We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victoria Inn -Salcombe”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Dorset
2 reviews
“Victoria Inn -Salcombe”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

There are many fine places to eat in and around Salcombe but without a doubt The Vic is our favourite. Whenever we are staying in Salcombe it is always the place we head to when we need fabulous food at reasonable prices. The atmosphere is friendly and the staff consistently happy and helpful - also it is good to see Liz and Tim helping out with serving and clearing tables, they are hands on all the way. Of the very many times we have eaten there, not once have we been disappointed..............well only the few times that we have not been able to manage their magnificent deserts!! Our dogs are always made welcome with little treats offered to them, too. I always recommend friends who are visiting the area and am delighted that every single one has reported back favourably. Keep up the good work Liz and Tim - you are very much appreciated and I can't wait til September for more of the same........

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear JaneW
Its always so lovely to get reviews such as this - especially when they recognise the hard work ourselves and our team put into running our fantastic Victoria Inn.
We're delighted that you enjoy your visits to us, and also that you have so kindly recommended us to your friends. We can't wait to welcome you (and your four legged friends!) again in September,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    366
    80
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good pub food in characterful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

If you want a well cooked meal at a reasonable price with friendly service, this is the place. It was busy the night we went, and I suspect is always busy, but we didn't have to wait too long for our food. I understand now why this pub scores so highly on TripAdvisor, and will definitely go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear TMCGavin
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us here at the Victoria Inn, and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you'll come back again soon,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Good food, better banter”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This pub is filled with a seaside local atmosphere, the food was surprisingly good, fantastic even and the servers were friendly, cheerful and laughing the whole night through.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmcgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear AndrewB
How kind of you to take the time to write your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. We hope you'll come back soon,
Warmest wishes,
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good pub resto”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a nice old pub a few steps from the waters edge in the heart of salcombe.eight of us went there for dinner on 27th June,having been impressed by trip advisor reviews and a lunchtime reconnaissance by some of our number.

We were not disappointed.excellent haddock and chips,sweet and sour cod in batter with rice,and much praised fillet steak.there is a good selection of real ales.the puddings were all good amongst which the sticky toffee puddings was perhaps the stand out.

There is a nice ambiance and the staff are attentive and helpful.

There was one slightly bizarre moment when one of our number asked for ice cream and was told she could only have a particular selection because,as I understood it,the chef wanted to use them up evenly.goodness knows what all that was about but after a bit of a protest whoever it was relented and the chosen ice cream was duly produced.however this did no worse than cause us some amusement and neither detracted from our evening nor from our view of what is clearly a very nice pub resto run by people who care about what they do.

This pub resto deserves its reputation and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrbunnywunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Dear Mrbunnywunny (!)
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it. I'm glad we delivered on service and food and that you enjoyed your meal with us.
The Ice-cream is meant to be served as it's sold - as a trio - but it generally shouldn't be too difficult to separate the flavours!!! But I'm glad it caused amusement and not offence. We will look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Central location with a better beer selection”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Centrally located with nice pub atmosphere with great garden for the kids.
Better beer selection than other pubs in town,
Can cook some good pub food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear JohnE
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to us, and hope that we will see you again on another occasion.
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing