the photos I took. The view from the rooms were stunning.

The staff were a credit to the hotel, despite being only open for a couple of months they were very professional, friendly and extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble.

The Food - we ate at the hotel for dinner twice during our stay and I can highly recommend the trio of pork main course & the dark chocolate fondant WoW! Again the hotel has only been open for a couple of months and yet the quality of the food is of a standard you would expect from a well established brigade with 3 AA rosettes!!

On the whole I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and it is set to get even better when the spa opens some time in November. The Richardson Family had a fantastic time and our thanks go out to Jason Parry and all his Team.

Room Tip: Any! they all look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neo1eon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, I know that the team will be really motivated by your praise. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Salcombe and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed two nights on a brilliant Waitrose offer with bed, breakfast and dinner included at much less than the B and B rate for a standard room.The hotel had recently reopened following extensive renovation, and it has been beautifully done. The new reception and spa are not yet open but that didn't matter to us. An innovative idea on check in was being given a tablet with all the hotel's information on it, and access to the internet. The rooms are elegantly furnished and very well equipped (the only surprise for a hotel of this standard was no face cloths), very comfortable bed, high quality toiletries, and the very welcome decanters of gin and sherry - pity the tonic wasn't free too! The food, with the accent very much on fish, was delicious, very fresh, good flavours, reasonable sized portions, well presented.

We particularly liked the staff. It seemed that their average age was in the early to mid twenties but they were excellent at their job, efficient, easy to talk to, knowledgeable, and nicely informal without being too 'matey'.

The wine list was fine but we did think that more could have been offered by the glass, particularly dessert wines which, on the list, were available by the bottle only. Equally, while the bar staff knew how to make cocktails there was no list of those available.

We had two minor gripes: the lack of anywhere quiet to sit and read other than our room which only had one comfortable chair, and had to be left for the staff to make up; and, secondly, the rather too intrusive and all pervading piped music.

It's a lovely hotel, in a fabulous setting, in a most attractive town, but when shopping (and there are some very good shops), beware of the Salcombe mark-up! It's not cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carabinier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on this side, your feedback is really important to us. I would like to assist with a couple of points made, Facecloths are currently available upon request and I am so sorry that this was not explained to you, our cocktail lists have now arrived and are in situ, we're really proud of the team here and especially so with this enthusiasm and passion for the hotel and finally your comments regarding the music are noted and again we really appreciate the feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have eaten dinner in the restaurant twice recently and enjoyed both visits.

There is a very good choice of food from three different menu's and you may mix n match from them all.

The room itself is light and a pleasant place to be, once the refurbishment is finished and the scaffolding gone, the views across the Estuary should be lovely. Cocktails tres good.

Service was enthusiastic and mostly prompt, however some minor training is required when serving wine.............don't overfil the glass and when the customer says "thank you", it means stop pouring.

We thought everything was reasonable value given the location etc. However, some of the portions were far too small. My guests fish and chips bordered on the embarrassing for a big mans main course.

The wine list is not the most extensive you have ever seen, however, it represents a varied choice and reasonable value.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review, all of the points mentioned will be discussed with Food and Beverage Team and Head Chef. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my husbands birthday. From the minute we arrived we were highly impressed. Rooms were amazing, bed linen especially! Since coming back I have been researching the bed linen!!!! ?Hungarian Goose?? Staff were amazing, very accommodating and polite. There clearly is work being done but we were warned about this and didn't spoil our stay. We are returning in February for my birthday and I can safely say this hotel is my new 'happy place' thank you Salcombe Harbour staff, amazing trip. Huge thank you to the man who made our cocktails, very passionate about his job and an absolute bonus to the team. Please pass on our thanks, tell him the Rum Sour couple!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, I know the team will be motivated by your praise. I'm sure when you visit next Sam will have a couple of new cocktails for you to try. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Like a couple of others on here, my partner and I stayed for two nights to attend our friends wedding in Oct, and had an amazing time. The hotel is already looking beautiful, even though not finished in places. Our hotel room was lovely, great views although one of the higher floors would have been even better. Everything worked for us, although agree with others that the lighting system was rather complicated, but again totally forgiven with the free Sherry & Gin!

The staff were absolutely amazing all weekend, so friendly and accommodating. The food at the wedding breakfast was delicious, as was the breakfasts each morning.

Would definitely love to come back in the future when all is finished and the spa ready

Room Tip: Go for a view (costs extra but worth it) and ideally on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLouise1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that the wedding you attended was an enjoyable time for you and that the hotel was equally enjoyable. I thank you for your comments regarding the team, we are really are very proud of them. Finally I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Salcombe Harbour Hotel again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel is truly sublime, it has just undergone a complete refurb and it is now really excellent, the rooms are beautifully decorated with all your needs catered for, even down to the gin which is complementary. We experienced an estuary view room and it was worth the extra cost for that view. The food was extremely good and the staff all very welcoming and helpful throughout. We only spent two nights with them but would love to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Choose an estuary view if poss, really worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to welcoming you back again, for more than 2 days next time hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at the Salcombe Harbour Hotel and found it relaxing and restful. The rooms are beautiful, our bed was bliss !! The extra touches were lovely and we felt truly spoiled.
The staff were superb and couldn't do enough for us.
Food in the restaurant was lovely.. we loved the little starters, you can have as little or much as you want. Staff very friendly and professional.
There were a few teething problems as you would expect from a hotel that isn't quite finished but we knew this was the case when we booked it. The lights in our bedroom were a real problem, but again I'm sure they will get them sorted out. I have deducted 1 one star because the spa wasn't open and the price didn't reflect this.
When the hotel is fully open it will be a dream.. we can't wait to go back there,especially when the Spa is open.

Room Tip: I personally would't want one of the back rooms, They are very small, but you get what you pay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on this site, we really appreciate the feedback. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future once the Spa is completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
892 reviews
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
814 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
415 reviews
17.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
12.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £128 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing