We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch today hits the spot”
Review of Salcombe Coffee Co

Salcombe Coffee Co
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch today hits the spot”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We popped in to day, Wednesday 11 September. Specials board announced "fillet steak sandwich" with potato wedges. Best steak sandwich I've had for a long time. Had to have two cups of coffee as its so good. My dearest had chicken Caesar salad and that was also delicious.
Suppose I'll have to go back a few more times....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    66
    20
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good coffee and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Lovely coffee and very nice scrambled eggs. We didn't realise it was order at the bar at first. Very relaxing would go again. Salcome is a perfect town to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bistro73 - the only place for me!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

First time in Salcombe, wasnt sure where to eat and walked past this place which had just opened for dinner.
Waitress and presumed owner were willing and looked after us splendidly.
The Food was out of this world and is heartily recommended. Crab Cakes, Salmon and crevettes were heavenly and if you dont choose to eat here you will miss out.

We will be coming to Devon again and heading straight for Bistro73. Thank You

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab, morning, noon and night!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Salcombe Coffee Co becomes Bistro 73 in the evenings. Two sittings, 6.30pm and 8.30pm. Having booked a table for our anniversary, i was hoping for something special and we got it. Fantastic food, excellent service and a good bottle of wine to wash it down with! Can honestly say it was the best meal i can remember having. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maidonablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Rude front of house & make believe items on the menu”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have been here for coffee a couple of times and once for a cream tea and have been a little disappointed every time. It's not terrible but definitely not great. The main thing that gets me is the poor service... By that I mean rude staff. The guy on the till who is always there is awful. The guy ahead of me in the queue asked for his coffee in a takeaway cup saying there was no way he would drink it all with his breakfast. He was told no and when the guy reiterated that he wanted to take it away he was told 'yeah but I don't think you will will you... That's the point isn't it' .. I couldn't believe my ears. So rude. Politeness costs nothing... I do the same job as this man elsewhere and would NEVER speak to a customer like that... Anyway.. My own experience... I asked for a smoothie as they're offered on the menu and was told they don't do them. Ok?!?! Bottom line... I wouldn't go here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salcombe Coffee Co also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to Salcombe Coffee Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing