We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Pub, good location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ferry Inn

The Ferry Inn
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Good pub grub, wholesome and reasonably priced. Great and friendly service, dog friendly, live sports in bar area and terrace to enjoy the sun. Front row seat for local regatta and firework display (book early). Amazing views from all areas and restaurant area available for booking. Live music and special events throughout the year (pig racing is a must see). The team at the Ferry Inn look forward to your visit
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“OK Pub, good location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

No the best pub, only plus being the outside terrace overlooking the estuary. Overpriced a bit too, even for Salcombe!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJLucas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    91
    52
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food enjoyable veiw service average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

had a visit to the ferry inn for a lunch time meal with family food good veiws great turnaround from placing order to was ok but that was the only time you saw any member of staff no other contact from any one to see if you were enjoying your food
prices are high but thats what youget in an area that is pricey overall

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great view, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Ferry has some of the best views in the area, great enjoyed with a drink in the sun. Prices are average fr the area, and I didn't mind paying as the view is just great.

Only problem, is that the service has gone really downhill, the staff do not smile, and I almost felt like I was a burden every time I went to order a drink.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HM92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“Fab pub! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Visited recently to Salcombe with the family and got lucky with beautiful weather! So where better to go than the beer garden over looking the water, we were greeted by lovely staff although they did look rather rushed off their feet. Overall, worth a go.

Helpful?
Thank Tina198902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“"Stunning location,friendly atmosphere!!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having managed to get away earlier than expected this year,I yet again returned to Salcombe.I visited with friends and we tried our luck again at The Ferry Inn,Fore Street ( just up from Dick & Wills but down from The Harbour Hotel).
Having visited last year during Regatta weeks, the town had just the right amount of hustle and bustle for my liking for this short visit.We settled into a seat right by the "sea"wall and took in the magnificent vista. Drinks soon arrived and we chatted late into the evening. During our time at the Ferry Inn, we were approached by Mike (manager) who recognised us from last year and spent sometime with us, which was extremely nice of him, having only met once before.Mike took the time to explain what was "new" in town and what plans were afoot for the forthcoming Regatta weeks ( which we will try and get down for).
The food we had ( our party contained 5 members and all of us had fish & chips) was very well presented,at a correct temperature and served with professionalism and a smile.The price was great for the amount of food that we had,and too be perfectly honest was a little bit too much for me, but the rest of our party would have probably had seconds!!!! We were checked upon at regular intervals by not only waiters but also bar staff, one of which "Ben" or Benny" ( apologies if I didn't quite catch your name properly,) was extremely pleasant.
I would recommend The Ferry Inn to anyone,the staff, management and views are out of this world, so please,please,please give it a go if you've never been, not only to Salcombe,but also The Ferry Inn.
Thank you everyone,
Jason and friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasonj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ferry Inn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Ferry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing