We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of No55

No55
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Funky relaxing atmosphere with a modern twist to the decoration colours and fixtures, a welcome warm place to come and eat relax and have a good experience. Open for Dinner with well behaved dogs welcome...
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We ate at No55 last Saturday and came away wanting to rush back. We were a exuberant and bubbly table and the staff and owners were brilliant. Attention to detail was noted throughout the night, the food was fresh and delicious and cooked and served with real passion. Cheryl and Peter are wonderful hosts and make the evening bespoke to your wishes. I would most certainly recommend No55.

Thank SalcombeKss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Salcombe Kss
We both remember you so well you have 2 labs and your son works in the hotel and has a chocolate Lab I believe?. It was a real pleasure to serve all 4 of you that evening and I hope your husband had a great trip? We look forwards so much to seeing you again soon, as you live in Salcombe that should be sooner than later we hope! So pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience and we are both over the moon with your wonderful comments. From Cheryl Peter and more so the Team @ No55 a heart felt thank you, it was a real pleasure to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

I visited number 55 with my family last May for the long bank holiday weekend! There were about 10 of us including my 90 year old Grandma and we were made to feel SO SO welcome!

Cheryl and Peter are so kind and friendly and made our 2 trips there amazing! The level of service is above and beyond what you get in a regular restaurant and it didn't go un noticed! They even ran out of the dessert platter one eve but made a different one up for me especially!
Not only this but we felt like they really made an effort to get to know our family!
The food is AMAZING and so fresh and delicious! Loved it!

If you want a great, friendly restaurant in Salcombe with AMAZING food and the nicest owners ever then come here! You will not be disappointed!
We are back for a week in Salcombe next May bank holiday so see you then guys! Thanks again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KentLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi KentLucy
Thank you so much for your wonderful words of support. We all remember you so well as it was in our early days, things are still as they were and we have managed through the very busy summer to keep the ethos going. Thanks to your self and all the other comments we have received from all our other wonderful customers. We have gone past all our expectations and are at present due to your review,reached the No1 spot on TripAdvisor. This is no mean task when you look at the quality of the competition in Salcombe, success is for the moment and we are more than aware of that, but without customers like yourself we would not be where we are today even after such a short period of time. From us and more so our staff the TEAM, who make it all possible thank you from the bottom of our hearts, we so look forwards to seeing you in May 14.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We dined at 55 last Friday, 8th November 2013. Rang in advance to book which you really need to do as the restaurant was full from about 7pm to 10pm. The service was very friendly and as efficient as it could be with two people front of house, they were a member of staff down, so, service was a little slow, felt so sorry for the staff as they didn't stop!! As a starter we chose breaded camembert and fish cake, followed by tiger prawn chilli linguine and cod steak with lobster bisque, utterly delicious, to finish off we shared a slice of apple pie topped with caramel and clotted cream, yummy!! Highly recommend 55, at this time of the year open on Wed, Thurs, Fri and Sat evenings only. Wish we lived a little nearer as would love to return as soon as poss to sample more dishes from their excellent menu. Thank you for a lovely evening!! Remember to book!! Delicious!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OxfordshireDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Hi OxfordshireDolly
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, I remember the evening so well as my wife Cheryl had left me to go back to our home town in Reading for a few days and the evening was in the end very busy, not going by the script as it never does!. All credit to Shaun and Megan who did a wonderful job keeping it all together, even though they wore some of the carpet out in the process.I have made the decision that Cheryl can no longer take time off ! But we so look forwards to seeing you again in the near not distant future, so over the moon that you enjoyed the whole experience because that is what No55 is all about. Thank you thank you thank you from Cheryl, Peter and the main stay of the whole thing the TEAM without them its not possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have eaten here twice this week - on Sunday, as a party of 5 and then again on Friday as a part of 11. Excellent food along with welcoming and friendly service from Cheryl, Peter and the rest of the team. We are already looking forward to returning in a year's time when we will next be in Salcombe.

Thank you for two very pleasant evenings! Best wishes for your continued success.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hi SD
Cheryl and myself are so pleased you enjoyed the experience at No55 many thanks for your lovely comments, we remember you well and will do until you visit us again soon.I hope we added to the fun of your holiday here and we look forwards to seeing you again soon, from Cheryl Peter and the team many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This location has had a number of different restaurant businesses in it over the years, so we booked the latest incarnation with a bit of trepidation. Hoever, we were very pleasantly surprised.
Despite being almost full, the staff were attentive and enthusiastic, and the food was unfussy, and tasty.
We will definitely visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi Roger W
Thank you for your kind words, we are not trying to re-invent the wheel at No55. We just want to serve up good quality food matched with excellent service and atmosphere, we are both so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us. From Cheryl Peter and the team, again many thanks and we looks so forwards to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No55 also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to No55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing