We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Brightham House(Malborough)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Inn(Malborough)
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Oak(Malborough)
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$430
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
US$340
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
48
26
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
26
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshobbit housethe pubstayed in the twin roomraise moneyen suite showerthe sticky toffee puddinglow doormasha stones throwvisiting salcombea great staynice roombed was very comfortablegood nights sleepgood sizethree nightsliz
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We arrived just before Midday and we were able to park up in the car park opposite and to hopefully check in. We were welcomed by Robin, one of the managers there and I can't praise Robin enough. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, he made our stay here the warmest stay of any place we've stayed. He made time to get to know us and on first name terms and was always happy to have a conversation.
So Robin helped us check in and showed us to our room. We stayed in the same room as last year and yes it has been recently decorated and it was lovely. Hubby and I both felt the food was much better this year and enjoyed several meals both lunch and dinner and the service from all the staff throughout our stay was excellent.
Couple of tips if your here for a few days. There is no long term parking right in town. However, there are a couple of car parks that is approx a 10 minute walk away. Also, The Victoria Inn doesn't offer breakfast, but your not too far away from places that do.
All in all we had a absolutely fabulous stay, we'll be back very soon!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bunny15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Dear Bunny15

I can't tell you what a joy it is to receive a Trip Advisor review such as this when we're in the middle of the Summer Season and all of us are starting to feel the pace. Receiving a review like this lifts everyone and I'm particularly pleased that Robin - who has some of the best customer service skills I've ever witnessed (and memory!) looked after you so well and made you feel so valued. Because we like to hope that all of our guests whether staying, enjoying a 3 course meal or simply a pint of real ale know how much we are pleased that they choose to spend their hard earned cash and their well deserved leisure time with us. That they also enjoy the thought that went into the look of the rooms and the available facilities, the fresh local produce and that all the customer training pays off and you walk away feeling as happy as you clearly did.

We look forward to welcoming for many years to come yet,

Very best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 3 years ago and it was just as good this year, we had other family members so had both rooms. Both nicely appointed with good extra touches and we had a comfortable sleep although the others in the twin room found the beds a bit too soft!
It's such a quaint place to stay and so convenient. On arrival Robin was fantastically welcoming and the staff work tirelessly and are faultless as far as we could see.
Don't think we'd look anywhere else for a 2 night stay in Salcombe. The one downside....... the seagulls who wake very early and let you know they're up by their constant squawking but it is the seaside after all!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2016

Dear FionaH

Delighted you had another great stay with us and that you felt so well looked after.

We can work with most things but the seagulls are beyond even my remit - but it's nice to see that you took the attitude you did with them.

We hope you won't leave it another 3 years to come back to us,

Very best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

No advance booking.....very good "meet and greet" by Robin, helpful explanation of offering and options. Room in rear garden area of good standard, well decorated with good bathroom. Inn offers very good menus for lunch and dinner, all staff very friendly and helpful without seeming obsequious. We thoroughly enjoyed aĺl our meals. No breakfast but options nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leem1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2016

Dear leem1948

A pleasure to have had you stay with us and I'm delighted we were able to make your stay a great one - both with our food and our very friendly team!

We hope you'll visit again one day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Myself and a friend stayed in the twin room and we were delighted, the room was perfect in every way with very comfortable beds! All the staff were very professional and friendly and helped carry our bags to the room.. We came back very late but had access through the side of the pub to our room. We will be back and we highly recommend a say in the Hobbit House.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Dear NicolaW

I'm delighted you and your friend had a good time on your one visit to our newly refurbished Hobbit House. The new beds were chosen from a local firm especially with the promise of comfort - so I'm glad they delivered just that.

We hope that you will come back again and thank you so much for recommending us - no better recommendation than by satisfied guests.

Very best wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, licensees and all the team at the Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in their Hobbit House to the rear of The Victoria Inn in Salcombe, a good-priced couple of room-only double rooms with private bathrooms which were very clean and well furnished.There was one problem with the rooms though, being that if you were over 5 feet tall you ran the risk of decapitation on entering the rooms with the low brick ceiling at the entrance to the porch from the metal stairway, deep concentration is needed on entering, and I failed miserably and painfully twice during our visit. We did wonder how the inadequately lit at night stairway and low headroom passed any health and safety checks, even the usual yellow and black chevron tape across the brickwork would have helped.
Apart from that, the staff in the bar were good, were busy all the time because they served really good food and worked hard to keep up their excellent reputation. Obviously, providing breakfast would have improved our stay, but as stated by others there are excellent breakfast cafes close by, and sufficient coffee and tea making facilities were available in the rooms.

1  Thank sandraChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear sandraChristchurch

I'm delighted you had a good time with us and in Salcombe generally, and I hope you will come back again soon.

The very reason we call the rooms The Hobbit House is indeed because of it's small door entry, and as we tell people (more than once) having a couple of drinks doesn't make you smaller - it just doesn't hurt so much! But I can assure you that our whole building is checked regularly to ensure we meet all H & S and fire standards.

But it is an ideal spot isn't ot? Right in the middle of town - no pesky Salcombe hill to climb, right by the water and the shops and of course the Vic is just a few yards away!
Very best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews