We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, view and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, view and location!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is expensive - but I guess as the saying goes "you get what you pay for!" Plush inside and out. Our room was light, airy, and very comfortable with beautiful views of the estuary. Wi-fi was a bit hit and miss but little touches, like balcony blanket, binoculars, espresso machine, complimentary sherry and gin in the room and evening delivery of "ice and slice", all add to make for a very special stay.

The food was good, although a shame that the menu/specials didn't change over the 4 nights that we were there. Most staff were helpful and attentive, except two younger ones in the restaurant/bar who we felt let the rest of an otherwise great team down. Housekeeping in particular were great and nothing was too much trouble for them.

We both booked a 55 minute spa treatment which was very pleasant. One thing to point out though, that by the time we were called in 10 minutes late, then consultation time and then relaxation time, the actual treatment was in fact just 35 mins!

So, overall a fantastic break in a beautiful hotel, in a prime location. We hope to visit again next, year, so I'd better start saving!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagazer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    257
    128
    43
    17
See reviews for
156
682
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having booked our trip last minute we were bound to pay more for the last room in the hotel but apart from the pricey room ,everything about this hotel smacks of quality and relaxed sophistication. The room , although on the small side had gorgeous views over the estuary and the bed was very comfortable which is a big plus for us.This hotel has a very family friendly feel , couldnt fault the staff and its location is superb .Breakfasts are great and we had an evening dinner in the Jetty restaurant , which was also a bit pricey but good. I would definately come back again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Husband and I have just returned from 4 nights at this hotel. We would highly recommend it and hope to stay again next year. We had an Estuary View Room- on the 1st floor so maybe not the best view, but very comfortable (where do they get their mattresses from?) and we had everything you could want for a perfect stay. We ate in the hotel restaurant the 1st night- it was OK, but we preferred the dinners we had in some of the local restaurants. Menu was slightly limited to be honest. Breakfast was nice- although service was slightly slow one morning. Staff very pleasant and helpful. The Spa is lovely- very relaxing and clean. My only gripe would be that although iced water is provided free the staff don't keep an eye on when it runs out and a couple of times I had to leave the spa- in my swimsuit- and go and ask for more water. A small detail but as the whole area got very hot I think it is vital that there is always water available. I have given the hotel 4 stars- I would rate it higher (4.5) and have highlighted the small things that prevented me giving it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for an Estuary view- you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weaselmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Taken here for an overnight stay to celebrate our anniversary by my husband. Beautiful location right on the estuary. Felt like a star with the valet parking and attentive staff. Lovely meal in the restaurant and all round classy hotel. It is pricey but you get what you pay for, beautiful rooms, little touches like a blanket and binoculars to use on the balcony, sherry and gin in the room complimentary. Nespresso coffee machine, just little extra touches. Lovely spa area and pool. Would love to return May need to save a bit or have another excuse to be spoiled

Room Tip: Try to get a little higher than the first floor as a roof interrupts the view a little if on the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel a number of times over the years….the location is fantastic. The refurbishment is amazing…. in fact everything about my recent stay was brilliant. The service was impeccable, the staff were always prepared to go the 'extra mile'. Our meal in the restaurant on Regatta Week Firework Night was delicious and what a view. I can't fault it. Definitely coming back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The Harbour. Hotel,what can I say. I visited many years ago when it was the tired,out of date Marine Hotel.
To say I'm astonished at the work which has been undertake,would be an understatement!!! Although only popping in to meet with friends,I sampled the extensive cocktail list along with the mouth watering nibbles.We were served by April,who left us in no doubt, that she was there to attend to our every need.Professional,courteous with a speed and efficiency rarely encountered these days,April was fantastic.
What would I recommend,Mojitos' without a moments hesitation.If you are ever lucky enough to be in Salcombe,please visit The Harbour Hotel,it is well worth the experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasonj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at the refurbished Salcombe Harbour Hotel as we spend time with family in Salcombe and would have continued to stay at the South Sands Hotel but for losing so much time using taxis and the Ferry for access to Salcombe particularly when ferrying beach chairs and life belts etc.

Top marks to the Concierge and Reception outstandingly helpful throughout our stay. The Hotel has been thoughtfully refurbished and we stayed in one of two main suites which were perfectly satisfactory with excellent views from the balcony but possibly a little less than you would expect for just short of £600 a night.

The Hotel is so convenient to the town that we were able to make so much more from our days and so Salcombe Harbour will be our future choice but South Sands gets the prize.

The one disappointment was the dining where our party of eight enjoyed excellent food but not the service to match. It didn't spoil the evening but we fleetingly saw who I assume was the Restaurant Manager and I think he may have reappeared with an apology after delays and three or four apologies for forgotten orders and for one of our guests main course failing to appear. The problems were compounded at breakfast each morning with oversights and delays with only the busy Manageress apparently able to take orders. The problem was the system rather than for want of trying.

If the Restaurant operated as efficiently as the Reception then it would be a Five Star Rating. My suggestion would be to put the Head Receptionist in charge of the Restaurant as she understands and excels in customer service. I gather from talking to locals that our experience in the Restaurant was no surprise.

Room Tip: An estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamW548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
12.0 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
11.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing