We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devon Cream tea - you've got to do it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sailor V Refreshments

Sailor V Refreshments
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Devon Cream tea - you've got to do it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We settled into the eclectic decor, hoping for a decent coffee and a cream tea - we got much more than that - the coffee was the best I have tasted for a long time, not too bitter, with a delicate aroma and a slight kick of arabica. We were told it was Cornish - origins coffee (which I had seen a few weeks earlier - featured in a TV programme).

The cream tea consisted of two scones each - just crisp and sweet on the outside and perfectly cooked. We had fruit-packed jam and of course the ubiquitous Devon clotted cream. Good job we had just finished a 7 mile cliff top walk! It was bliss on a plate, and such good value too - and the ambience created was just right, relaxing and friendly with helpful, well informed staff who told us more about their training with the coffee grower in Cornwall.

Oh, and guys, I love the play on the name - would highly recommend this to anyone, such good value and a welcome rest from the hills and aching legs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    76
    29
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unfulfilled potential”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This cafe could be great, it has a good position and the decor is nice but the food is overpriced and poor. We ordered milkshakes, one was with extra ice cream but it was impossible to distinguish which one was which apart from the price. My wife had a lasagne which was very average and I had a hot dog that was more bread than sausage. Definite room for improvement.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom4808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

As a local I have now visited several times. I have a pushchair and this is one of the only places in Salcombe I can get into easily!
Staff are friendly, coffee is nice. Fresh milkshakes are DELICIOUS!! Food is very tasty and usually good portions and daily specials available. However, I visited for lunch on Easter Saturday with my MIL and was slightly disappointed to find no specials available and the usually generous portions seemed quite stingy! I would have mentioned it to the staff but they seemed to be a bit fraught, like they weren't fully prepared for such a busy day. Felt a bit sorry for them, having worked in the industry in the town for many years myself!!
I will definitely return though, and hopefully by the busy summer holidays they will have it spot on!

Helpful?
Thank NiknakDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widecombe in the Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not good value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was a busy Saturday afternoon when we visited this venue. Walking in to a wall on noise we decided to change what we had in mind two minutes before from coffee to some fresh juice. I could be wrong but there seems to be no ventilation thus the place was very very humid, even one of the waitresses was in shorts and a little top because of the humidity.
Anyway ....my friend ordered a glass or orange juice which was said to be "nice" and I ordered the pear juice. My glass of pear juice was mostly huge chunks of ice right to the top. Thus the actual amount if juice was about one third of the orange juice. My attached photos shows the two employ glasses - one with a tiny amount of ice remaining, the other with ice filled to the top. The Pear juice at £2.55 was very very bad value. Will I go back, probably not, the heat must be unbearable in summer

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Late Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Enjoyed a relaxing breakfast in this new coffee house in Salcombe. Food OK..,friendly staff...and although we did not have our dog at the time I noticed that digs were pretty welcome,,,so definitely go next time we have Freddie with us!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailor V Refreshments also viewed

 
Salcombe, Devon
 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Sailor V Refreshments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing