We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boatswains is Best!”

Boatswains Brasserie
Ranked #14 of 38 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boatswains is Best!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Boatswains is a regular destination for us when we go to Salcombe and is a special night out for us whilst Grandma babysits!

The menu is extensive, but we tend to choose something from the specials board. The staff have always been really attentive and happy to chat and you are made to feel very welcome.

We'll be back again in April 2014.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    39
    10
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Another lovely meal.
A very Americanised menu. Large portions! (Can never finished)
They're puddings sound so good, but I can never finish my main, let alone pudding! (We have starters).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emluca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab Meal”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The food was excellent as was the service, the atmosphere was good, I also liked the background music.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely evening-great food, drink, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Booked to go here for our last night in Salcombe based on it being Number 1 on Trip Advisor and the restaurant didn't disappoint. Lovely food-good portions, good wine list, efficient friendly service and a great buzzy atmosphere...just make sure you book as we saw people being turned away whilst we were dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kezegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food good. Customer service? Left me feeling suicidal....”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Well here goes....! Just left the brasserie and feeling pretty pretty low. Decided to venture out with my husband for a meal after we had tried the previous evening with the whole family. (Sadly they didn't have highchairs so had to decline) the food itself was lovely, although Cajun chicken and chips priced at roughly 17 pounds is pushing it! The atmosphere was a bit dull, I made a mistake by ordering a whole Seabass, it arrived and hadn't been filleted. I hate hate hate spending my time picking out fish bones during a meal, after the first forkful this was inevitable. So I decided to return my meal...fully aware this was my mistake and happy to pay the price, however the manager arrived with a very rude and abrupt 'we'll i am sorry but this was your mistake you will have to pay full price for both meals' I didn't have a minute to think, so there we were, paying the bill for three. Then on our departure, there is the manager smoking a cigarette in the ally way. Nice.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kmd_19885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boatswains Brasserie also viewed

 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to Boatswains Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing