We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nicely located and presented family house by the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Soar

Sunny Soar Mill Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Soar Mill Cove
West Soar Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sunny Soar Mill Cove
West Soar Front
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Master Suite
2nd Double
Twin Room
Bunk Room
Top Single
Master Bath
Master Suite Balcony
Games Room
Crisp Spring Day
Sunset over the bay
Salcombe
West Soar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark C
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing weekend away with friends - poor quality and not fit-for-purpose holiday let”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

As a group of close friends we booked the Private House at Soar Mill Cove for a weekend break. Advertised as sleeping 10 the house was perfect for 6 single friends who wanted to relax with a glass of wine, DVD, Hot Tub and a few hours spent reading overlooking the ocean.

Our weekend was spoilt from the start. We arrived at the property after a long drive south in hope of a quick cup of tea, whilst the owners did provide two bottles of wine and some scones there was no provision of any tea or coffee nor any basic kitchen items. Wine doesn’t make up for the lack of basic provisions and the other issues within the property...

The crockery in the kitchen was dirty - some with toast and butter still on them - clearly poor housekeeping / checking between guests.

The former family home of the hotel owners is clearly being used as a cash cow. There is a sign in the kitchen saying "We the owners now live next door and you are in our former family home” - this has clearly resulted in them not investing in their former house. The decor leaves a lot to be desired with large areas in need of attention.

The property is set on the top of a hill and is subject to the winds coming off the ocean. Whilst the views are stunning when the sun is out it is a shame that the windows of the property are dirty and don't fit properly. The double glazing was so poor the wind was blowing the curtains open and keeping most of us awake at night. The large picture window in the 'sun' room was so poorly fitted water was streaming in!!

As a result of the poorly fitted windows, some of us were sleeping in jumpers as the wind in the upper rooms (attic room especially) was blowing through the gaps in the glazing turning the rooms into ice boxes - this wasn't helped by the lack of heating controls in the property. The heating was set to turn off in the evening with no clear way of turning it back on.

A relaxing peaceful break this was not, unless you sleep next to a wind machine and are used the constant howl coming through the gaps in the glazing.

The Hot Tub was only for 2 people (3 max) and completely unsuitable for the size of property. It was installed on a slope and not levelled which meant it wasn't full of water. It was also not protected so with the Devon winds it was unusable (even though you have to pay for the privilege of not using it). Maybe they could spend the money on building a shed around the hot tub or a Gazebo with side panelling to make it user friendly all year round.

As a group of friends it is nice to sit together in the evenings, however, there isn't enough seating in the property and not enough in one area for everyone to sit comfortably. All the furniture is tired and most is thread bare in areas. To get enough seats in one area we had to move sofa's and arm chairs in order to be together.

Moving the furniture further showed how unclean the property was, whilst most areas had clear evidence of being hovered, the bedrooms had a significant amount of hair and the bathrooms are in dire need of some TLC.

My final views are this property is that it is not fit-for-purpose as a holiday let. It is a former family house that is in need of some urgent TLC. It is unclean, tired, not well maintained and not worth the money!!

Location Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Oh dear, Jenny and I are devastated that you seem not to have enjoyed your stay, despite that you mentioned none of this when staying with us. Of course if we and been told any of this, we could have rectified it then and there, as surely that is the reason for constructive criticism. We are always at hand and we have a full staff to show how the heating works, whether you want extra crockery or any question what so ever. It was incredibly windy when you were with us, winter by the seaside can be although we personally love the bracing winter weather cozied up indoors. It does seem that this has spoilt your stay and rather influenced a review that seems somewhat harsh. West Soar is now in its sixth year and we are working our way through a renovation program so that it is fresh for our 2016 guests. I don't think 6 years is a terribly long time but as West Soar is so special to me and Jenny we want to ensure it is beautiful for all guests.
Again I am sorry that West Soar was clearly not for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyF2003
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicely located and presented family house by the sea”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a memorable double family celebration here with 6 adults and three children.We were lucky with the weather but the games room/spacious house and the indoor pool provided back-up for that anyway
.Private from the hotel but easy access for tennis, swimming etc helped the overall relaxed ambience. Pleasant ,safe, grounds for the little ones.
We liked the 15 min stroll down to the bay but found ideal beaches nearby at Bantham and Salcombe. All beds comfortable and all facilities that you would expect in a family holiday house. We look forward to returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space;privacy;proximity to hotel; sea view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2015
Dear Tony and family
We are delighted your family and friends enjoyed West Soar and our rather special area. It's always great to see friends having time for each others company and I think West Soar offers a comfortable environment for such get together. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, from Keith and Jenny Makepeace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrific house and location for a family celebration”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We selected West Soar as the venue for a family celebration with three generations, six adults and two grandchildren. Although being blessed with excellent September weather certainly made a difference, we were delighted with our choice.

The house provided plenty of space for all and was both clean and comfortable throughout. The kitchen was well equipped and complete with welcome pack. Bedrooms and bathrooms were equally good, with the master suite providing a calm refuge when needed. The games room with table football helped to revive some long forgotten skills!

We had visited Soar Mill Cove many times in the past, so actually staying in such a splendid location was great. Tremendous views from the house and a reasonable walk down to the cove and coast path. The walk back up was more energetic, but refreshments at the hotel were a welcome reward.

We made good use of the hotel bar, café, swimming pool and play areas and particularly appreciated the friendly and welcoming atmosphere created by the owners and their staff. The ladies of the party used the spa facilities, which were rated a great success. Ready access to all of these facilities was a definite bonus. Brunch on our last morning set us up nicely for the journey home.

West Soar was the perfect venue for our family gathering. We hope to stay there again, and have no hesitating in recommending it and its owners, the Makepeace family, to anyone with similar requirements.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Time with family and friends is so vital and West Soar seems to provide a great setting for such a get together. Great weather is always the icing on the cake, but the weather prof facilities of the house and nearby hotel help deal with our English seasons. Delighted to welcome you all and look forward to welcoming you back to West Soar and Soar Mill Cove Hotel again one day soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris g
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent for large family holiday close to lovely beach”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Finding a house ,near a beach that can accommodate 6 adults and 4 grandchildren is not easy.West Soar does this as well as being close to a luxury hotel with all facilities.Our grand children dashed into the house on our arrival returning seconds later shouting "there is a tv in every bedroom"
We played tennis and swam in the pool every day ,walking down to beach when the weather was kind.
Whilst we were there it was our grand daughters 5th birthday.The owners arranged for the largest table in the restaurant to be set out for afternoon tea including a birthday cake with the greetings in Welsh for Betsan .
The lack of bin bags on our arrival was recompensed by the immediate offer of a bottle of wine which we gladly accepted.
West Soar provided us with an excellent base for our holiday with the added bonus of being comfortable but not somewhere where we constantly worried about 4 youngsters damaging the ming vases etc etc
Sitting in the lounge watching the sun go down and then seeing the light of the Eddystone Lighthouse 15 miles away was unforgetable .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Delighted to welcome your family, so glad you had a relaxing holiday. we always enjoy seeing multi generational families as we know it works so well in this way. Jenny and I look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B
1 review
“Magnificent destination for all the family”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent the most wonderful week here in August with adult children and two grandchildren of 14 and 16. Weather was mixed but the 'kids' had a marvellous time in the pool and walking on the beach. One even cycled to Salcombe on one of the bikes kindly provided. As chief cook, the view from the sink was magnificent, and the kitchen very well appointed.
No mobile reception( we had a landline) was a revellation, as the grandchildren enjoyed a holiday similar to those enjoyed by their parents. Fresh air,outdoor activities, swimming pool and conversation. Truly wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Oh that's so lovely to see that you had a nice holiday at West Soar, Jenny and I are delighted and look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when we can show you some fresh touches we are planning to do this winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tired and Neglected House”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is a shame I am having to write this review. We had a very disappointing stay at West Soar, the owners were on holiday at the time but have not tried to contact us since we left (over a month ago) despite us leaving our comments with the manager.
We were 2 families with young children staying for a week. The house is large, but it is very dated. Mouldy windows that don't shut properly, flimsy curtains, damp smelly bathrooms. The house is in a beautiful spot, but the hedges were all overgrown so we were not able to make the most of the view. Stinging nettles everywhere, so not great for the kids running around the garden / paved area. There is wifi in part of the house, but no phone signal. A (very very very) old pay phone is supplied, which eats money like nothing i've experienced before. It would have been nice to have some basic supplies in the house (i.e. tea, coffee, sugar, oil, etc). It is an expensive house to rent, and it would be very easy indeed to make small changes so that it is an enjoyable place to stay.
Although West soar is not part of the hotel, it is handy to have it so close (less than 5 min walk). We were able to use the hotel facilities (i.e. pool) which was good with the kids. The hotel seems very nice, and the staff too. There was a mix up with our booking, stating that we had breakfast included (this apparently is never the case as the house is independent from the hotel). In the end we were allowed 3 breakfasts in the hotel, which was excellent food, however as the mistake was theirs I would have thought they would have honoured the breakfast meals each morning - as that was on our confirmation.
We all came away feeling really quite disappointed. Frustrated too, as it would have taken little effort to make it more special. The house felt neglected and dated.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Constructive criticism and genuine reviews are welcomed, however on this occasion our rather lovely and caring staff were the subject of appalling manners and unreasonable demands, I think due to a rainy August week. Despite ridiculous demands of free breakfast at our nearby hotel my Manager Matt bent over backwards in our absence to provide all that was requested. Cream Tea & Champagne were all delivered to ensure the guest felt valued, cash was dropped through the door to pay for the guests phone calls and yet clearly nothing other than a free holiday was ever going to please this guest, which would have been a silly precedent to reward the very rare occasion that someone is simply looking for a freebie. The house is a beautiful AA 5 star property prepared each week by a team of caring and polite staff who welcome all of our lovely guests. Suffice to say this is the one and only occasion that we have had other than delightful guests that often become our great friends and return time and again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosette46
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely bank holiday weekend at West Soar
This house is linked with the hotel at soar mill cove and you can use the facilities.
The house was as described and we would definitely go back.
Very clean and well equipped.
Bit of a walk to the cove but you can take your time and its nice to have a drink at the hotel on the way back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Jenny and I have just been reading your lovely review and are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at West Soar. We are planning some improvement this winter so look forward to showing you the house on a future visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing