We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub.”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Love this pub - nice menu, nice setting, lovely child friendly beer garden .
I visited on a busy Saturday and managed to get a table although I suspect on a weekend booking is advisable for larger parties.
Nice fish selection, and well cooked.
Good wine selection.
Very friendly service - can't fault it !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear VictoriaB

Thank you for your review - it's reviews like this that really motivate the team (and ourselves) so we're delighted you had a great visit. You are right to assume that you need to book to be sure of a table if you want to eat inside and have the choice of the full menu.

We really hope you'll visit again soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensee and all the Victoria Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,218 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were in Salcombe for a week and went to the Victoria twice for lunch and both times were very very good. The seafood platter was exceptional. I can't fault any part of it.

Thank BangkokN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear BangKokN8

Thank you for your delightful review and we are glad that we were able to make a couple of your lunchtimes visits to our great award winning pub so memorable - for all the right reasons!

Should you ever be in this area again, we very much hope you'll come back and say hello,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great service, great food, great staff, enough said :) Really good value for money. We will be going back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear StephenB

Thank you so much for your glowing words in this review. We have certainly worked our socks off in the 6 years we have had the Vic and constantly look to improve on our offering, so its really heartening to get reviews such as this.

We look forward to you coming back again very soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees & all the Victoria Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The staff always make us feel very welcome. The food is always freshly prepared and well presented. We gave not had a bad meal here and would heartily recommend this restaurant to anyone who is staying or visiting in Salcombe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear JennyR

There is nothing better on a Monday morning than receiving a review such as yours that puts a spring in our step and helps us face the challenges of another busy summer week.

It's so rewarding to know that we have given guests a great experience and as with you on many occasions!

We look forward very much to welcoming you back again on another occasion,

Very best wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We happened upon The Victoria a couple of Saturdays ago. It seemed that every restaurant in Salcombe was busy or closing at 9! Luckily the staff at The Voctoria were willing to squeeze us in and allow us to sample their warm hospitality and lovely food. We shared a seafood platter to start, it was piled high with fresh crab, crayfish tails and smoked salmon. The olive bread that accompanied and the dull mayo were gorgeous too. For mains we had duck and belly pork. Both were cooked to perfection and very generous portions. Throughout, the service was great. We will definitely repeat our chance encounter next time we are in Salcombe.

Thank Somerset1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Somerset1973

Well I'm glad we made your suprise discovery such a good one!! Its always nice isn't it when something gives you so much more than you expected (in a good way!) and that you enjoyed your visit to us.

Perhaps next time, book and get a great table with a view of the estuary............??

Very best wishes,

Liz & Tim Hore licensee's and all the Victoria Inn team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing