We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all in the detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's all in the detail”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay with my husband, the hotel has many positives not least the view from the balcony of our generously proportioned, 2nd floor bedroom. The bathroom was also sizeable and modern with a hint of luxury. The bedroom was thoughtfully laid out, with a comfortable chaise longue facing the gorgeous view of the estuary. There was a well stocked mini bar, complete with Nespresso coffee machine, complementary gin and the arrival at 6pm of ice and lime to accompany. The real selling point for us was the first class cuisine, which really stood out. However there were far too many details falling short of the description of the expected service described by the hotel's website and other tripadvisor reviewers. The daily menu didn't change while we were there, as advertised. The restaurant atmosphere was really quite spoiled by the intrusive music that appeared to be encouraging a party atmosphere, fine if service had finished but it started just as we began our main courses, and then as guests left the dining room and lounge, staff made us feel that our presence was no longer welcome, and this was 10.30pm at the latest. The food was excellent but difficult to concentrate on the elements that had clearly been prepared with great skill and attention to detail. Some of the waiting staff seemed to carry egos far exceeding their service ability. They clearly had no interest in the menu or the food which the Hotel has taken great trouble to promote. They appeared apathetic and disorganised and we felt as customers we were more of an inconvenience at times. Details such as finding dirty robes in the bathroom on arrival, a coffee pod from a previous guest still in the coffee machine just added to the feeling that this Hotel has to up its game in order to deliver.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, this really is very important to us and I am so sorry that aspects of your stay spoiled your weekend break. I would very much like to address these issues and will be making contact shortly in order to deal with the points you raise here. Finally thank you very much for the feedback and I sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    258
    128
    43
    17
See reviews for
157
683
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This traditional British hotel has had a major refit and the results are outstanding. A great deal of care and thought has gone into every aspect, with elegant new bedrooms provided with everything from fresh fruit to binoculars. The public areas are also well designed and with excellent facilities. The staff, mostly young, are exceptionally friendly and enthusiatic - clearly very proud of their hotel and nothing seemed too much trouble. Car parking is a major problem in Salcombe but the hotel has overcome this by use of valet parking, at no charge. We found this service quick and efficient, beware, however, that the directions given on the hotel's website no longer apply as a new one-way system has been introduced in the town and you now have approach the hotel by a complicated route around the town. Food in the restaurant was good, although the table d'hote did not change that much over the three days we were there. Our only reservation was the presence of a strange odour in the bathroom - damp? drains? It is well worth paying the supplement for a sea view as the hotel's position, overlooking the esturay, is outstanding.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for you kind and encouraging words, I know the team love to hear that our guests appreciate all of their efforts and they genuinely are excited about the hotel. I am a little concerned regarding the smell you encountered in the room, please could I ask that you email me directly the room you were staying in, this will allow me to fully investigate the situation and address any issues that may be found, my email address is jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A one night stay at the weekend in November. Dinner bed and breakfast. Newly refurbished with building work still on progress.

The situation with the building work was explained well when I made the booking enquiry. On arrival and throughout employees were attentive and friendly. Open to questions and clearly enthusiastic about working at this totally refurbished hotel we were made to feel very welcome. Some attention to customer care required for it to be 5 star as there was an error in taking my dinner order and the wrong main course arrived which was disappointing as it left my husband eating on his own whist another main was cooked. It would have been nice to have, say, a complementary coffee to make up for this. Also I noticed staff in the bar could have been more attentive to a non resident who was complaining about the lack of a view (due to building work there were sheer curtains in the dining room adjacent to the bar so no view of the estuary).

The rooms are lovely and very stylish, and the bathrooms first class. Beds are super king and very comfortable indeed. A struggle to plug in the coffee machine and kettle were a minor frustration.

Ice and lemon served to each room for pre-dinner drinks (complementary sherry and gin in the room) were fantastic touches.

Decor throughout the hotel was outstanding.

Food very good overall although we felt the breakfast could have been more creative and the portions more generous.

It's early days and all looks very promising for this hotel as it nears completion and opens fully shortly. The employee engagement is very high and hugely commendable as the focus is truly on making guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferandJohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here, your feedback is really important to us. It is really pleasing to hear of the enthusiasm of the team, whilst this is of course why they were selected but it's always nice to hear of the genuine warmth and excitement they are showing. All other comments in terms of proactive service and attention to the finer detail are very welcome and these are areas we are currently working very hard on. We are currently in the process of reviewing our breakfast offering and I thank you again for your observations. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Salcombe is my and wife's favourite place and now this is our favourite restaurant, so much so in five days we had eaten here three times!
Food and cocktails are top quality and we even enjoy the music though the older folks aren't to sure of the funky electronic beat!
A must try is the smoked haddock scotch egg with some amazing pickled vegetables and basically all the fish dishes.
See you at Christmas and from now on we will eat here every time we are down

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank The1bigshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your encouraging words, I am so pleased that you have found us and enjoyed your regular visits recently. The "Jetty Scotch Egg" is a firm favourite and also one of my own personal recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again at Christmas and for a long time to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I visited Salcombe Hotel this week on business i was welcomed by the friendly staff, even the man sweeping the road bid me good morning. The transformation to the hotel is wonderfully tasteful. Every detail is covered oppulently down to the Ralph Lauren lampshades and 20ft sofa. All in neutral, new england style colours and amazing views. They have even paid attention the the sumptuous beds which look out over the sea and adjacent beaches. The spa here will be equally wonderful once it is completed. I can not wait to return and stay at this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on this site, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are equally as excited to be finishing off all of the areas in the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My Wife and I only spent four nights, namely Friday 1st to Tuesday 5th November 2013, at the Harbour Hotel and Spa, Salcombe, Devon, and only wish we had planned a much longer stay. All Staff were efficient, helpful and extremely courteous, which is all the more amazing as the current refurbishment is not complete and they have to put up with builders and their mess. The hotel was organized in such a fashion as this not to cause any major problems to guests. The view of Kingsbridge Estuary from our room and the Dining Room was magnificent. We look forward to staying again in the near future and would thoughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianne Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and I know that the team here will really apreciate your comments. As the project comes to an end, we are really excited to be opening up all of the areas and very much look forward to welcoming back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I would not disagree with the other reviews about the quality of the hotel and the rooms and the staff, however one thing has totally detracted from any pleasant memories of our two day break and that was the 'music' in the dining room. On the Saturday night all we could hear of the music was an incessant thumping electronic beat. We asked if it could be turned down and were told it could not, the choice of music and its decibel level were set by the Chairman.

I feel that the type of clientele which the hotel is likely to attract would prefer something more restful - smooth jazz or classical music, or even silence. Apparently the hotel wishes to attract a younger type of guest.

Gill Sweeting

Room Tip: Estuary views probably the best, 2nd floor and above to avoid the current building works..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am obviously pleased that you enjoyed your stay in terms of the service and decor of the hotel. I thank you for your feedback on the style of music being played and am very sorry that it is not to your liking. We do hope that you will visit the hotel again in the future once all of the development has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
11.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing