We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In all my years...”
Review of Captain Morgan

Captain Morgan
Ranked #24 of 38 Restaurants in Salcombe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: This busy little breakfast and lunch cafe is situated right in the middle of the bustling seaside town overlooking the sea which is 50 yards away. Opening early in the morning for the local fishermen and then the passing tourist, it is a great place to have lunch too with fresh local produce that is freshly prepared.
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“In all my years...”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I am loathe to give an unfavourable review, but on this occasion I cannot do otherwise. We sailed over from East Portlemouth, which lies opposite the pretty little seaside town of Salcombe, in the early afternoon and chanced upon this café. It is well situated with lovely views out over the estuary, and we ordered award-winning Chunky pasties and were persuaded to take them plated with fries and salad. After a considerable wait, and after returning to the hatch which serves as the servery to check on progress, we were told in a very off hand manner that the food was being prepared. As there were few others in the seating area, we were puzzled by the delay, but eventually the food arrived, the pasties only just warmed through, with thin American-style fries and a tiny portion of salad. The so-called award-winning pasties turned out to be a huge disappointment, with the "chicken and chorizo" never being near a hen, and the "steak" notable by the absence of any meat that we could discern. We were further discomforted by the size of the bill, £8 for a pasty which retailed elsewhere for around £3.30, was outrageous, and we left shortly leaving most of the food to the ever present gulls who seem to be trained to clear the tables. Nobody else seemed interested.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    10
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WHAT a location!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have visited this Cafe a couple of times during different stays in Salcombe and it's a lovely little place. Over the years it has somewhat 'up-marketed' itself from it's former no-nonsense greasy spoon. The location of this cafe simply cannot be beaten: central on the high-street with plenty of seating outside looking onto the idyllic estuary. The food is slightly pricey but this is the way with most places in Salcombe nowadays and on a lovely sunny day it is more than worth it to enjoy a breakfast with that stunning view. The food is good quality and the staff are friendly - all-round a great place to visit during your stay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophieh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not what it was... ”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Over 35 years of visiting Salcombe we have spent more hours in Captain Morgans than can be good for me. But it had become a tradition to rush down to town the first morning and tuck away a good value, calorie rich breakfast.
This year we have been four times each time the wait has been excessive with staff issues, over-demand and mediocre food being equally to blame. Such a shame that an institution has faded somewhat.

On the up side, the staff are unfailingly friendly and honest about waiting times. If you don't mind the wait, make this part of your salcombe experience.

Helpful?
Thank Mark&Kit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, a little pricey”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first lunch stop for a family holiday in Salcombe. Pasties and sandwiches were lovely. However it is quite expensive. The portions are quite big though, so a couple of our kids shared and vwere still full!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seany42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service non-existent ”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Extremely hungry me and 3 others arrived for breakfast at 1130. After ordering 4 standard fry ups we were kept waiting for over 90 minutes despite no apologies and each time we checked up on the food it was yeah it's comin. At around 1pm we finally got our food my order arrived wrong and had to go back also. We were the only people in the place and was a real disappointment. The food was very nice though it's only saving grace.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Morgan also viewed

 

Been to Captain Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing