We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were spoilt & pampered, nothing was to much trouble, especially from Craig and Harry they made us feel so welcomed and Craig took the trouble to take us around the hotel as we haven’t been since the refurbishment. What a difference a lovely nautical theme thru out, for best views I would recommend top floor, we stayed in room 504 great big baloney to have your G &T on! The food was lovely & no complaints with the service as previous reviews suggested; if something isn’t right then speak up & get it sorted straight away is my motto in life. If you want more breakfast ask for it as we did, I rarely have problems with hotels & staff as I know what I like and I ask for it, I’m polite to the staff which in turn they always go that extra mile for you, Just ask for Craig who knows his stuff! This is the best hotel in the area for gorgeous estuary views, just go for it!

Room Tip: room 504 or any room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    263
    129
    46
    18
See reviews for
160
694
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived to find no parking spaces and had to leave our keys with reception, not a good start. Over the next 24 hours our car was moved several times, within the car park but not into a space??

The interior of the hotel has been beautifully refurbished.
The spa is small but lovely, again beautifully done.

My big criticism is the restaurant and the food that was served. Simply not good enough.
Mussels which had to be sent back as only 4 out of the bowl were open (starter size so only about 15 mussels in total).
Lobster thermidore which was inedible (tough and not thermidore) and undercooked chips. (which we weren't charged for)
Breakfast looked more promising but the last straw was a mouldy baked bean and seriously undercooked eggs.

This will be a lovely place to stay if what the restaurant serves dramatically improves.

When leaving, we found a tradesman's van blocking our way and him nowhere to be seen. Reception didn't want to know and made no attempt to help.It was left to a builder and my partner to push his vehicle out of the way (luckily he left the door open)

A lot to work on.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This refurbished hotel is now everything we hoped it would be. We sadly could only stay one night as I had to attend a training course all weekend. Our stay was Thursday 20th March during which the builders were starting to clear all their stuff from the car park - but we should look beyond temporary disruption. On arrival, a member of staff showed us around the hotel including the pool & spa, we then sat in the beautifully furnished lounge & were given complimentary drinks. The views of the Salcombe estuary from our room & balcony were fabulous. Our room was very comfortable & well equipped including complimentary decanters of gin & sherry & a tablet for access to free wi-fi. The service & food in the restaurant were superb, all staff in the hotel friendly & helpful. Hotels of this standard never come cheap but it's hard to see how anyone could be disappointed with their stay.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for estuary views & balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate the feedback. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A fantastic location well appointed bedroom and bathroom with wonderful views. Front of house staff helpful and cheerful but housekeeping staff do let the side down, waste paper bins not emptied, bathroom floor not swept, bath not properly cleaned, and although the beds I'm sure are comfy as singles, but as a double the ridge and furrow between the mattresses was uncomfortable, it wasn't until we were leaving I discovered they should have been zipped together. I realise there is a lot of building work going on but the windows could have done with a clean both inside and out. As for the restaurant the breakfast choice was good but the quality of the bacon and sausage was very disappointing. We had dinner in the restaurant, the starters were delicious but the main course we felt were not of the standard we would have expected especially having read other reviews. If you are staying and want a particular table in the restaurant or treatments in the Spa I suggest you book ahead as I was unable to chose a table or have a spa treatment. Overall we had a good weekend but just a little disappointed as we didn't feel it was value for money, with a little thought and effort the hotel could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Top floor with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JM1057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we very much welcome all feedback and I am so sorry that your experience was not what you had expected. I have discussed your feedback at great length with the Head Housekeeper and Restaurant team and we have addressed the issues you have raised, although you should not have needed to raise them. We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future in order to see the improvements made first-hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I can understand the great reviews below. The location and views are superb and the money spent is clear to see.
The valet parking is essential as the car park by the hotel is tight. It was a pity we had the share the ambiance with the crew installing the turntable to enable your car to turn around in front of the hotel!!
Room quirky - can get locked in the shower and cistern didn't cut off but more a giggle than an inconvenience.
The staff are generally brilliant, pleasant, helpful and well trained.
The restaurant is the weak link.
We eventually get served at the bar when the staff have finished flirting with each other. Not a great start but when only two of the four main courses arrive, a 5 minute wait, the look of panic on a passing waitresses face, a sprint to the kitchen and then profuse apologies from the waitress (not her fault!) - you realise this is not the quality of service you expect. Eventually the four meals arrive together (two re cooked) but the old adage - "you only get one chance to make a first impression" has kicked in.
That said it was beautifully cooked!!
No management intervention - we obviously looked too grumpy to go near.....but an apology would have helped
We just gave up waiting for our sweet order to be taken - we sensed a reluctance to be involved with the unfolding disaster. You would have expected some effort to get it right??
We were offered a discount which helped a little but did not make up for what we were hoping would be a special evening - so disappointing.
They were not busy, they had the staff who were generally working hard - how can it go so wrong.
We heard other profuse apologies around us - it was scant consolation it was not just us???
Spa looks brilliant - will be tried out tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickDWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am so sorry that your experience was far from acceptable, I am particularly disappointed that no-one came across from a senior capacity to address the issues you encountered. We have recently had a change in terms of the Management in our Food and Beverage department in order to address these issues going forwards. I sincerely hope that you will visit the hotel again in the future in order to see first-hand the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited on the 17th and 18th March to de-stress and unwind and that's exactly what we did. Arriving at 11.00 am we got one of the last parking spaces before work started in earnest on a revolving turntable for cars! This was right outside the front door of the hotel and was somewhat noisy but it is meant to be completed by the end of this week so this shouldn't effect anyone who stays later in the year. There are probably only about 10-15 parking spaces so for a 50 bed hotel, I assume they have plans to park people elsewhere but Salcombe is limited in that respect.
Once inside the hotel, it is idyllic. It has only recently opened after a huge re-vamp and everything is new and lovely. Our room was on the top floor with a balcony looking out onto the estuary, absolutely gorgeous. We were lucky with the weather (in March would you believe) and were able to sleep with the balcony doors open and be woken by the seagulls!
We had a lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant (called The Jetty) and were treated to beautifully cooked food but my particular favourite was the rare beef salad that was a starter. The beef was the 'melt in your mouth' kind! The only disappointment was the full English breakfast with an egg, two rashers of bacon, a sausage (quite processed) half a spoon of beans, half a tomato and half a mushroom. Not a whole tomato or a whole mushroom and no black pudding - but plenty of toast, coffee etc.
The staff at the hotel are young, enthusiastic and try to make everything perfect for every guest and on the whole they achieve this, particularly Emma and Jodie who work in the spa and gave the most relaxing and tension relieving 'hot stone' back and shoulder massage and Indian head massage. I would certainly like to return again but probably 'out of season' when the holiday-makers have gone as Salcombe is a lovely 'up-market' coastal town but with 80% of the properties being holiday homes, be prepared for crowds in peak season!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; we have addressed the issues with breakfast and I thank you for mentioning them. The car turntable is indeed all in and operational now, certainly a feature as you arrive at the hotel. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmouth, devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I honestly cant gush enough bout this hotel and service that we received from the minute we stepped foot in to the lobby, literally nothing was too much trouble, including not even being allowed to carry my luggage to the hotel from the car! Our room wasn't ready as we were early luggage was taken and was awaiting our arrival when we were able to check in, upon the luggage being taken from the car we were taken in to the restaurant to have a welcome glass of fizz on the sun terrace.
the check in was flawless when we arrived back to the hotel after a look around we were taken to the room shown how to use the lights as they are not your normal light switches!!
the room was stunning, view to die for (although we were spoiled with usually good weather for first week in march!) and the binoculars are a lovely touch. as was the complimentary sherry and gin!!
after a visit to the spa there was a knock on the door and as a birthday treat the staff had bought me more fizz and some gorgeous little cakes, really made my day to be this thoughtful.
The cocktails in the bar were extensive and was told if I couldn't find anything I fancied the cocktail bar would make something up specially for my taste!.
the food in the jetty was some of the best I have ever eaten, I have never not wanted to finish my dinner and mouthfuls of the Fillet beef were getting smaller to make it last longer!
cocktails were recommended with every course which I found very helpful and a lot of thought had gone in to this.
The waiters were attentive, topping up wine before glass was empty and seemed very concerned about you having the best experience that they could provide.
the continental breakfast was displayed well and had a good choice of croissants etc, the full English was lovely, only down side was that the milk for coffee and butter were forgotten and we had to ask twice, but that is only fault I can really say we experienced, otherwise was a lovely relaxed breakfast, with you not being rushed out which I have experienced at hotels before.
I am looking forward to visiting again, truly stunning place with exceptional service, it was such a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryjuicylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us; we very much hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
755 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
829 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
17.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing