We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name says it all - it's a magical place”
Review of Ria View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ria View
Ranked #7 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013

What a fantastic view we had from our room. It was worth going just for the view but there are so many other things to recommend Ria View and Salcombe itself:
* Prime location in a lovely holiday spot
* Spacious room in top condition
* Pleasant, laid back, welcoming, helpful hosts
* Unbelievably quiet and relaxing at this time of year (April)
* Good gastro pubs a few minutes walk away (Fortescue was the best)
* Close to Totness which is well worth a visit for the bohemian atmosphere, Friday market and an excellent selection of alternative cafes, bars and restaurants
* Good value for money compared to other options in this area

We spent three nights there. We enjoyed the holiday enormously and will definitely aim to stay at Ria View again when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: It's pretty obvious but the sea view rooms are the ones to go for if you can get one. I assume t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Ria View
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a friendly B&B which is only a short walk from the High street which is an advantage when Salcombe is so hilly. Room had a lovely view across the bay. Having stayed at a lot of B&B's whilst walking long distance paths, this is of about average standard. Nothing major to fault but nothing major to recommend it either.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank charistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed with Bernice & Peter at Ria View and I have to say, I had a lovely stay with them. I spent three nights as I was attending a wedding.

I was made to feel very welcome and couldn't have asked for more. The high street is a short walk from the guest house and I had a wonderful view from my bedroom window.

My room was clean and tidy and was attended to each day.

Peter makes great scrambled egg and smoked salmon on toast, the other guests had a full cooked breakfast but I didn't get round to it as I loved mine too much!!

No need to hesitate if you are thinking of staying at Ria View, it's a lovely little place to go for a few days.

Room Tip: Get the double room overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We spent 3 nights here and very much enjoyed our stay, our room had an incredible view as I booked a sea view room with a fantastic window seat where I spent a lot of time enjoying the scenery. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and it was a pleasure to chat with other guests over breakfasts. Our hosts Peter and Bernice were very friendly and helpful. Only down side really was that although the room was immaculate it was very compact, the bathroom being smaller than the one we had just left in the caravan, there were a lot of steps to carry bags down and also the parking did not accommodate a large vehicle, however there was parking free of charge close by. We would certainly stay again if we were in the area as it was a good standard of accommodation with a great view.

Room Tip: I would recommend paying the little extra for the sea view room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Who needs to see Florence when you can see the beautiful Salcome estuary and marina from two of Ria View's bedrooms and garden deck. We have enjoyed four stays there, and are planning another this year. Our friendly B&B hosts, Benice and Peter, offer a multi choice breakfast menu and the car parking arrangements are good. We would recommend the coastal walk from Salcome to South Sands with a stop at the South Sands Hotel beach balcony for a drink and crab sandwich and then maybe on to the NT Property Overbecks. There is also a ferry from South Sands back to Salcome. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We chose the aptly named Ria View after looking at their excellent website and were very glad we did. The location gave superb views over the inlet.......we were lucky with our room. When it was sunny the garden terrace was a favourite area. Breakfasts were a delight with all the guests sitting round a large dining table. Parking was a bonus and walking into town easy....walking back a bit of a climb. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

It was 30 years since we last visited Salcombe. Without the children we were able to complete and outstanding walk along the cliffs to Prawle Point. The town is full of charm at every corner and has an unhurried feel about it. The accommodation was excellent and close to the town centre - yet quiet. The food was first class and we could highly recommend a visit to Ria View. Ours was sadly too short - this time.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the harbour - outstanding view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salcombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
869 reviews
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
404 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria View

Address: Ria View Devon Road, Salcombe TQ8 8HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ria View Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing