We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly welcome awaits you”
Review of No55

No55
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Funky relaxing atmosphere with a modern twist to the decoration colours and fixtures, a welcome warm place to come and eat relax and have a good experience. Open for Dinner with well behaved dogs welcome...
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The staff at this restaurant are warm and friendly; from the time you arrive to when you depart. The menu offers a variety of dishes and we chose the fish pie and belly pork, both of which were exceptional. We highly recommend you pay a visit to No. 55.

1  Thank Otium54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi Laverita137

We remember you so well so thankful for your wonderful comments. Cheryl and her team front of house work so hard to ensure there is a super quality of service provided and Peter the chef is not so bad also!!!!!

So look forwards to seeing you again sooner than later from Cheryl Peter and the team a huge thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great restaurant with friendly staff and a chatty chef. The food was lovely and the service was with a smile. The chef came out at the end of service to check we were happy and have a general chat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi Maria L

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Without Cheryl front of house directing all our staff all is not possible she is a diamond.

From Cheryl, Peter and all the team @ No55 a huge thank you again and we all look forwards to hopefully seeing you again hopefully sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant with some really imaginative ideas on the menu. I had one of the best meals I have had for a long time and strongly recommend that you try the cod wrapped in parma ham on a mashed potato bed in a lobster bisque. An absolute genius combination and the chef joined us at the end of the meal for a great conversation on all things salcombe and Devon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank oldfrintonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hi oldfrintonians

Many thanks for your wonderful words of support it was a pleasure for us to serve you and a fantastic to know that you had such a wonderful experience @No55.

We are lost for words! but look so forwards to seeing you again soon in the nearer not distant future.

Many thanks again fro Cheryl, Peter and more so the team who without all is not possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just got back from sunny Salcombe after an absence of 2 yrs in which time Catch 55 is now just no 55 and what a change for the better, Peter & Cheryl have made this by far the best eaterie in Salcombe, we ate there twice in a week and on both occasions the food was superb, service was excellent and the staff are brill, hopefully when we go back in 2016 it still will be as good.

Mike and Christine from Cardiff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nobby1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hi Nobby1955

We are lost for words! and over the moon that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. Its not about re inventing the wheel as Raymond Blanc says it the overall experience not just the food.

I can see that we hit the mark with you and many other of our dinners and are over joyed that all the hard work pays of.

All of this is not possible without the great fantastic team behind us more so Cheryl who is a diamond and leads from the front.

Hope to see you again sooner than later Cheryl, Peter and the No55 team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have travelled to many resturants around the globe and this is one of the best. The staff were courtious and friendly, nothing was any trouble. The squid with chilli was one of the best I have tasted. The menu was varied and a mixture of English, Italian and Thai. Do not miss this little gem at the top of Forth Street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl19562009, Owner at No55, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Steve K

Wonderful words from you, we have worked endlessly to make No55 what it is and this is not possible without the comments from yourself and your party.

We will hope to see you again very soon rather than later and will ensure that we repeat the experience for you,

Many many thanks we are humbled look forwards to seeing you again soon from Cheryl,Peter and more so the team who make it all possible @ No55 in Salcombe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No55 also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to No55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing