We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Located in the centre of the High Street, the food here is fabulous. We came 2 yrs ago and enjoyed the Sunday lunch so returned. The upstairs has been revamped. There are even dog towels for drying your dog or for it to sit on. We have a friend who is coeliac and they couldn't have been more obliging. The sticky toffee pudding is sublime and all the fish fishes we tried were excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKBHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear JKBHerts

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we are incredibly pleased you enjoyed your visit to us once again. We are also very pleased that you liked our refurbishment so much and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the team at the Victoria Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    384
    85
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, friendly high class pub”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with friendly faces, then we chose our cosy table upstairs with beautiful views of the harbour.
We ordered some food & drinks at the bar- fabulous selection of wines & beers, and the food, wowee! Absolutely scrumptious! Could've spent all day in there! Impeccable service, perfect location too for a lovely romantic stroll after lunch (and some shopping too!)
Highly recommend! We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
Thank LadyRapunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear LadyRapunzel
Thank you so much for your great review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to our award winning pub. We work so hard to ensure very experience is a great one and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!
Warmest wishes
Liz & Tim Hore, licensees and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We've re-named it Saltcombe !!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On a day trip to Salcombe last Friday (30.5.14), we called into The Victoria for lunch. My husband ordered the leek and potato soup - he almost threw up after the first spoonful and asked me to taste it - it was absolutley pickled with salt, as if they had put a whole box of salt in the bowl. When my husband returned it, the waitress said that someone else had returned theirs, so they had better take it off the menu (shouldn't this have been done after the first complaint??) The charge was refunded. When I started to drink my tea, that too tasted awful - I smelt the milk jug and the smell was similar to sour yogurt - so the milk was obviously gone off. The pub was quite busy and we couldn't find another waitress to complain - so just left !! A very disappointing visit - nil point, I'm afraid - and we have re-named the town SALTcombe !!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear DeeS
Thank you for your review and I am so sorry you were served soup so unpleasant. We absolutely did have a problem with the soup that day, but we have no idea why I'm afraid. The moment we realised we had an issue it was taken off the menu and I can only assume that your order crossed within minutes of it being taken off.
This is in no way normal at our award winning pub, as I hope you can see by the other glowing reviews. I can only apologise again and ask that you conta me direly at the pub e mail so that I can find a way to make your next visit to us memorable for the right reasons,
Info@victoriainn-Salcombe.co.uk
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore, Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cosy pub”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We ate here on our first night in Salcombe. We had seafood starter which was huge and enough really as a main course,it was delicious. Main course was also very good. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We also ordered take away on another night and was very pleased with that also. I would recommend at least one visit during your holiday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peggysue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear peggysue75
Thank you for choosing to visit us during your holidays - we hope it won't be the last time we see you and thank you so much for recommending us!
Best wishes
Liz & Tim Hore, licensees and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great garden great food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Two visits here in the last week and both were very good.
A lunch in the lovely garden which is such a surprise to find in the centre of town. A lovely seafood platter for us and good kids meals too.
Two days later and early evening the pub was busy with many table so reserved but they fitted us in provided we had finished within an hour and a quarter. This shows the pub were confident they could serve main courses to a group of 8 in that time and they did it too! Thank you. Again good food was enjoyed by all.
Pub welcomes children and dogs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank animal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Animal 123
We are delighted you enjoyed your visits to us, even though one was with a short time span to dine. Not something we do too often if we can help it. However I'm glad it didn't lessen the experience for you.
We hope to see you again soon,
Warmest wishes
Liz & Tim Hoare, licensees and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing