We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Once again Tim and Liz and the Victoria surpass themselves. We had a wonderful meal. David had the steak and it was cooked to perfection, and what a slab of meat! My Duck was delicious. This really is an example of how a good local pub should be. The staff are great, so friendly and welcoming. We took advantage of booking the night in the Hobbit House too. What a lovely room, full of the little touches that make the Victoria special. Bottled water, tissues, small things but they really make a stay special (a proper hairdryer!). Breakfast isn't an option but that suits us fine because we don't do breakfast either. We only live 4 miles away in Hope Cove but would definately take advantage of the room again. All in all, very good value (especially for Salcombe). Thank you once again, you made my fiance's birthday treat really special.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sklitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Sklitch

How very kind of you to leave such a fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hobbit House, and also your Dinner.

We pride ourselves on doing things right and are so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    351
    79
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to treat ourselves to a meal before baby number 2 arrives. We were made to feel very welcome and husband happy with selection of beers. We were given the option of where to sit and we decided upstairs. We had a lovely view over the river and was lovely to watch the world go by. Only had room for a main meal. I had fish and can safely say every mouthful was really tasteful. Staff were friendly. Toilets clean. And appears to be child friendly, which is something we are always looking out for!!! It would appear everything had been thought off, with specs on the bar for those who had forgot theirs, water and blankets for dogs. All in all a proper friendly pub with great food!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear SarahD

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. The team and ourselves work extremely hard to ensure that every customer has a great time and enjoys their visit - whether its for a pint and a packet of crisps or a meal.

We hope you and family will visit again soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore Licensees, and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visit Salcombe every year and it is guaranteed we visit this pub. It has had a refurb since we last visited and it is tuly beautiful inside. We were a party of 9 + 2 little ones and sat down for lunch in the restaurant over the bank holiday weekend. The service was fantastic despite having a heaving beer garden and the food was delicious. We all had various things to eat (starters and mains) all of which were fantastic. For me, The Vic is my favourite pub in Salcombe. It does get very busy but it's so worth the visit, the bar can be very busy at times but they are always quick to get to you. They have lovely little touches, e.g blankets for outside when the sun is going down and just getting a bit chilly, dog treats available to occupy their time and dog blankets (will bring my aussie ollie down in the future)!! Although the two little ones we had with us are too small for the play area, they did enjoy watching the chickens. Whilst we sat down to our table the manager (Liz) came out to greet us and have a peak at the 5 week old baby in our party - all staff are very friendly and I cannot wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahA1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear SarahA1705

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are delighted that you had such a great time with us. We are very pleased that you view us as your favourite pub down here in Salcombe, and I'm pleased you like all the little touched we offer such as the blankets, toys and dog treats!

We look forward to you coming here again,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Destination for Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have eaten 3 times over the bank holiday weekend, including a fabulous Sunday Lunch.
The Victoria Inn has been refurbished since our previous visits & they now have an excellent upstairs dining area, light & airy.
Really good atmosphere, with friendly & attentive staff..
Excellent menu, with light bites, to your main courses, with sumptuous desserts...strawberry posset & sticky toffee pudding, with a nice dessert wine is a must....
Cracking find on the wine list... South African Sauvignon Blanc White 13.5% - Stennbok - a real treat at a value price... you wouldn't find any better...
All of the above & poochy welcoming environment.... Just Perfect for Us....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear AndyM35

Its always nice to see that our hard work and efforts go recognised by lovely customers such as yourself - thank you for such a great review and we are so pleased that you both had such a great time with us during your holidays here in Salcombe.

I'm glad you especially liked our new desserts, as well as the very drinkable Sauvignon!

We very much ;look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore - Licensees, and all the Victoria Inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and service ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We first ate here in 2010 and decided to come back during our week away this year. The food is still excellent, especially the homemade curry! We ate here twice in a week and booked on both occasions. It was busy both times but the service was always very good. The landlady even sat and had a chat with us and gave our dog a treat. Welcoming pub with a varied menu that looks like it is changed regularly. We look forward to returning again sometime soon.

Helpful?
Thank Clarkie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Clarkie2323

How lovely of you to take the time to sit and write your great review of our pub! We are delighted you had such a good time with us and we would love to welcome you back again on another occasion,

Warmest regards

Liz & Tim Hore - licensees, and all the Victoira Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing