We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful barn conversion in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Salcombe Estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salcombe Estuary
Upstairs living space Plympton Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Salcombe Estuary
Upstairs living space
Plympton Barn
Outside Seating
Kitchen
Woodburner
Dining
Bedroom with Kingsize
Bedroom with two singles
Timber clad Hallway
Shower
Bath
Salcombe Estuary and East Portlemouth
Salcombe - South Sands Ferry and Sea Tractor
Storm at Hope Cove
Sunny Cove as seen from Salcombe
Sunset over local Beach
Deer on the Cliffs
Race in the Salcombe Estuary
Soar Mill Cove
Ferry Steps in Salcombe
Old Lifeboat Station on South Sands
Salcombe Yawls Racing in the Estuary
Lifeboat at Salcombe
South Sands Beach
view of South Sands
Thurlestone Beach
Crab-fishing boats in the Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen_Hm
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful barn conversion in a great location”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a fantastic week in this beautifully renovated barn. We loved the upside-down layout with a large, bright, open-plan living, kitchen and dining room looking out onto fields and woodland. The downstairs bedrooms are very comfortable and the travertine tiles with underfloor heating felt a little luxurious! The decoration is stylish and simple and the owners have thought of everything: from flowers and wine on arrival to providing plenty of hand soap, laundry and dishwasher tabs. There is a lovely outdoor seating area and the location is wonderfully peaceful with sounds of only birds, sheep and the small stream that runs through the farm. It's a short walk from South Sands beach where you can take a ferry to Salcombe - still an easy walk. It's a fantastic base for a beach or walking holiday, surrounded on all sides by the coastal path with its dramatic crags and pretty beaches. Communication with Jaap was excellent, and Michele was very friendly and helpful during our stay. We would love to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review!! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cropwalke...
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect escape!”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Beautiful, high quality barn conversion close to beaches and coastal path. Easy booking with excellent communication from very helpful owner and immediate refund of damage deposit. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jemmawarr...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for quality time with family”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Have just arrived home from what can only be described as a magical stay here at this wonderful location.Communication throughout booking was always promt and Jaap was very helpful.When we arrived (way before we were meant to as we over estimated how much time we would need with two young children and stop offs!!) Michele was very understanding and did not make an issue of it, asking us to come back in a short while only so that the cleaner could finish up but still we were able to come back earlier than we were meant to which was much appreciated.The House is spacious and clean, the natural light and simple but beautiful decor enhanced every room making us feel at home and very much relaxed.The first thing we did after we came back from south Sands beach that first day was have a glass of the delicious red wine Michele had left for us, outside on the balcony soaking up the sunshine and the outstanding views.The beds were so comfortable, something that you can't underestimate the power of when you are sore from exploring all day!
Nice bathroom with separate walk in shower which was very much needed for my mother in law who would have struggled getting into or out of a standard shower/bath.
Michele is an incredibly friendly and interesting person who was so sweet to my children allowing us to take them to see the cows with the calf's and the sheep with their lambs! Their hearts were bursting at the seams watching the lambs bounce around the field. My 18 month old daughter took a particular shine to the cows and got so much joy from looking out at them each day and spends her time mooing excitedly at the very mention of them! We set an Easter egg hunt up for our children around the barn and to top it off Michele allowed us to leave some chocolate eggs in the hen house for them to find which really made their day!!!
There is so many wonderful places to visit nearby, overbecks national trust garden is a must, you will be spoilt for choice with beaches and places to eat. A co-op nearby and a little further out a morrisons and tescos.The perfect combination for a memorable family holiday, thank you so much! We hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Dear Jemma, thank you for your very kind review! We would love to welcome you all back! Have a great summer, Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquirjo...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location and high quality accommodation !”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our third visit to Plympton Barn. The accommodation is just lovely and as soon as we arrive we relax into holiday mode. The property is very clean, furnished to a good standard and very well equipped. It's location is so ideal, tucked away yet so convenient for great beaches and harbours. We have loved every minute if our stay. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and spaciousness of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you for coming back to stay with us. Hope we will see you again next year. Best Wishes, Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapom2016
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't wait to return”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Plympton Barn, so much so, that we have returned for two years in a row and will definitely be back next year. We always receive a warm welcome from the owners and they are always happy to help in any way they can. The bottle of wine and freshly picked flowers on arrival were gratefully received! The barn itself is beautifully decorated. We loved the upside-down theme. The downstairs bedrooms were cool at night in the summer months and were comfortable and spacious. The upstairs open plan living area, was perfect for entertaining our two children. The bi-fold doors were fabulous and it was lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view of the surrounding countryside. Peace!
The local area is perfect for exploring with a young family. There are many beautiful beaches which can be quickly reached by car and South and North Sands are within walking distance. The barn's proximity is within easy reach of Salcombe, which is another reason that draws us back to this area every year. Thank you Jaap & family for another fantastic stay. Your tips have helped us discover something new every year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review! We look forward to seeing you again next summer. Best wishes, Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grrrreen
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home. Except a bit nicer.”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved our stay at Plympton. It probably helped that the weather treated us kindly, but we had a glorious, relaxing week sampling Devon's delights.

The barn's in a great spot, being a mile or so from South Sands beach (a 20-minute walk made easier by visiting the charity cake stall along the way). From there it's about another 25 into Salcombe, or a 15 min ferry ride. It's nice to be slightly out of town – it gets a bit manic in regatta week – but near enough that you don't have to use the car if you don't want to.

Apart from a couple of very minor things, the barn is very comfortable, modern and well equipped. It was exactly what we wanted – we'd heartily recommend it and we'll definitely be back. Thanks Jaap :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Little outdoor space
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
thank you for your kind review!! I really hope we can welcome you back in the future. Any tips that allow us to improve the experience are always much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina S
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay...”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in as well as going out during our week at Plympton Barn. The accommodation is superb and very comfortable - modern and beautifully designed but not so perfect that you're frightened of moving around! There's a huge and very comfortable king size bed in the main bedroom, and the second bedroom (2 singles) looks warm and comfortable too. The bathroom is easy to use, roomy and warm with a lovely walk in shower (no doors, just a divider) and bath. The kitchen is well-equipped, everything you need with a fantastic view. The triple folding doors to a balcony finish it off beautifully. There's plenty of room, it's light and airy and warm. A welcoming bottle of wine and a bunch of wildflowers waited for us on arrival - a lovely touch.
Michele at the farm was very welcoming and friendly too, a great pleasure to meet her and Jack! We would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation and the whole interior.
Liked least: ...nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Dear Gina,
thank you for your review. I hope we will be able to welcome you again!
kind regards, Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing