We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked a mid-week two night stay, at short notice, to celebrate our 32nd Wedding Anniversary at the beginning of July. Initially we booked an inland room, however, upon reading more reviews, we decided to phone and upgrade to an estuary view, which was in the region of £20 more. Karen in Reservations, couldn't have been more helpful, she gave us a complimenhtary upgrade to a room with full estuary view, especially as their rates had been slightly reduced in the couple of days since we'd booked. On arrival we were able to park with no problem and there our car stayed for the duration of our visit. The staff in Reception were very welcoming, Chloe, receptionist and, I believe, Jo - Guest Service Manager, we were shown the bar and restaurant where breakfast would be served and then to our lovely room. We were in room 502, on the third floor at the far right-hand corner of the building. Rooms are nicely decorated in a nautical style, very comfortable bed, good quality bedding and furnishings. There is a "balcony basket" containing books, blankets to keep the chill of the evening at bay, slippers and a pair of binoculars which meant we could watch the many fishing boats and yachts coming in and out of the estuary and admire the wonderful scenery, the view from our balcony was to die for! Also in the room are two decanters, one containing sherry and the other gin and each evening at around 6.30 there was a tap at the door from a young lady offering ice and a slice - very civilised! Can't think of a nicer way to start the evening than sitting on the balcony sipping a G & T watching the boating world go by - idyllic! There was also a very well stocked mini-bar including spitits, beers and wines, a good selection of teas and coffees, biscuits and snacks. The bathroom was very modern, but with a shower, no bath, in 502, however the shower has both a fixed, deluge, and flexible shower head, with plentiful hot water and one thing which is often lacking in many hotels, lovely large fluffy white towels to envelop youself in, not to mention equally fluffy, snuggly, white robes. Breakfast in the Jetty restaurant was very good, lots of choice, huge variety of juices, croissants, pain-au-chocolat etc., great coffee excellent service. We booked dinner there for our anniversary and were not disappointed, again excellent service from Matt, a very pleasant South African man, who brought us each a glass of champagne, with the compliments of the hotel followed by a bottle of bubbly from our children who had phoned earlier that day to arrange for it to be brought to our dinner table. Twice baked cheese soufflé was delicious, cod and crab main also wonderful and the mash served with the cod tasted just like it used to, buttery and creamy - haven't tasted mashed potatoes that good for a long time! To finish we both chose the lemon meringue desert, lovely chewy and crunchy meringue, sharp tangy lemon sorbet, cream and limoncello drizzled through it all, divine combination. We would highly recommend a stay here, lovely hotel, terrific views, excellent service from friendly staff, terrific food, luxurious spa facilities - pool, jacuzzi, sauna etc. A huge thanks to all of the staff we encountered, especially Chloe, Jo, Helen (Front Office Manager) and Matt who all made our stay all the more enjoyable. As far as we're concerned #1 in the area.

Room Tip: Definately a room with full estuary view, it is more than worth the extra few pounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liketotravelMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is our first visit to the new Hotel. We in fact were not staying but went for dinner. The food was excellent and we enjoyed Mussels,Lobster and Duck. All were beautifully presented and the service was cheerful, efficient and friendly. A good way to spend a pleasant Summer evening. We shall be there again.

James fox

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just returned from a five day stay which was booked at the last minute. Our first impression upon arrival was Wow! The appearance of reception was great and the receptionist escorted us to our room to explain the facilities and the technology, which took us two days to grasp. The view from the third floor was everything we had hoped for although the flat roofs of the apartments below do take some of the effect away and may be more intrusive on the lower floors.
Our big disappointment was the quality of service in the dining room, particularly at breakfast. The supervisory staff at breakfast seemed to do anything but supervise. The more junior staff, who all seemed to be from abroad, worked very hard but without clear direction, both in the dining room and the kitchen, they were never going to succeed. Service was slow, people's orders were forgotten and the hot dishes, when they finally arrived, were poorly presented and not what one would expect from a hotel of this calibre. We have had much better breakfasts at Premier Inn!
We only had dinner on two nights and, whilst we enjoyed reasonable service and good quality food for the price, we were aware of others around us who had to wait a long time to be served.
In a foody resort such as Salcombe the Jetty is going to have to raise its standards. If this hotel wishes to use Alex Aitken's reputation to help sell the quality of its restaurant then perhaps he needs to take a closer interest in how it is run on a day to day basis.

Room Tip: Ensure that you have a good sea view from whichever room you select.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OnionsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visit Salcombe at least 4 times a year( for the last 30 yrs and have stayed mostly everywhere )but have not chosen to stay here as on going to have a look about and coffee.....it feels Sooo out of place for salcombe....far to Chelsea for South Hams !! We had coffee outside and the levels seem all wrong..ie views into accommodation etc......feels far to grand for the normal salcombe attire....flip flops and shorts !! Whereas the South Sounds has it just right.......however I notice The Harbour now have chalk board outside saying 'very muddy paws and wellie boots welcome'.....really ???? You just couldn't !!! These maybe unfair comments as have not actually stayed....but for me it's just not what Salcombe is all about .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank hardtopleasesomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pretty disappointed,we have at stayed at the christchurch and believe that it is much better in terms of soul and service.
Over priced hotel rooms, noisey and hot, service in the restaurant wasn't good.
Wouldn't go back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

As non residents we arrived early for dinner, we thought it would be nice to enjoy a relaxing cocktail in the lounge prior to eating. We announced our arrival to the restaurant manager and we were shown to a lounge table with a promise of service. A wait of 20 minutes for a drink on an evening where we were the only people in the lounge was a surprise but nothing compared to the surprising lack of service they arrived with. I can only assume the waiter had experienced a day from hell and we had unwittingly picked the most difficult two cocktails on his menu as this might explain the look of distain as he slammed them down with.

We were then handed menus and left. Well and truly left. For 55 minutes. No offer of more drinks. No apologies that our table was still being prepared, although one of the many tables which were empty in the restaurant would have been nice. I do not think I should need to remind those in the restaurant or bar of my desire to be served or seated, on time or late as I am pretty sure, service is included on the bill.

Well after an hour we decided to cut our losses and leave. The receptionist was shocked as we asked to pay for our drinks and cancel our booking but not shocked enough to say that I was the first to have experienced such poor service. We walked down the hill to Dick & Wills who, despite being virtually full, found us a table, and proceeded to make us feel valued and that they wanted our custom. We were waited on by friendly staff and the food, as perfect as ever. Might I say to anyone considering booking at the Jetty restaurant, do not! Reconsider. Go elsewhere. If you value service, head elsewhere. Anywhere. The Jetty is great if you want soulless empty surroundings and a long long wait.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
14  Thank SupermanRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and our 2 year old recently stayed here for 5 nights and had a most pleasant stay. The rooms are absolutely superb with fantastic views and very child friendly. The staff are also some of the best I have come across and can't do enough for you. They make you feel extremely welcome. In fact we had such a great time we didn't want to leave!

Apart from having great rooms, the restaurant, lounge areas and bar is very nice indeed. Quality food is served as you would expect, with a 5 star service to match from all the staff. This is a special place to stay and by far the best in Salcombe. My wife and I also used the spa which was very relaxing and sampled some of the treatments which was again of a very high standard.

Overall I can't rate this place high enough so if you're planning on a trip to Salcombe then you should definitely give it a try as you will not be disappointed.

The manager Jason runs a great place here and his professional and friendly team from the girls on reception to the bar staff are just fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spongeyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
895 reviews
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
819 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
685 reviews
17.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
12 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: £127 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing