We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a good atmosphere”
Review of The Fortescue Inn

The Fortescue Inn
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Pizza, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pub with rooms serving fresh local food both inside and out,excellent hand made pizza, particularly busy during the summer months
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a good atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great relaxed atmosphere, kids are and dogs are welcome, there's a pool table to keep them entertained and the food is reasonably priced!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank aytchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    106
    39
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still the favourite place to eat in Salcombe”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We eat at The Fortescue every year and it never disappoints. Good to see most of the staff are still there. The menu is always tempting and decisions are difficult. The Chef produces consistently excellent meals. There is absolutely no criticism to be made and we would return every time we stay in Salcombe. Congratulations to all staff concerned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely old pub”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Food faultless - I had fish which was so fresh and the chips were handmade and delicious. Service good and price good. We will def go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hilary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So good we went twice!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had booked a table in the restaurant for the first night of our holiday. The food was superb! Service was great. It was so good we went back again during the weeks holiday. Will be back next year!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helly1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fortescue Inn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
Salcombe, Devon
 

Been to The Fortescue Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing