We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nespresso and fluffy eggs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Morgan

Captain Morgan
Ranked #25 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: This busy little breakfast and lunch cafe is situated right in the middle of the bustling seaside town overlooking the sea which is 50 yards away. Opening early in the morning for the local fishermen and then the passing tourist, it is a great place to have lunch too with fresh local produce that is freshly prepared.
hartford, connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nespresso and fluffy eggs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Sat outside at Captain Morgan's, read and watched Salcombe Harbor come alive this morning. The staff is friendly and the food very fresh - the fluffiest scrambled eggs I have ever had. The coffee was excellent and they told me that in addition to filter coffee they now have nespresso!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diane071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    10
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Visited Captain Morgan's last week for a cuppa in the sun. The staff are lovely... really friendly & very welcoming. Perfect place, perfect setting & we had perfect weather.. Though a sea gull did poop on me.. But apparently that's lucky :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KARRENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The cheapest and bestest cup of tea in England.......I don't need to say anymore!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Literally the cheapest and bestest cuppa in England, served in Captain Morgan mugs and sitting outside overlooking Salcombe Harbour......just perfect! We visited on Friday 18th April and the sun was shining too!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LibraBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We eat here all the time. It is just perfect. Reasonable prices, friendly service and most of all delicious food. Don't leave salcombe without visiting captain Morgan's!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mjhorsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Devons best breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have been visiting Salcombe for several years now and the food at Captain Morgan’s is always very good. With a choice of breakfasts there is always something for everyone on the menu and the service is always friendly and prompt. Like a lot of people these days we treat a fried breakfast as a special occasion and the ones served at Captain Morgan’s are certainly that. On this visit I treated myself to a Captain Morgan’s mug, let’s see how long I can keep it without taking a chip out of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Morgan also viewed

 

Been to Captain Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing