We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we reviewed it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I often promise each other that we'll make our Trip Advisor debut, after having stayed in some pretty awful and pretty amazing places over the years.

Our recent visit to this wonderful hotel has finally compelled us to make good on our promise.

The arrival was flawless as we were greeted by the lovely Jo (best smile in the business). She quickly and effortlessly glided into action, deposited us into the beautiful lounge area, made our dinner reservations and had glasses of fizz in our hands within the first 10 minutes. We could go on about how special this exceptional front of house made us feel but must also credit her incredible team who share the same infectious warmth and enthusiasm.

Our room was stunning, the views out of this world and the attention to detail as good, if not better as any we've seen. We'd not visited Salcombe before and were amazed at the colour of the estuary and the unspoilt beauty of neighbouring beaches.

The spa is a little haven with a perfect pool and private loungers to relax in after a dip. We found ourselves nodding off and were only able to drag ourselves away by my wife's insistence that we shouldn't miss gin o'clock!

Our experience of the restaurant was a good one and the food was very tasty (try the beef!). There was no rush to get you in and out, which we felt suited the hotel's stylish but informal approach. Service at times was a little slow and some of the staff not as confident as they could be however this didn't detract from the feeling that at all times, you were their priority. With a little more guidance and direction, this place will be where it very clearly wants to be.

We absolutely loved it and can't wait to return - thank you to all of the Salcombe Harbour Crew and to the wonderful Jo for everything she did to make this stay a very special one.

Room Tip: The estuary view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend. We were hoping for a luxurious stay. But have to say that this was a rather average Spa Hotel that is trying to be something that it is clearly not. We were told that the Hotel was full during our stay. The staff were very polite and tried their best. But the Staff to guest ratio is clearly not good enough when full, as we did not feel that we were getting the special treatment that many other reviewers have received when the hotel was not full.

We had a room on the 3rd floor with an estuary view. The room was small with two small doors that led out to a flooded balcony.

The restaurant was overpriced and the food was certainly not gourmet standard as we were led to expect. The 2nd night of our stay we went to a nearby restaurant called "dickandwills" which proved to be a much nicer experience.

The lighting system is a bit of a joke and the parking situation is not good, as you have to leave your keys at reception and told that your car will probably be moved at some point during your stay

Overall it was a nice stay but not not quite the luxury stay that we were hoping for

Room Tip: 3rd floor but not room 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was our first visit to Salcombe and we fell in love with the place straight away. We arrived at the hotel in the evening after a long drive and busy day at work. We received a very warm welcome and very much appreciated the complimentary fizz at the bar!
The view from our balcony was amazing and being fortunate with the weather, it was very relaxing it sit out there and watch the world go by.
We ate at the restaurant one evening and thought the food was lovely, breakfast was very tasty too! The spa was a nice way to spend the end of a day before enjoying our free gin back in the room!
Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazza20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for anniversary weekend. Found the staff excellent especially the porter who helped us park the cars (we were two couples). Car park I can see is a nightmare. Bedroom was small but great views. We were not impressed with the piece of wood lying on the roof outside our window, nor the drainpipe that leaked water from the upstairs balcony onto our balcony. Having to paddle through brown water to sit on the sunbed was not nice. Spa small and any noise carried although it was meant to be a quiet area this would have been impossible as it was like an echo chamber. Food was mostly good, we did eat here for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Big mix up when we left with bill as with previous reviewer still not sure we didn't pay too much. This hotel has a long way to go to prove it is worth what it charges. Standards don't meet London prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliveoil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We visited last autumn when it first opened after the re-build, just a single night and it was pretty good - unfinished,eg no pool, no spa, no car-park, no proper reception facility - but the rooms and restaurant were fine. So we gave it a second visit over last weekend (22/23 March). Still not quite finished and one major after-thought being retro-fitted - a turntable at the bottom of the very steep entrance drive. Again the rooms were impressive with wonderful views, housekeeping not perfect but tidy on arrival, turn-down/towel change service should be standard but isn't. The spa and the pool were first class, and that represented a major improvement since last autumn.
But the restaurant service was hopeless, obviously a glitch in the kitchen because all around us people were waiting for their next course, whilst up to three staff at a time stood at the till transferring data from their order pads to the computer billing system. When the food came it was "mixed" some good, some pretty poor, and all late. There appeared to be no-one in overall charge, and very little communication between staff and customer just a speedy delivery once your plate was ready. We were shown to our table at around 8.45, two tables closest to us had not been cleared and were not cleared until we asked them to do so at almost 10.00pm.
Breakfast was better in terms of service though little was done without prompting, the fresh fruit bowls were only re-filled when requested, china and cutlery only replaced when asked. The whole team need to undergo some training - ideally in Italy where they understand what service means. Inevitably the bill was incorrect, I think it might still be, I was past caring. No offer to help with luggage, no offer to bring my car down. So we packed up and left avoiding the numerous builders working on the ramp.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were spoilt & pampered, nothing was to much trouble, especially from Craig and Harry they made us feel so welcomed and Craig took the trouble to take us around the hotel as we haven’t been since the refurbishment. What a difference a lovely nautical theme thru out, for best views I would recommend top floor, we stayed in room 504 great big baloney to have your G &T on! The food was lovely & no complaints with the service as previous reviews suggested; if something isn’t right then speak up & get it sorted straight away is my motto in life. If you want more breakfast ask for it as we did, I rarely have problems with hotels & staff as I know what I like and I ask for it, I’m polite to the staff which in turn they always go that extra mile for you, Just ask for Craig who knows his stuff! This is the best hotel in the area for gorgeous estuary views, just go for it!

Room Tip: room 504 or any room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We arrived to find no parking spaces and had to leave our keys with reception, not a good start. Over the next 24 hours our car was moved several times, within the car park but not into a space??

The interior of the hotel has been beautifully refurbished.
The spa is small but lovely, again beautifully done.

My big criticism is the restaurant and the food that was served. Simply not good enough.
Mussels which had to be sent back as only 4 out of the bowl were open (starter size so only about 15 mussels in total).
Lobster thermidore which was inedible (tough and not thermidore) and undercooked chips. (which we weren't charged for)
Breakfast looked more promising but the last straw was a mouldy baked bean and seriously undercooked eggs.

This will be a lovely place to stay if what the restaurant serves dramatically improves.

When leaving, we found a tradesman's van blocking our way and him nowhere to be seen. Reception didn't want to know and made no attempt to help.It was left to a builder and my partner to push his vehicle out of the way (luckily he left the door open)

A lot to work on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
904 reviews
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
823 reviews
17.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
719 reviews
12 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £146 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing