We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some not so good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited the Victoria recently, a party of six adults for dinner. It was very busy and we had not booked so not unreasonably we ended up outside. The seating area where we were was basic but OK, I think there was a family area higher up which we did not explore so this could be better. Being outside meant we had only a limited menu. The burgers were huge and much enjoyed by those who had them The fish and chips were disappointing ( plus you had to pay extra for mushy peas) My seafood chowder was tepid, lots of gloopy soup and a few random bits of fish/shellfish. Not recommended, except for the lovely bread which came with it. Prices were top end of average for what we had.

So, we probably did not see the Victoria at her best, but if you fancy a burger then go for it. Can't comment on the "indoor" menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LITTLEHOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Littlehols

Thank you very much for your review - a mixed one and I'm sorry we didn't seem to delight you.
We've spent a lot of money n the garden and I'm sorry you didn't seem to see it at its best - but not always easy when we are so busy.

We have decided upon a 'Garden' menu this year for precisely the reasons you yourself have put - we are a hugely busy pub and we never want to not be able to deliver what we say we will.

I'm sorry the Chowder was not to your liking, but we sell gallons of it to many who absolutely love it, and only bought in the decision to charge for extras to go with Fish & Chips such as Mushy Peas & Aoili Mayo as we were wasting so much of it by customers leaving it.

However, I'm really pleased you enjoyed the Burgers - massive aren't they?!?

I hope we will be able to say hello on another occasion,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensee and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    951
    358
    80
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rugby
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendliest staff you could wish to meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What lovely staff! We have popped in a few times throughout July and every time the staff have been delightful. The food is also fantastic - I just wish I left enough room for dessert! Maybe next time!

Helpful?
Thank nina171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nina171

How delightful that you thought we had some of the friendliest staff you've ever met - we think so too. We pride ourselves on great customer service and we are so pleased that you think you encountered that on your visit.

We hope you will visit again very soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensee and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were so impressed with the lunch we hadh on our first day that we've now eaten here 3 times and we are only here for a week!

The crab sandwiches are the freshest we've tasted in Salcombe and the lobster bisque, chowder and cod and chips are both fresh and tasty!

I've got my eye on the plough and for lunch tomorrow!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElysiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear ElysiaG

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed our pub so much, and thank you for coming to us on so many occasions - we feel very priviliged that you did!

We hope to welcome you back again one day,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensee and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Love this pub - nice menu, nice setting, lovely child friendly beer garden .
I visited on a busy Saturday and managed to get a table although I suspect on a weekend booking is advisable for larger parties.
Nice fish selection, and well cooked.
Good wine selection.
Very friendly service - can't fault it !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear VictoriaB

Thank you for your review - it's reviews like this that really motivate the team (and ourselves) so we're delighted you had a great visit. You are right to assume that you need to book to be sure of a table if you want to eat inside and have the choice of the full menu.

We really hope you'll visit again soon,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensee and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great couple of lunches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were in Salcombe for a week and went to the Victoria twice for lunch and both times were very very good. The seafood platter was exceptional. I can't fault any part of it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BangkokN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear BangKokN8

Thank you for your delightful review and we are glad that we were able to make a couple of your lunchtimes visits to our great award winning pub so memorable - for all the right reasons!

Should you ever be in this area again, we very much hope you'll come back and say hello,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing