We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great View!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ria View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ria View
Ranked #8 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Shepperton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent 3 nights here and very much enjoyed our stay, our room had an incredible view as I booked a sea view room with a fantastic window seat where I spent a lot of time enjoying the scenery. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and it was a pleasure to chat with other guests over breakfasts. Our hosts Peter and Bernice were very friendly and helpful. Only down side really was that although the room was immaculate it was very compact, the bathroom being smaller than the one we had just left in the caravan, there were a lot of steps to carry bags down and also the parking did not accommodate a large vehicle, however there was parking free of charge close by. We would certainly stay again if we were in the area as it was a good standard of accommodation with a great view.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the little extra for the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Who needs to see Florence when you can see the beautiful Salcome estuary and marina from two of Ria View's bedrooms and garden deck. We have enjoyed four stays there, and are planning another this year. Our friendly B&B hosts, Benice and Peter, offer a multi choice breakfast menu and the car parking arrangements are good. We would recommend the coastal walk from Salcome to South Sands with a stop at the South Sands Hotel beach balcony for a drink and crab sandwich and then maybe on to the NT Property Overbecks. There is also a ferry from South Sands back to Salcome. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We chose the aptly named Ria View after looking at their excellent website and were very glad we did. The location gave superb views over the inlet.......we were lucky with our room. When it was sunny the garden terrace was a favourite area. Breakfasts were a delight with all the guests sitting round a large dining table. Parking was a bonus and walking into town easy....walking back a bit of a climb. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikebirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

It was 30 years since we last visited Salcombe. Without the children we were able to complete and outstanding walk along the cliffs to Prawle Point. The town is full of charm at every corner and has an unhurried feel about it. The accommodation was excellent and close to the town centre - yet quiet. The food was first class and we could highly recommend a visit to Ria View. Ours was sadly too short - this time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the harbour - outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Had a lovely 3 day stay at Ria View in Salcombe.The great harbour views and the house were just like their photos on their website . I chose the B&B as it has a very good listing in Rough Guide. It is the nearest B&B to the main street, so although it is 2 minute walk down to the town it is not the huge trek up hill like the other B&Bs. Also, it provides parking which is very rare in Salcombe and great that you can walk everywhere.
We were lucky to have one of the harbour view rooms and the view is fantastic.These rooms go very quickly, you have to book in advance, it was very stylishly decorated, newly refurbished and very clean.
Peter and Bernice who own Ria View are very friendly and at breakfast it was such a relief not to be sitting round small tables where no one was speaking. Breakfast is around a big table in the kitchen and it was very enjoyable speaking to the other guests, getting tips about what to do, where to visit, which walks to do etc. What a great idea, it made our holiday - such a good start to the day.
Lots of choice at breakfast tasty and all very well presented. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We enjoyed a 5 day break at Ria View, our room was small but had all facilities and comforts (including daily biscuit ration on our welcome tray, yum!) and lovely views over town and estuary. All very clean, & delicious breakfast served at the table alongside other guests, initially slightly daunting but turned out to be socially rewarding. Central location meant that having parked our car(too long for the on site spaces but parked FOC nearby) we were on foot/water for the whole of our stay, very relaxing. Bernice and Peter are considerate and caring hosts, they posted back the necklace I left behind in our room, thanks for that and a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandadepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
0.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.7 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria View

Property: Ria View
Address: Ria View Devon Road, Salcombe TQ8 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ria View Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing