We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

So glad we popped in for lunch, sat in front of a lovely open fire with lovely drinks and food, served by 2 friendly members of bar staff who were great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear FrankS
There’s nothing better than a traditional pub, open fire & warm welcome especially on a cold winters day!
We hope you’ll come back again very soon
Very best wishes
Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2018

Dinner for six night before New Year’s Eve. Very busy as ever in pub. We had a cosy drink in the bar and then moved in to restaurant. Food was very good as always. Good portions, all delivered together and nice choice despite a busy evening.
Visit a little marred by neglected toilets ... I know it was busy but these things need checking regularly Team! Our table had a window seat for two of us which was uncomfortable seat - very upright and seat not big enough to sit comfortably . It was also freezing cold from drafts. Shame.... staff were excellent and we will go back

Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear BettyBelle
Thank you for your review and we’re really pleased that you enjoyed so much of your visit to us.
I’m sorry that a couple of aspects were not to your liking, and I can only say in our defence that you visited at one of the busiest periods of the festive season and if customers choose to abuse our facilities I would much rather we served our customers than clean up after them, but had you mentioned it to us we would have of course endeavoured to get them back to our highest usual standards. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Very best wishes
Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We have visited this pub many times . It is very dog friendly with the provision of dog blankets and a doggy treat menu ( so our beloved pooch is not forgotten whilst we stuff our faces !) last Sunday was icy cold and on entry we were kindly directed to the table by a roaring log fire . The roast dinner was exceptional with thick slices of tender beef and lots of potatoes and veg . We really love cauliflower cheese and this serving was delicious . We left with rosy cheeks from the fire , full bellies to face the icy wind once more! Lovely staff and we look forward to visiting again very soon .

Thank booliejell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Boolijell
What a super review & we’re all delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much.
Let’s hope you’ll come back soon,
Very best wishes
Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We booked table of 10 for last Friday before our wedding, 2 sets of our families also booked tables. Service & food was really nice. Good value for money. We also went for lunch on Sunday after our wedding & lunch was just as good.

Thank KirsH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Kirsh2013
It was a delight for us to be part of your very special celebrations and I hope that when it’s your anniversary you’ll come back and do it all over again!
Very best wishes
Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Ate here Friday night. We were welcomed warmly and asked if we needed any help with the menu which was very thoughtful.

We ordered a crab and a scallop starter, both of which was delicious.

For our main course we had chicken and a burger. Again both were cooked perfectly.

We both had a few drinks and our total bill was £65 which I think is a bargain for Salcombe’s number 1 eatery.

Thank you.

Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Owner at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear MarcusB
We’re delighted you enjoyed your visit and we were delighted to read your comments.
We hope you’ll come back again soon,
Very best wishes
Liz & Tim and the award winning Team Vic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing