We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed all afternoon!”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #19 of 38 Restaurants in Salcombe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Could have stayed all afternoon!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Kings Arms sits right next to the short (only 1 hour) stay car back, in the heart of Salcombe itself. The pub has a bar on the lower level, restaurant seating indoors, an outside terrace by the car park and best of all, an upper terrace overlooking the estuary.

Drinks and coffee are pretty much standard, but the food is pretty good value and more than a little bit above average. The meals in bread bowl (hollowed out round loaves) are particularly good value and well worth a try. The views offered across the estuary from the upper terrace make this a great place for a slow lunch on a sunny day.

The only real issue is with Salcombe itself - parking is always a nightmare and in summer months, it's best to make use of the park and ride scheme, located on the edge of town. Be aware that Salcombe is set into a steep valley and wherever you walk, it's going to be uphill somewhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoyallG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    110
    25
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Food good, service was 'couldn't be bothered'...”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Visited for lunch on a wet, windy cold day. Roaring fire in bar area and great atmosphere there.
Decided to go into the back of the pub to the restaurant/cafe area to order and eat food.
I had the camembert with fresh bread which was lovely, my daughter had whitebait/salad (again, really nice).. Husband ordered large fish/chips - too large a portion for him, but food was good.
Service was non-plussed/didn't want to be there attitude. Despite only having one other table full (around 8 people) - it took 45 mins for our food to arrive. Would not want to have gone in high season when it was busy.
No-one came to ask if the food was OK, and even when we paid the bill (£50) no-one asked whether lunch had been acceptable.
Need to sort their service out - as food/menu/bar area is lovely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch indeed!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a varied mix of lunch items, but the crab bake was the most original and the best. The service was Ok, but we had a little trouble being understood whilst ordering the meal as the waitress spoke very limited English!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SABWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great .....”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A most friendly, welcoming bar with comfortable seating, a log fire and everyone accepted!! The food is good, staff are friendly, Tuesday and Sunday evenings offer discount drinks - a great idea. Also a very pleasant hotel to stay in ...

Highly recommended on all levels....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mis2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salcombe
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We visit the Kings Arms all year round and have always had a warm welcome, fabulous food and a great wine list. Neil and Claire ensure that the food is freshly cooked, beautifully presented and consistently good. We reguarly recommend this pub to our friends and family without hesitation. We had their soup and sandwich last week and it was utterly delicious. Dogs are welcome and we return time and time again. It's worth sharpening your elbows and smiling to get a table either by the warm and inviting fire or gazing over the Harbour on the balcony. Best place in Salcombe!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SalcombeKss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing