We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere and Food to match!”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Victoria Inn is a great little pub in the centre of Salcombe. My girlfriend and I found ourselves wandering around Salcombe in the cold and decided a pint and a pub lunch would be perfect.

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly landlady who was a great character! We were taken to our table and both chose the Venison. The food was absolutely incredible and brilliantly presented. The prices were what you would expect for a restaurant in such prime positioning but the food was definitely worth it!

The food was a credit to the establishment and the owner's friendly character definitely added to the traditional pub!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tevans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Tevans21

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I remember you well as you were indeed the first people to taste the Venison that day! I was so pleased you enjoyed the dish and I was very proud of the way it looked when served. Our team of Chefs are very good at what they do, and we constantly look at serving different things to what you get in many standard pubs.

We very much hope you'll come back again another day.

Warmest wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,455 - 1,459 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Dropped in for lunch and drinks on a Saturday afternoon. Great food and very friendly service make this Old English pub a must if visiting Salcombe. Some aspects of the interior are looking tired but there is a fantastic looking renovation planned for January '14 which will no doubt solidify this pub's reputation as the best in Salcombe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear MarkS

Thank you very much for taking time out to review our lovely pub and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. We agree with you that 'Victoria' is looking a bit tired in places, but agree with you that this January refurbishment will certainly put a shining smile back on her face!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back here on another occasion,

Warmest wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Victoria is located on Fore Street at the heart of things in Salcombe. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Although busy on Saturday lunchtime we found a table for two. Food menu was varied and interesting. We shared the seafood platter of crab, smoked salmon and very small crayfish tails which came with warm olive bread and salad. All good and prices pretty fair. A refurb is planned which will give an expanded area of seating upstairs. Plans were on show which was a nice idea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear NigelK

Thank you so much for your review and we are naturally delighted that you enjoyed your visit to us. Thank you also for taking the time to look at our exciting refurbishment plans - we are very excited about this next chapter of our life here.

We look forward to welcoming you back another day,

Warmest wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The Victoria has long been the best pub I have been to anywhere, but I always felt the food to be mediocre. However on the last two visits, both on Sunday lunchtimes, the food and service has been excellent. Long may Tim & Liz stay at the helm as it continues to go from strength to strength. I am sure the Jan 2014 refurb will improve the place even further.

Thank JamieSarahElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear JamieSarahElisbeth

Thank you so much for your review and also for acknowledging the hard work we have put into improving our menu and food, particularly our Sunday roast - with the joints of meat coming fresh out of the oven and onto the plate - something very few establishments do these days! We are very much looking forward to the re-furb in January and the opportunity it will give us to make our customers visits even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My boyfriend and I had Sunday Lunch which was huge, all fresh and very tasty, the crab soup to start was to die for. The staff we friendly and the landlady seemed very welcoming.

It is a really great pub and when we visit Salcombe next we planned to stay in thier accomodation as it will hopefully give a chance to work through the rest of their fantastic menu!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Joerad

Thank you for your review and we are of course really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. It's always lovely to get our Welsh visitors and so many have become firm friends & frequent visitors to our pub - we hope you will too!

Best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing