We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN AMAZING TRANSFORMATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I had never visited Salcombe before and I managed to find an incredible deal through the Waitrose Magazine which enabled me to treat my husband to a weekend at the Salcombe Harbour Hotel.

The property has an unrivaled view over the Estuary and has, over the last year or so, undergone a hugely costly renovation. Our package cost an incredibly reasonable £159 per night for bed, full English breakfast and either £25 towards the al la carte menu or a special menu included in the package. We chose the special menu which was very good. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade to an Estuary View Room on the 3rd floor (top) which was beautifully appointed with all mod cons. The 'smart' lighting system was a slight problem and I think even the hotel felt that, given another shot, they would not have installed it. The bed was very comfortable with lovely linen and the bathroom (not over-large) had an over-the-bath shower plus a hand shower. There was a problem with our balcony. The builders had failed to install any drainage and the rainwater quickly built up so that we could not even venture out onto the balcony without soaking our feet. The hotel staff were aware of this problem which is due to be resolved in January. There was still some residual scaffolding below our room but this had been erected to build some apartments below the hotel and in no way interfered with the view from our room. The whole feel of our room was one of cosiness and comfort with soft taupe and white colour schemes.



We found the young staff extremely pleasant and obliging. The spa and the parking facilities are still to be complete but there are some treatments available.

The dining room, bar and lounges are modern and open-plan with comfortable areas to enjoy tea or coffee in the afternoons. Breakfast here is excellent with plenty of choice and although there is a buffet for cerials, yoghurt and fruit/juice, the main dishes are all freshly prepared. The hotel is located at the far end of the village and it is just lovely to be able to amble along the road with its many coffee bars and restaurants as well as plenty of shops selling nautical clothing. There is also a very good boutique and a bakery.

We had the most amazing weekend despite the threat of some bad weather. I would certainly recommend this beautiful hotel to both couples and families. It was great to be there out of season, thus avoiding the huge number of people who visit Salcombe every year. A real gem!

Room Tip: We loved the top floor Estuary View Rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lferstendik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate the feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon once the spa is open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
There are newer reviews for Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for our 30thAnniversary. We fell in love with this beautiful hotel and everything about it.

The room had the most amazing view of Salcombe estuary. The balcony was dropped down with glass panels so as not to block the lovely view. The hotel provided a basket by the door with a rug, pashmina and binoculars to make sitting on the balcony more cosy.
The bed was really comfortable and big. The room was big and well equipped with lots of little touches that make you feel special and in awe of the thought gone into customer satisfaction and comfort.

The food was outstanding, the bar and waiting staff looked after you so well.
On the subject of staff; every member of staff was excellent, they were very helpful friendly and warm, they were all wonderful. Absolutely everyone put themselves out to help; we really congratulate the hotel on their amazing staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Congratulations on your 30th Anniversary and thank you so much for your kind words, I know the team will be motivated by your praise. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Harbour hotel sits close to the top of the hill on the pretty narrow main road that runs along the harbour of Salcombe Bay. It is part of a small group of hotels and has just had upwards of £10million pounds spent on it.

We were there for a long weekend and got an extremely good value offer which included breakfast and a restricted 3 course evening meal. The hotel is decorated in a nautical style with colours that complement the area in soft greys, blues and beiges.

There are nice touches such as a small cinema room with a very salty popcorn machine and a supply of complimentary gin or sherry in your room. You pay for the tonic.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. At present the hotels spa is not finished and they are using 2 guest bedrooms to offer massages at £60 per session.

The rooms are spotless and the bathrooms although small are modern and comfortable.

The lighting system requires a university degree to operate, but eventually you manage to turn the lights off or dim them by pressing all the different buttons and praying something happens.

We had a harbour view but found we could not stand on the balcony because the builders had got their levels wrong and there was 2 inches of lying water on the balcony.

The bar is pretty and the food from the kitchen is good although not especially memorable. I would assume that if you come in high season the prices will be high, so why does the hotel need to charge you for crisps and nuts when you are having their £9 cocktails? I also found a gratuity added to my bill for service in the hotel even though I was a guest. At breakfast you can have a non chargeable filter coffee, but if you ask for cappuccinos you will find there is another charge on your bill. Silly little extras that ought to be included, but Wi Fi is free throughout the hotel

Altogether a beautiful area to explore and a lovely hotel that will be perfect when it sorts out the little anomalies.

Room Tip: Take a high room and a harbour view to make the most of the hotel and do not be outside the taking l...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExplorerLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on this site, we really appreciate the feedback and I especially note your comments regarding the additional charges for items that you feel should be included, we will review this and I welcome your comments. There have indeed been some issues with some of the balconies but these will be redone shortly in order for our guests to be able to fully enjoy the vista from the hotel. Finally our lighting system, whilst it does have its challenges once mastered the scene settings can make the room feel much more relaxing during the evenings, we are in the process of having them all checked again to ascertain that they are working properly. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Salcombe Harbour Hotel for our first wedding anniversary. We were pretty sure it would be great because we got married at its sister hotel, Christchurch Harbour Hotel, last year. We were not disappointed.
The location could not be more perfect, and Salcombe itself was charming.
The staff were so attentive and friendly even from before we arrived, having rung a few days in advance to check whether there was anything we needed to make our stay more comfortable.
We stayed in an estuary view room on the top floor with amazing views. The room itself was beautifully furnished and the shower and bed were fantastic. The complimentary gin and sherry were a lovely addition as well.
We had dinner in the Jetty restaurant, which was delicious. A fantastic selection of wonderful fresh seafood and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.
It was a shame the spa wasn't open yet, but we were aware of this when we booked, and are already planning a return trip when everything is up and running.
Thanks to all the hotel staff for making our weekend really special.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth the extra money to have an estuary view room, the view will not disappoint...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEdwards57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and indeed share this special occasion with us. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and are look forward to welcoming you back once the Spa is fully open in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I took our family to this fabulous Hotel from the 21st to 24th of October, we were given two rooms 404 & 402 both with stunning views of the estuary. On arrival the staff were excellent, we were expected, our bags were whisked away to our room and a lovely lady called Jo (who was extremely popular with our children) showed us to our rooms and explained how all the techy equipment worked. Plus the valet parking was an excellent touch!

The hotel has just had a major refit and so as you would expect everything is new and fresh. The spa was not yet open but we knew that prior to booking and when it is the hotel will be even more fabulous (if that is possible) as our kids would spend most of their time in the pool!

There was nothing lacking in the rooms & everything you would expect from a 5* hotel check out the photos I took. The view from the rooms were stunning.

The staff were a credit to the hotel, despite being only open for a couple of months they were very professional, friendly and extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble.

The Food - we ate at the hotel for dinner twice during our stay and I can highly recommend the trio of pork main course & the dark chocolate fondant WoW! Again the hotel has only been open for a couple of months and yet the quality of the food is of a standard you would expect from a well established brigade with 3 AA rosettes!!

On the whole I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and it is set to get even better when the spa opens some time in November. The Richardson Family had a fantastic time and our thanks go out to Jason Parry and all his Team.

Room Tip: Any! they all look good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neo1eon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, I know that the team will be really motivated by your praise. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Salcombe and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed two nights on a brilliant Waitrose offer with bed, breakfast and dinner included at much less than the B and B rate for a standard room.The hotel had recently reopened following extensive renovation, and it has been beautifully done. The new reception and spa are not yet open but that didn't matter to us. An innovative idea on check in was being given a tablet with all the hotel's information on it, and access to the internet. The rooms are elegantly furnished and very well equipped (the only surprise for a hotel of this standard was no face cloths), very comfortable bed, high quality toiletries, and the very welcome decanters of gin and sherry - pity the tonic wasn't free too! The food, with the accent very much on fish, was delicious, very fresh, good flavours, reasonable sized portions, well presented.

We particularly liked the staff. It seemed that their average age was in the early to mid twenties but they were excellent at their job, efficient, easy to talk to, knowledgeable, and nicely informal without being too 'matey'.

The wine list was fine but we did think that more could have been offered by the glass, particularly dessert wines which, on the list, were available by the bottle only. Equally, while the bar staff knew how to make cocktails there was no list of those available.

We had two minor gripes: the lack of anywhere quiet to sit and read other than our room which only had one comfortable chair, and had to be left for the staff to make up; and, secondly, the rather too intrusive and all pervading piped music.

It's a lovely hotel, in a fabulous setting, in a most attractive town, but when shopping (and there are some very good shops), beware of the Salcombe mark-up! It's not cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carabinier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on this side, your feedback is really important to us. I would like to assist with a couple of points made, Facecloths are currently available upon request and I am so sorry that this was not explained to you, our cocktail lists have now arrived and are in situ, we're really proud of the team here and especially so with this enthusiasm and passion for the hotel and finally your comments regarding the music are noted and again we really appreciate the feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have eaten dinner in the restaurant twice recently and enjoyed both visits.

There is a very good choice of food from three different menu's and you may mix n match from them all.

The room itself is light and a pleasant place to be, once the refurbishment is finished and the scaffolding gone, the views across the Estuary should be lovely. Cocktails tres good.

Service was enthusiastic and mostly prompt, however some minor training is required when serving wine.............don't overfil the glass and when the customer says "thank you", it means stop pouring.

We thought everything was reasonable value given the location etc. However, some of the portions were far too small. My guests fish and chips bordered on the embarrassing for a big mans main course.

The wine list is not the most extensive you have ever seen, however, it represents a varied choice and reasonable value.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Watfordbloke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review, all of the points mentioned will be discussed with Food and Beverage Team and Head Chef. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
869 reviews
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
790 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
628 reviews
17.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
4.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £141 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing