We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Kingsbridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

A group of friends travelled from Frogmore by boat to have supper here. Food was excellent, service very friendly and efficient and they coped with 2 extra people onto our already large party in their full pub without batting an eye! Well done.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear PatriciaG

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted that not only were we able to accommodate your 2 extra guests, but that you had such a nice time with us!

We very much hope you will come and visit us again soon,

Warmest wishes,

Liz & Tim Hore and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    391
    87
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I live in London, and went down to Devon for a long weekend. We met up with friends in Salcombe, who took us to this pub/restaurant for Sunday lunch. My wife and I had roast lamb, and our friends a seafood platter (wife) and hamburger with chips and salad (husband). With drinks + tip the price was £30 per couple. We all enjoyed our food, and agreed that it was very good value. The restaurant area upstairs where we sat was very nice, and our table had a lovely view looking over Salcombe Bay. The service was fine

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john-bugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear John-bugler

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us! Thank you for highlighting the excellent VFM that we think we offer as well.

We do hope you'll be able to escape the stress of London life and come down again soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore - Licensees, and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant afternoon family pub”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I can only rate this pub as an afternoon venue as we went there several times during our holiday, with our friends and lots and lots of children at the end of the day but before the evening fun! And it was brilliant. Food is fresh and varied so we could give our young children tea there, in the brilliant & spacious garden which has a perfect little play area, whilst we enjoyed a good bottle of wine / great ales, in the sunshine. Perfect end of day / post beach venue to entertain everyone before going home to get the children to bed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShortTermTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Shorttermtraveller

Here at the Victoria Inn we are delighted that we were able to make your holiday that bit more special and that our children's meals in particular were enjoyed and at a suitable time for you and your family. All of our food is prepared as freshly as possible and the children's meals are no exception - the new and improved Tomato sauce for the pasta was even taste tested by a little ones!

We hope you'll come back again very soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore - Licensees, and all the Victoria Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Last minute stop”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Crab sandwich for lunch with good quality ale (tribute) made us come back for dinner!!!! Dinner was more than a pub meal- crab bisque & scallops for starters were amazing....great value, great pub.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear SarahS

I don't think as reviews go - that we could possibly ask for better than you have written!!

It's a real delight to all of us that you enjoyed your lunchtime visit so much that you came to dine with us again in the evening! We hope that if you are down this way again, that you will make a return visit.

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore - Licensees, and all the Victoria Inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went there with friends who live in London, for lunch today. The food and service was excellent. We had a table upstairs by a window, and although the weather was not brilliant we were able to show Salcombe off to them. I can safely say that we all had a great dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolperring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Carolperring

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you and your friends had a great time with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again on another occasion,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore - and all the Victoria Inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing